We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Atmosphere...Mediocre Food”
Review of Black Bass Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumberville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bass Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Lumberville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I took my fiancee here for his birthday after a recommendation from a co-worker. The atmosphere was very nice, the service was great but the food was just okay. I ordered the Charleston Street lump crab dish which is their "signature dish". Not only was it really bland, but the cream sauce was so runny it was the consistency of water. I didn't eat the rice because it was also bland and cold. Nor did I eat the vegatables because they were way too crunchy and not worth the extra calories. My fiancee ordered the filet wrapped in bacon. Although it was flavorful and cooked to his liking, the combination of the fat on the filet and the demi glaze made it taste so much like pot roast which was really odd. On a positive note, I had the chocolate torte which was the highlight of the meal and unbelievably delicious. I just couldn't understand why they put a dollop of sherbet (which reminded me more of unsweetened water ice) on top of it. I could see Chef Ramsey having a field day with that one. I think this really deserves a 3 star but because the prices were so out of line with the quality of our entrees I'm giving it 2.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltraveled37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned from a last-minute overnight at the Black Bass Hotel. It is a lovely bed and breakfast on the river road just north of the popular town of New Hope. I wasn't sure what to expect, since the tripadvisor reviews are hot and cold, but as an overnight guest, we couldn't have been more comfortable.

Our room, the "Major Frye", wasn't huge but had a gorgeous view of the Delaware River and a private deck. The bathroom was spacious and lovely, with an oversized tub/shower and tile floors. I thought we might be disturbed by noise since our room overlooked the restaurant deck, but we enjoyed a quiet night's sleep in an immensely comfortable queen-sized bed.

Breakfast is included, and it's a two-course deal. The yogurt with homemade granola is delicious even though the coffee wasn't to my liking. Check out the collection of British Royal artifacts that line the walls of the cozy bar.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river; the views are amazing, and the back rooms have private decks overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aydenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I planned a surpise, anniversary getaway for our 31st anniversary at the Black Bass Inn. Their website also had links to Open Table, which I used to make dinner reservations, as well as Flower Petal.com to have flowers delivered to our table.
Being the skeptic I am, I was sure something wouldn't go right.
Well, I was wrong. Our suite (The River Suite) was all set up with wine chilling and chocolate covered strawberries (part of the Anniversary Package). The room was warm, softly lit and very inviting.
Our dinner reservations were in place at the time requested, and by the time we arrived for our dinner, the flowers had been delivered and placed on our table.
PERFECT is the word I'd have to use for the Black Bass Inn.

John

Room Tip: The Inn's website has excellent descriptions of the rooms. Take the time to go through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnandLinda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been here too many times. I say that because like others, we keep going hoping that it will just be better than it ever is. We blame ourselves: maybe we shouldn't have ordered the flatbread pizza; maybe we shouldn't have ordered the fish and chips; maybe we shouldn't have ordered the filet; maybe we shouldn't have ordered the cheese steak special; maybe we shouldn't have ordered the tempura shrimp, the beet salad...etc. All of these are things (and I'm ashamed to admit there are more than just these) have been ordered by us and were terrible disappointments.

The bar is cozy enough even when it's dead. The attitude of the managers strutting about and glaring in your direction to give you the signal "wrap it up -- we want to go home" well before their posted closing hours is unnerving. But really, it's the food that makes me downright angry. The fish in the fish and chips is mushy (which means it was frozen, probably refrozen, and refrozen); the flatbread was burned (not charred. Burned.), they butterflied a beautiful filet mignon to attain medium rare without asking (a cardinal sin -- can't they cook it to med rare?) and then poured red demi glace sauce all over it; husband got quite ill after having the cheese steak special the night he had it; the beets were mush in a recent beet salad; the tempura shrimp were tepid, mushy and the breading soggy. You see what I mean?

On our last visit, we ordered burgers (which they cannot cook to temperature so just know whatever you order is going to come out well done) and they were overcooked but edible. Last week we were thinking of where we could go for dinner during the week and the "Black Bass" came up as a possibility but was ruled out because no one wanted to shell out $50/per person for a really lame meal.

There is one bartender who is nice and the young kids who run the food are super sweet and eager to please. But otherwise the staff in general, the front office folks and a nasty tempered woman named Georgia are a disgrace to Mr. Thompson's assumed intention to provide great service. I don't know who's cooking in that kitchen, but we're not going to give them any more chances.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JodiDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Black Bass twice in the past two years and weren't disappointed either time. Both times we stayed in the Major Fry Suite. The balcony overlooking the Delaware River provided never-ending enjoyment. We even saw an eagle swooping around one morning. Walking over the footbridge to NJ is a great way to get a little exercise before dinner or after breakfast. Drinks in the bar were top drawer. No skimping here! The bartender was so attentive as well as telling us some of the history behind the dishes in the cases when we asked. Our meal the first time in the dining room was probably 3 star, good but not outstanding. On our last trip it was, hands down, one of the best meals we've ever eaten. The breakfasts are elegant and also delicious. We were treated professionally and courteously by everyone we came in contact with. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueCanoe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have always enjoyed our drive up the River to the Black Bass and every time we dine there we leave slightly more disappointed than pleased. We keep going back hoping that the next time will be like the first time, right after New Ownership and renovation. Then, the food was magnificent, the service both professional and friendly and the atmosphere as close to Country England as you can get without stepping on a place. Alas, the entire experience has declined to the point where we have been there for our last time. Service last night was precisely like that in a busy diner on Route One in Langhorne - inarticulate, harried and rude. The food was actually cold; I couldn't believe it that the meat was actually cold, not just tepid, but cold. Drinks never arrived. We couldn't help but notice that there were 'management' types walking around, doing nothing, while tables went uncleared, customers were poorly served and several guests actually got up and walked out. The Thompson family should go there one Saturday night in disguise. If they did, they would fire the current managers and start again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beentherenotthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have visited this hotel twice and love it. The entire place was renovated several years ago and the results were outstanding. If you are looking for luxurious rooms, beautiful views of
the Delaware River and an escape to the New Hope, Pa. area this is the place for you. It is ideally located for touring the Lambertville, N.J/New Hope, Pa. area and is right on River Road.The breakfast is first class. We chose the room with the enormous shower and balcony overlooking the Delaware River. The restaurant overlooks the river and is worth trying. We even drove up for the day and had lunch on their terrace.

Room Tip: Check out the descriptions of each room and decide whether you want to spend for the river view (wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumberville
4.2 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
5.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
255 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1740 House
1740 House
#1 of 2 in Lumberville
135 reviews
3 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
294 reviews
5.3 mi away
Porches on the Towpath
Porches on the Towpath
#3 of 19 in New Hope
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bass Hotel

Address: 3774 River Rd, Lumberville, PA 18933-9715
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lumberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lumberville
Price Range: $195 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bass Hotel is a renowned restaurant and inn on the banks of the Delaware River. Located in picturesque Lumberville, PA, just a few miles north of New Hope, the Hotel is celebrated equally for its fine dining, hospitality, rich history, and diverse collection of art and antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing