We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Black Bass Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumberville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bass Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Lumberville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We planned a special brunch event that we do yearly with our good friends. The renovations that were done to the hotel were beautiful. The food was a terrible disappointment. The huevo rancheros was so hot it was inedible. The rest of the selections were also sub par. We have had better diner food at half the cost. Expected so much more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Black Bass with my wife; however this time we came with friends rather than family.

Checking in was a little unnerving as they had our reservation for the wrong night even though our confirmation e-mail reflected the day we showed up. It was certainly no problem for Billy (the hotel manager) who immediately remedied the situation and covered our first round at the bar.

The Tavern was very nice and laid back. The bartenders were friendly and never stingy with pours. The hotel is a beautiful building that reminded me of my parents old home.

Our room was excellent; perfect for 2 couples with an upstairs and downstairs as well as two bathrooms. Everything was incredibly clean too which made everyone feel at home. The mattress and pillows were super comfortable; I slept like a baby.

Dinner was delicious and even though it was crowded, we didn't feel like we were forgotten. Unfortunately we ate late so we couldn't see much out the windows, but our breakfast the next day made up for it.... beautiful views!

The lantern room is nice and warm but appeared to be more of a secondary kitchen for the busy dinner crowd than a lounge.

Back up to the room at the end of the night we had an issue with the air mattress and once again Billy came to the rescue. We put Billy to work during our stay and he was always extremely friendly and helpful from correcting our reservation, fixing our air matress or taking a 2am call for a 9am wake-up call.

While the whole staff at the Black Bass is wonderful, Billy really keeps the hotel together and we all hope to return and see him again soon. Thanks Billy for all your hard work; you are a great asset to the Black Bass.

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in so far are perfect. Just keep in mind only one side has views of the dela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padge9281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. The room the staff the restaurant. The patio the view the bar. StAY in the Suite Lorraine. Worth the money breakfast was get. This is one of my favorite place as of now. Stay there you will enjoy. My wife and I had love it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasteofthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chalfont, pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and finally decided where we would go for our annual "take off a Friday before Christmas and go somewhere nice for lunch" day. We chose Black Bass Hotel and were happy that we did. We arrived mid-afternoon - after the major lunch crowd - so we were not hurried. Had a table by the window overlooking the water. The atmosphere was charming and for the money, the food was a great value. We both had a glass of wine and ordered their special crab dish - it came with veggies and rice - and homemade biscuits (which arrived as we were almost finished our lunch). My husband had soup and we both ordered dessert. Our lunch bill with tip came to a little over $100. I know we would have spent much more than that if we'd had dinner there, so lunch is the way to take advantage of the good food and atmosphere and not break the bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleencameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had New Year's Eve dinner here last night. The Hotel and restaurant is just lovely situated right on the Delaware River. The ambience is wonderful and it was quiet and relaxing which is different for us for New Year's Eve. I did not know that it was going to be prix fixed until that day. The menu was great and the food was very good. I would go back perhaps not for New Years since it was expensive ($95 per person). Go and experience this lovely restaurant it is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the BBH 26 years ago on New Years Eve. We moved into the area 8 years ago and have enjoyed eating at the restaurant ever since. We took our elderly parents for lunch on New Years for the FIRST TIME and it was a special treat for them. The ambiance, the food, the spirit of the restaurant is one that we are excited to share with our families in the next 26 + years. Thank YOU Thompson family for keeping the BBH LEGACY alive! You have made a difference for us in how we celebrate special family occasions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautifully located on the Delaware River, The Inn creates the English inn atmosphere, comfortable rooms with scenic views and quaint furnishings. Staff and service was very attentive and accommodating. Food was also excellent and plentiful. We were there on a special for eight people and so we got special pricing. Great way to spend time with friends, do some hiking and antiquing and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumberville
5.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
1740 House
1740 House
#1 of 2 in Lumberville
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bass Hotel

Property: Black Bass Hotel
Address: 3774 River Rd, Lumberville, PA 18933-9715
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lumberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lumberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bass Hotel is a renowned restaurant and inn on the banks of the Delaware River. Located in picturesque Lumberville, PA, just a few miles north of New Hope, the Hotel is celebrated equally for its fine dining, hospitality, rich history, and diverse collection of art and antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing