We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small place, big flavor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gio Italian Grill

Gio Italian Grill
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Macungie
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small place, big flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gio has great Italian food. Nice entrees. Not too expensive. Good service. It reminds me of a smaller version of Carraba's without the big wait. Reservations are accepted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deliscioso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Gio Italian Grill is quickly becoming our favorite restaurant. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere is great, and the service is outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie,PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey, but creative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have eaten dinner here twice, my husband has had business dinners here as well. Over the holidays, we brought our sons and were given a table that needed to be available for call ahead seating in 75 minutes. We knew we could not linger, and that was fine. I was not thrilled with the pizza I ordered, but it was as described. The striped bass and veal ordered by two of my sons were good, according to them. We love the wine list. They have a nice Orvieto, and creative mixed drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusLawProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Our dinner was pretty good. We had a brick oven pizza that was great one of the best i ever had. My wife had bowtie pasta with crab and my mom had raviolos which both shere good. I had a ceasur salad with chicken, chicken was really dry and salad dressing which was probally homemade was lacking in flavor.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myarial1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

try the pizza you won't be disappointed. thin crust, fresh basil, my husband had a steak and said it was very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsturg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gio Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing