We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1740 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1740 House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lumberville B&B and Inns
Keansburg, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently visited the 1740 House for my best friends wedding. I have never had such a wonderful experience. The food there was outstanding and the staff was friendlier than I could imagine. The staff was very accomadating to all of our needs, the fires never went dull and the smiles never vanished, If you are looking for a romantic weekend getaway with outstanding food, wonderful staff and views that take your breath away then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank You for sharing your experience at the 1740 House. The entire staff loves hearing that we contibuted to a wedding groups wonderful experience. I heard many of the attendees say that they would love to come back. Hope we get to see you with them soon!!

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a wonderful B&B! The room was beautifully decorated with a lovely view of the river. The staff was attentive and helpful; making our staff very enjoyable. Breakfast was delightful and staff fulfilled our requests with pleasure. We would recommended the 1740 house to all!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandmacarriejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the sharing your visit on TripAdvisor. The inn's staff always appreciates hearing that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Come back soon the inn is even more beautiful in the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a family wedding here from a Friday to Sunday. I stayed in suite 19, first floor. The room was spacious and clean except the carpet looked like it needed a good deep wash. The king bed was extremely uncomfortable, the only complaint about the room. The place is right on the river, with beautiful views. Since it was all family staying there, I got to go inside many of the rooms. They all seemed very nice. Our Friday night event was held in the Grand room - its a huge room, with a huge outdoor private deck and awesome views. At night we were able to sit around the fire pit outside and make smores or go inside to the common room where a nice fire was burning too. The workers were ok, the main owner guy wasnt that friendly. I think he seemed annoyed because we had so many people there all over the place. But everything was really nice and the breakfast on both mornings was good. Lots to choose from and a nice room to eat in. it was a 10 minute drive into new hope which was nice.

Room Tip: suites are much bigger and the Grand room was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkd703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to the 1740 House. Room 19 is the second largest room at the inn and is frequently requested by repeat guests. We welcome all comments regarding our guests experience and will look into how to improve on your concerns.

Many of the other wedding guests stated they would be returning again to enjoy the scenic area. I hope you will join them.

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the 1740 house for a wedding being held at their sister property. I booked my room with a nice gentleman who gave me confirmation number, room #14 (king bed), and the deposit amount charged to my credit card. Upon check-in, I was told they did not have my reservation. Somehow I was given a confirmation # with only 4 digits although they said all confirmation numbers have 6 digits since last year. After searching the computer for almost 30 minutes they finally agreed to give us a room. The room was very small with a full sized bed (listed as a queen) the only lighting was 2 small bedside lamps, the bathroom was tiny and the water temperature while showering alternated between scalding and freezing no matter what the setting. Instead of a closet there was a rack to hang our clothes and although the view was beautiful, we could not enjoy it due to the amount of people celebrating in the bridal suite we shared the small balcony with. This room was 1/2 the size of the other rooms and cost the same. I then learned that the couple who booked the room we got insisted on being moved to another room due to the noise level from the bridal suite. They were moved to a suite at no extra charge. When I brought this to the attention of the innkeepers, I was told in a nasty tone that because they had arrived 30 minutes earlier they were given the room. We had 5 couples who knew our room had been booked almost a week before theirs (including the one who made the switch), but instead of offering us a discounted rate, it was insinuated that I had lied about having a reservation. It turns out we were not the only one's who had a problem. One couple had a room as disgraceful as ours, had no heat until 12:30 am, no soap and the same problem with the shower. Two families with 3 people were each given a room with 1 bed instead of the 2 beds they requested. Our breakfast experience was good, however another family member who asked when a hot item would be replenished was told they were not making any more because the buffet was closing in 15 minutes. From our experience the owners have no interest in anything but taking advantage of people who have no other options and certainly made their money off of our large family. I would never again stay on a property owned by these people. the 8 hours of driving back and forth would have been preferable to our stay.

Room Tip: make sure you have a valid confirmation number and the names, dates and times of who took the reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeeDee433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rlobach, Manager at 1740 House, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
The staff of The 1740 House tries its best to accommodate the needs and requests of every guest.

Mistakes do occur, and if a guest arrives and we determine that a mistake has been made on the part of our staff, I personally see that the concern is resolved to the satisfaction of the guest.


At time of reservation we provide a confirmation by email of all information, including a copy of the registration and deposit paid. In this particular case, neither the inn staff or the guest could produce records indicating a reservation had been made and a deposit paid. I have continued to research for that record; even in today's high-tech world, it is possible to lose information. With that said, it is not possible to refund a deposit without record of a deposit ever paid.

Every room at The 1740 House is different in size and decor, with the view of the Delaware River helping to provide the charm they all share. The entire inn has an exceptional level of quaintness to it, making the overall experience a memorable one.

As the innkeeper I attend to all facets of the inn's daily care, which includes the check-in, breakfast, and check-out periods. I am available 24/7, in person and by cell phone, to receive requests and resolve concerns. I accepted compliments from other guests who were a part of your wedding group, many of them indicating they would be returning for another stay.

Should you or the inn staff be able to produce the records of a reservation and deposit, I would look forward to making the financial corrections as part of satisfying your concerns.

Yours in Hospitality,
Richard Lobach
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The 1740 House is right on the Delaware River w/ a beautiful view. There was a balcony for warmer weather. The room was extremely clean and spacious. The morning breakfast was a wonderful assortment of hot and cold choices in a dining room with river views. At night you can lounge at the bar or sit in a cozy living room area with a fire place. It is a nice place to unwind. The inn is close to area attractions. Lastly a very nice staff will make your stay lovely!

Room Tip: stay in room 17, on the end and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 712CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at 1740 House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the compliments. I like to think we offer a special place for people when they stay with us. I have pass on the review to the team of Tammy, Kim, Tricia, Sara, Lou Ann and Wendy. Many people have their favorite rooms here at the 1740 House. I would have to say if you like up and out of the way , Room 17 is a perfect fit. I have my own favorite room too, but I only share which room it is when people request it. Don't stay away too long, All of us at the 1740 House love to see returning guest.
Cheers
Richard Lobach
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We planned a short get-away in Buck's County; we have been to New Hope & many of the surroundings, but always said we would stay a few days. Hubby selected 1740 House based on these wonderful Trip Advisor reviews. We have never been to a B&B and were pleasantly surprised. The staff is just super! We were just delighted with the accommodations. overlooking the lovely river and listening to the birds, & enjoying the peaceful surroundings. When we checked out this morning, we had mellowed-out and were so relaxed and it was exactly what we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17; this was located at the very end on the second floor. It was very private, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at 1740 House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for the sharing your stay on Tripadvisor. The staff and I love what we do in providing the environment to relax. Of course the natural surroundings make it easy. Come back soon and we will help you relax again.

Cheers
Richard Lobach
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
695 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great atmosphere right on the Delaware River in Bucks County in quaint Lumberville, near the Black Bass and footbridge. Look at the river flowing by while in your bed! This is a real inn with real Americana feel to it. About 25 rooms, all of which are a little different, some with fireplaces. Nice four-poster, flat screen TV. The entire back of the inn faces the river. A great little private pub with nice bartender for a late afternoon/early evenign libation; and a pretty breakfast room for buffet breakfast with quiche, scones, pancakes, jellies, etc.while looking at the river; nice patio tables as well if you prefer eating outside. Friendly staff who was very accomodating at providing room choices and recommendations. Really nice people and a great place to branch out up and down the river and into Bucks County from (e.g. Lahaska, Lambertville, Point Pleasant, etc).

Room Tip: We liked #14 and its great river view. During the cold weather, you might prefer one of the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at 1740 House, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank You , the positive post regarding your stay is greatly appreciated. I will pass your compliments on to the staff here at 1740 House.
Come back soon, fall is coming and the tree colors should be great again this year!

Cheers
Richard Lobach
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumberville
5.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Element Ewing Princeton
11.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.3 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1740 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1740 House

Property: 1740 House
Address: 3690 River Rd, Lumberville, PA 18933-9713
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lumberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lumberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1740 House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1740 House offers the comforts of a first-class hotel with the ambiance of a small country inn. The Main House consists of the original living room with wood burning stone fireplace for lounging on a cold winter's day. All 24 guestrooms have either a Balcony or Terrace with views of the tranquil Delaware River and Canal. Every guest room has a Private Bath and individually controlleed Heat and Air Conditioning. Keep the Television hidden away in the amoire to provide for the perfect Romantic evening. Free high speed internet service keeps you connected to the outides world while you enjoy your surroundings of a day gone by. We offer the very best of Spirits, Cordials and Wines in our private 1740 Club (open to guest when they stay at the inn.) Tapas style menu served Wednesday through Saturday from 4:00pm till 8:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1740 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1740 House Hotel Lumberville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing