We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went to the Desmond Hotel on a business trip. I arrived in Philadelphia, and it was a 30-45 minute trip from the airport to this hotel. The hotel is nice, very classic. The receptionists were nice. The hotel seems to make a lot of receptions and weddings, which is good for people who stay there for the event, but not so good for people who are staying there for other things. There was a wedding when I staid there, fortunately the event did not go up until very late with loud music.

The room is nice. However there was no safe to put things, which I had already been used to in other hotels. Bed was comfortable. The hotel is surrounded by many trees so its nice. Like being in the middle of the woods.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MartinCabrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Desmond and for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, when you return, we can provide you with a safe or a safety deposit box should you feel the need.

Our entire staff appreciates your business and we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely.

Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    91
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
42
27
14
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel was all right. The bar is decent but the whole decor of the hotel is extremely old. The suites are really small but the regular rooms are ok size. Overall, an ok stay. A bit more expensive than I would have liked to pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsalot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback. I am glad you liked the King rooms and I am sorry you found the suites small. The feedback about the suites id the first I have heard.

We are constantly improving our facility and have recently begun a significant renovation to our hallways, lighting, carpet, guestroom soft goods, and guestroom bathrooms. I am sure you will like our improvements when you return to the Malvern area.

Thank you again for choosing the Desmond.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des12404
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My class reunion was held at the Desmond and it was a pleasant experience from check in to check out.
The hotel has been updated and my suite was very comfortable and quiet. The staff was welcoming and efficient.
Although the hallways are exceedingly long, the walk was worth it to escape the regular cookie cutter hotel chains and relax in a more intimate setting.
The suite that I had boasted a fireplace--but in reality, it was just the appearance of a fireplace with a mantle, but no logs or fire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank des12404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments in your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return to our hotel and restaurants.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

hotel decoration is a bit old. front deck staff very friendly. Free WIFI internet. clean room. close to the business park I am visiting. will stay next time. breakfast is good. bed is very comfortable

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kxz255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Desmond, I know you have many choices when you travel and my staff and I are happy you chose us. Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you again at The Desmond.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is a comfortable stopover or venue for a conference. It has good green parkland and in Fall the colours are unbelievably beautiful in this part of Pennsylvania. Rooms are spacious and quiet. The Fox and Hound pub is a delight with great guest beers and steaks unlike anything on offer in an English pub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, I am so glad you had a nice visit. We will be here to welcome you back to The Desmond when you return.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ok. The decor is a little much, very old school New England, but... The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, the pillows comfortable, and a nice flat screen to watch. The wedding reception was fabulous. The ballroom was elegant, the service was quick and precise and the food was fantastic. The bathrooms were even stocked with emergency supplies (mouthwash, mints, gum, band aids, needle and thread) which was very thoughtful. The walk to te room was a little long, and the location is in more of an industrial or corporate park type location. But overall a very good stay and a very good place for a reception.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return again to the Desmond.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just spent 3 nights at the Desmond for a conference and have mixed feelings.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel generally was well kept with decent conference facilities but the rooms seemed to be in desperate need of an upgrade. The best feature of the room was the bed with a very comfortable mattress, good pillows and quality bedding. There were no refrigerators in the room. For $10 one could be provided. I passed. The bathroom was the low point. The tub and enclosure are very old. The shower head is circa 1950 and the faucets are not pressure or temperature balanced and are very sensitive in terms of getting the temperature of the water tolerable. The first day I was there, it seemed as if there was a hot water shortage. The toilet seat would not stay up which made it a bit of a challenge - nuff said! Even with the tank lid off the toilet seat would not stay up. The toilet ran periodically as well. Countertop and sink were also very tired. Towels were nice.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the food provided for conferencees was very good. The same could not be said for the food in the restaurants. I had free breakfast vouchers for the restaurant but one breakfast was enough for me. Fare in the pub was not much better.

The whirlpool tub was didn't really have jets but just seemed to bubble. This was not very useful as I was looking forward to a decent hot tub in the evenings. The pool is small. The exercise are seemed adequate but I didn't use it.

The hotel layout is quite linear and it is a long walk from one end to the other so I felt lucky to have a room closer to reception on the ground floor.

Not a hotel I would stay at again unless attending an onsite conference and even then may look for a nearby place to stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest either near the reception or at the far end of the hotel to be near your car dependi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6mith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we will keep your comments top of mind and we continue our scheduled renovations. I am glad you liked the beds and the soft goods but feel badly you didn't enjoy your experience in our restaurants. We usually receive very high marks there, I would welcome more detail if you care to contact me directly at the hotel. Should you choose to return to the Desmond, I am sure your experience will be improved.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frazer - Malvern
7.8 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Property: The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Address: 1 Liberty Blvd, Malvern, PA 19355-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Malvern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, fresh Maine lobster in our seasonal Sunset Grille, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and comfort food in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing