We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with Homewood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Stayed at the Homewoods Suites Great Valley in January while attending Training at SAP USA. The suite was large with all the comforts of home.

Upon check-in the clerk was very friendly, and was even able to switch me from a double to a king at the same price. While have a room by an exterior door on the first level, I noticed little noise while in the room.

The small kitchen part of the room a fridge, stove, microwave. There was even a bag of microwave popcorn ready. I didn't get to use it much but it seem adequate for a long hall traveller.

One of my disappointments with the room was that the TV was old and had very poor reception/picture despite being cable TV. The colors were really blurred.

The bedroom was pretty typical of most hotel rooms I have stayed in with the usual ammenties. It also had an older TV with poor picture too. My big grip about the bedroom (and maybe the whole suite) was that the HVAC system for the room was extremely loud and bangy. It kept me up a bit while trying to get to sleep. I was busy and didn't get to tell anyone abou this till I checked out. Overall the room was pretty pleasant.

I did manage to try out the business center and pool. The whirpool in the hotel left much too be desired as it wasn't really that warm and there was no place to turn on the jets that I could see.

A pleasant part of the staying with Homewood suites was the evening dinner Mon-Thurs. I only got to dine with them on Monday. It was nice taco bar with lots of extras including taco chips and cookies. It was adequate to give you some nurishment before heading to bed. I was pleasantly surprised to find a local microbrew on tap along with Coors Light. Additionaly, there was wine and soda.

Breakfast was pretty good too. There was a nice egg bacon and chees mix on a bagel one day. A good variety of food that changed with each day.

Overall my experience was pleasant. It is probably one of the better hotels in the area. It is located in a corporate park near a major highway. For the most part there are a good variety of restruants near by. This area of Philly is really wooded and the roads near the hotel besides the highway were rather small residential roads.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Schoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 575 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2007

My family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids ages 12, 9 and 7) stayed here from 12/27-12/30. Our one bedroom suite had two double beds and a pullout sofabed. The bathroom was large (handicap accessible) and had a small kitchen area that was very handy for preparing meals in the room. The room was in great condition with no noticeable problems.

A complimentary, self-serve breakfast was available each morning which included: pastries, yogurt, lots of coffee/tea/hot chocolate, juices, toast and hot food items that changed every morning (typically included belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, hash browns). If you arrive Monday through Thursday night, you get the added bonus of a "managers reception" which includes free appetizers, free beer/wine and soda.

I booked a AAA room rate through the homewoodsuites.com website.

The pool was warm as others have mentioned.. it was 80 degrees according to the thermometer hanging in the pool. Unlike other hotels, this Homewood Suites hotel was serious about an "indoor heated pool" during the winter months!! :-) The "whirlpool" was even warmer, but oddly had very little bubble action.. just some jets that swirled the water around.

I found the front desk staff EXTREMELY HELPFUL. I mentioned to the front desk staff that some fresh towels were needed in the pool area and a stack of freshly folded towels were there within 5 minutes (no kidding). In general, if you treat the front desk staff with some respect, you'll get some in return.

The housekeeping staff was prompt in cleaning our room daily. Note: Homewood Suites changes sheets in your room every other day if you are staying more than one night -- they WILL change your sheets nightly if you call Housekeeping after 4pm. I don't find this a problem at all -- but mention this in case you want this level of service. Towels are changed daily of course!

So overall, our stay was pleasant. The room was clean and offered tremendous value during our stay. I looked into other hotels closer to Valley Forge (this hotel was only a few extra minutes), but the warm indoor heated pool really made the decision for me. My kids were in it for several hours each day of our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SW-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Our family stayed here for two nights. The pool was warm, which we always appreciate. The only odd thing was that the hot tub was unusually small, and had no jets. This is a nice property and had good service. It only took us 20-30 minutes to drive to downtown Philly (with no traffic). The price was good and the suites have enough room for all 6 of us, especially if you can get an upgrade to the 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jennteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My family and I were staying in Malvern, PA for a wedding. The bride had reserved rooms in a nearby hotel, but they filled up fast. I booked a suite at the Homewood Suites Great Valley because of its proximity to the other hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The kitchen was good sized, and had a full sized refrigerator, and the free hot breakfast was convenient and pretty good. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jauchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

The front desk staff was fast, friendly, and knowledgable about he area. The hotel is located near many family friendly needs such as McDonalds, Wal-Mart, convenience stores and many local restaurants.

Everything was clean and well maintained which is very important to me. The rooms are stocked with real place settings, pans, and utensils in the full kitchen.

High speed internet is available in the rooms but it was slow while we were here. The only other negative is that the mattress was hard.

Breakfast was free, hot, and good, The hot food for breakfast varied each day and included sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits w/ gravy, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bbcreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

spacious, nice to have several rooms. It really felt more like home. Would stay there again and again. I've stayed at other homewood suites and had similar experiences.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank dinkybaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
12
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Great stay at this Homewood suites. I travel all the time with three dogs. This place was great! Friendly staff, clean rooms, hearty breakfast. I really liked this hotel. They do have a pet fee but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley

Address: 12 E. Swedesford Road, Malvern, PA 19355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: $117 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Philadelphia / Great Valley Hotel Malvern
Homewood Suites Malvern
Hilton Malvern
Homewood Malvern
Malvern Hilton
Malvern Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing