We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The place to stop and eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Thai Orchid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Thai Orchid
Ranked #21 of 70 Restaurants in Malvern
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
NJ
Level Contributor
232 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The place to stop and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Every-time we drive to the area, we stop by and eat at Thai Orchid. Best place for Thai by taste, and value. Lunch, the restaurant is always full and the meal is filling for the price with soup, and dumpling with the meal. The owner is very friendly and stops by every time to talk to us. Been eating at this place for over 5 years and would recommend for all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Family_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique Dishes !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A place to visit off the beaten path for dishes that are an adventure in taste.
A great place to meet friends and relax. The staff is out to please and the
food is prepared taking time to prepare each dish to perfection. The food
portions are generous. A wonderful BYO, with fresh Thai Iced Tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fanfromphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thai cuisine has become increasingly popular in Chester County over the past 5 years or so. Royal Thai Orchid was one of the first Thai restaurants to enter this area, and it is still one of the best, if not THE best. The prices here are super-reasonable, and the service is outstanding. The dining room is large and carpeted, and the tables are spread generously apart from each other, so the noise level is low--a vast improvement over so many of the trendy, wooden floor, shouting-patrons restaurants so common around here. The food is consistently good. For appetizers, give the tulip or Thai dumplings a try; the mushroom soup is the absolute best I have ever tasted! Entrees which we enjoy include chu-chee duck; curry; soft shell crabs; and tilapia, among others. The sauces lean toward the spicy side, so if you have a delicate stomach, you might want to request that they turn down the heat. Their ice cream is homemade and delicious--the coconut ice cream with mango sauce and encased in a chocolate shell is top-notch and a work of art as well. The restaurant is BYOB, and that's a plus too. All in all, one of our favorite restaurants in this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Tried Royal Thai Orchid while visiting Malvern; GPS indicates the restaurant is technically in Frazer, PA. Met several locals there who described the place as dependable.

Ordered an appetizer which was average, but the main course of drunken noodles was out of this world. Plenty spicy, but customizable for those who prefer hotter. Entree would have been large enough to split among 2 guests. The Thai coffee, sweet and creamy, was also excellent with the spicy meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service, good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I wish I could rate this 3½. It's an average place with above-average service. We were seated and given beverages very quickly. The waiter was attentive and took our order in a very timely manner. I'm a big fan of BYOs, so that didn't faze me, and the decor inside is much nicer than you'd think from the outside.

While the food wasn't the best Thai I've ever had, it wasn't bad. Their lunch special for $8.95 is outstanding. The lemongrass soup was delicious, and the green curry wasn't bad (it wasn't very spicy, unfortunately). It'd be nice if you could choose from shrimp, chicken, or a seafood mix, but the chicken pieces were tender and flavorful.

We were the first there for lunch, but it got packed a bit after noon, so be prepared.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dori_Henn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Royal Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing