We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous any time of year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stay at this ski resort every year late in August for a local street rod show. (Enough of our fellow hot rodders join us that it's like a mini-car show in the parking lot each evening when we return from the show in the evening) While I've never gotten to enjoy the outdoor hot tub in the snow, it must be a blast! Don't worry, there's an indoor one too.

By far, this is the most lux hotel I've stayed in. It is also the most expensive, but sometimes you get what you pay for. The staff is top notch from check in to maintenance. My only complaint... they don't have anything for a complimentary breakfast (other than coffee), There is a very nice restaurant on premises, so they want you to dine there. The spa looks amazing, but I always forget to book ahead of time and they are full by the time I remember.

The best part about this resort is that there are many gathering areas scattered throughout. From intimate, living room-like arrangements tucked into unexpected corners to their expansive main foyer... the resort was designed to encourage gathering with friends and lounging.

If I ever had the opportunity to get married again, I would hold the ceremony and reception here. I've watched three of them from a respectful distance, and everything looks amazing. The reception area is far enough from the rooms that no noise will reach those who want to get to bed early.

If you ever find yourself needing to spend a night near Macungie, PA... this one is definitely worth the price tag.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms have sliding glass doors that open onto the common area in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasesmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Creek_MR, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

I am glad you have been enjoying the resort while attending the local car shows and our team really enjoys seeing all the gorgeous cars you bring to the property.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I love when I'm staying at a place where I can park the car and not use it the whole trip because everything I need is there and this was no exception. This was a spa getaway for me, and I'm glad BCMR is so close to home because I will definitely go back. I had a massage, facial and hair cut, all of which I would do again. There were plenty of options during the in between times including the steam room and the outdoor pool and hot tub. The glass of their Merlot was a nice bonus and so tasty that I bought a bottle. There was ample seating if you just wanted to stay put and read, and extra wide lounge chairs outside. The design only allows for shorter, but cozy, chairs inside. That's not to say it was cramped - not at all. The locker rooms were spacious too.

The hotel was beautiful wood and stone everywhere. Check-in and -out was painless. The noise level here was much less than at a regular hotel chain. I had a room next to the elevators, but I never heard any commotion and didn't hear neighboring room doors slamming shut as people came and went. I LOVE that BCMR has a noise policy that will result in what I'd call a fine if not followed. Anyone who's ever stayed in a room underneath one where the parents went out all night leaving the little ones to run and jump all over the place can appreciate this policy. I wish it would become standard everywhere.

There's plenty of walking to do getting around the resort, so walkers like me will love it. I ate at the Grille and Trail's End Cafe, and both had good food and service. There is an abundance of choices on both menus, so you could keep going back and not get the same meals.

The grounds are beautiful with ponds, birds, ducks, rabbits and mountainside, a photographer's and walker's delight. There are pathways around the ponds and disc golf areas, and hiking trails that you'll want to take old shoes or hiking boots for because some spots are unavoidably muddy.

With this review, I noticed that I almost always give high marks. It pays to do the Trip Advisor homework before traveling!

Room Tip: Room 321 was quick access by stairs or elevator to the Spa, Trail's End Cafe, and car loading/un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Creek_MR, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Brenda,
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am thrilled you enjoyed the stay and all the activities available on the property. I hope we can host you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent choice for a pleasant stay in the Pennsylvania mountains. Lots of variety for food, fun, spa and sports. When travelling on business, I always consider a well equipped fitness center and I was pleasantly surprised with a large selection of resistance machines and free weights. The staff members I encountered throughout the facility always greeted me with a smile and a kind word. I've stayed in resorts all over the country and this rates as one of my favorites!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear_Creek_MR, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Paul,
Thank you so much for visiting Bear Creek and the kind review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Bear Creek is a great resort in a beautiful setting. We just had a Girls' Weekend and from check in in Friday until we checked out on Sunday we had a blast. Do NOT miss a visit to the spa - fabulous massage in a lovely peaceful setting. The staff is amazing. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Truly a getaway to remember!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mreenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Thankfully, my wife and I live close to this gem. I recommend this to anyone!
Great couples package and lots of activities.

Everything in the resort was spot on. We hung out at the pool all day, went for a hike, hit the bar, watched a movie, used the hot tub, went to all the restaurants..... Had a blast!

Room Tip: Ask if room service is available. We tried calling room service. They said room service was not av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambiofair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic everything! This is a wonderful Resort nestled in beautiful Lehigh valley. I would give it 5 stars. The staff is unbelievably accomodating and friendly. The resort itself is beautiful!
The wedding we attended was beautiful, delicious food and lovely views.
The spa is also 5 star.

Room Tip: KIng Suites are so lovely and spacious. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank cmtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the resort for a college friend's wedding.The suites were amazing; stylish, clean and had various amenities. However, it was very pricey. We had to shack up with a few other friends for monetary purposes. This was very comfortable though based on the size of the suites. I'm not sure if it would have been our choice if the couple hadn't reserved rooms there (the resort was very close to the chapel and the reception took place in one of the ballrooms). The grounds were gorgeous and I'm sure would have been even more gorgeous had it been winter, not summer. I would definately splurge on a skiing vacation there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macungie
8.3 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
16.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
11.9 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
7.2 mi away
Allentown Park Hotel Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Mountain Resort

Address: 101 Doe Mountain Ln, Macungie, PA 18062-2052 (Formerly Inn at Bear Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Macungie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
Price Range: $193 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear Creek Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Creek Mountain Resort & Conference Center is nestled on over 330 wooded acres in scenic Berks County, Pennsylvania. The resort offers skiing, snowboarding and snowtubing in the winter. During the spring, summer and fall the resort offers hiking, mountain biking, fishing, disc golf, boating, tennis and many other activities. Guests can plan an event in the spacious banquet and meeting facilities, dine at The Grille at Bear Creek or the Trail’s End Cafe, relax at The Spa or enjoy a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bear Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Mountain Hotel Macungie
Hotel At Bear Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing