We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”
Review of Gio Italian Grill

Gio Italian Grill
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Macungie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family has frequented Gio Italian Grill since its opening. The food is always exceptional, piping hot and fresh and the service is great, albeit a bit leisurely during busy periods due to everything being cooked to order. The owners are true-blue Italians and know how to run a restaurant. I will say the owner's wife can be a bit moody with certain requests that she feels isn't worth their time (think Seinfeld's "Soup Nazi" character), so ask Tony instead if you can.

I recommend Tony's Prickly Pear martini when the fruits are in season.

Gio is without a doubt the best Italian restaurant in a twenty or so mile radius.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Awesome place the food is always good and the atmosphere is awesome too. The gio salad is amazing and i love the Bolognaise. They also have really great pizza probably the best in macungie or emmaus. The staff and owners are always super friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Italian Place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went to Gio with family on a recent Saturday night. They don't do formal reservations, but will set aside a table if you call an hour or so ahead. The place was full when we went, and that seems typical for the times we have been there. Gio has a nice outside area, but it was a little too chilly for that. Don't be thrown by the fact that it's in a shopping center, you really don't get any of that type of vibe once you're there.
Nice menu with a lot of good authentic choices and some of the usual Americanized fare. Prices are quite fair. Their drink menu is extensive...lots of unique signature drinks.
Service was friendly and accomodating, our waitress stopped by a lot to see who we were doing.
Everyone in our party enjoyed their food. Their pizza was great, and the entrees were delicious and ample.
We like Gio. It's great to have a place in Macungie like this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing family atmosphere”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went there with a big group of 12. The owners were very accommodating and even sat down with us for a period of time and recommended items based on our individual preferences. Try the Nutella pizza for dessert. One of a kind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of Macungie's best restaurants”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friendly atmosphere. Solid italian food. Drinks are a bit "watered down" but a nice selection of cocktails and wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gio Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing