We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social”
Review of Hops & Barleys

Hops & Barleys
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Luzerne
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Great place to eat. Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Music was low enough so you could talk to each other. Service was good and priced were reasonable. Great margarita! Will go again when in the area.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is really interesting. From it's dark wood decor, to the old pictures on the wall. It's like a walk back in time. The menu offers a lot exciting choices. It's not your typical run of the mill restaurant. The food was hot when it came out. The burger and fries I had was truly a different experience from my normal. They were both excellent. The service was spot on. Definitely will be back, when we are in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank C-Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Love this place... Every time we're in town, we eat at Hops & Barleys, whether for lunch or dinner (and sometimes both). The menu is varied enough for everyone to find something good to eat, and it has some unique items (burger on a donut).

FOOD:
Soups are so so good. The Manhattan Clam Chowder was perfectly seasoned, while the 'soup of yesterday' was a mushroom soup that was a perfect mix of mushroom and rice.
The burgers are a good size, very tasty and always cooked as ordered. The pierogies and sausage was a good mix of both.
Chocolate cake was good but the the layers of frosting were thicker than the cake- but is that a bad thing.

Interior/Decor - the bar and restaurant are well separated. The restaurant area is dark and decorated with pictures from the past.

Service is always very good.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cnb_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Service was terrible in a nearly empty restaurant. The waitress didnt introduce herself to the table. We had to go to the bar for our drink refills. The food was just mediocre. Will not revisit this place.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lep212019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Excellent service! I eat low carb and ordered cheesesteak with onions and peppers sateed over bed of greens. I was accommodated and it was delicious!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LindaWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hops & Barleys also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Luzerne, Luzerne County
Luzerne, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Hops & Barleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing