We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great beer on tap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Pig Saloon

Flying Pig Saloon
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer on tap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

It's rare you can find a local place with so many different types of beer on tap.
In malvern it is called the flying pig.
A hole in the wall and a hang out for locals, but its worth the stop for a cold one.
I would Definitely recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drgreatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flying Pig - Great Beer Selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Flying Pig has one of the best beer selections in this part of the Philly suburbs. It is also a great place to meet up with friends or to come and watch a game. The food has gone downhill in the past three years. The biggest problem is consistency. Sometimes the food is fine, other times it is put together with as much thought and care as an airline. Service can be hit or miss too. A little more supervision of the staff could go a long way to correcting the problems. Because of the great beer selection the Flying Pig will always be a go-to spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackInTheBox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent beer menu and good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Been here a few times. I love the atmosphere, feels like a good local hangout. The menu is extensive from a sandwich standpoint and most are good, my last trip I tried the Havana Sandwich, their version of a Cuban ( which I traditionally love) really lacked any distinct flavor and was a thumbs down from me. Their pulled pork has always been really good and their soups are great on a cold winters day. I don't live close or I would love making this a regular stop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good basic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

been here a few times. first review. always a good basic lunch. this time a pulled pork sandwich.
entire menu selections makes a lunch decision tough. good beer selections and pleasant wait staff. may be a local watering hole, but a plain and simple malvern treasure. even from media, its worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Pig Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing