We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to like, but they have a lot to learn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village at Pocono
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Pond
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked this place for 2 nights using a TravelZoo 50% off deal. One reason we chose it was because they are dog-friendly (with a $10/day fee). When confirming our reservation I mentioned our dog and asked questions about his staying with us. Unfortunately, the girl must have neglected to write this down. When we arrived, we liked our room a lot; it was new, nicely furnished and well laid out. We also liked the the grounds and the amenities offered at the main clubhouse ... all very nice. However, on the morning of our 2nd day, we were literally "thrown out" of our room. We were told they were unaware we had a dog, and that we had to immediately move to a different unit. This meant packing everything up, and moving a few units down into the "designated dog" unit. My wife and I were very upset, but we were assured that the other unit was "exactly the same". We were also told they would "wave the $20/day fee" as a way of helping out. This was a huge mistake. First, our dog was well behaved and quiet, and they should have just let us stay the one more day. They also should not have inflated the dog fee to make us think we were getting a better deal. And lastly ... we should not have been told the new unit was the same, because it wasn't ... it was smaller, older, had a broken table, a deformed sofa bed, and a smaller shower. FYI, had we been allowed to stay in our first room, I would have given this place 5 stars. One other note for visitors here ... this area of the Poconos is very remote and you will have to travel at least 7 -12 miles to do any shopping or eat at most restaurants. This added a lot of driving time (and gas usage) to our tab.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrianM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisd5685, General Manager at The Village at Pocono, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We at The Village at Pocono are extremely sorry about the issue with your dog. As a safety concern to all our guests we must keep our dog friendly rooms together for numerous reasons: at the resort we have many young children that stay with their families, due to any possible noise issues with the dog disturbing other guests, and to limit areas around the resort to pet friendly areas for any guests sensitive to allergies. I am sure the above dog was well behaved but we must use the same discretion for all our pet friendly guests. We are also sorry if the pet fee was miscued for $20.00 a day, the pet fee is $10.00 a day. We offered to wave the whole amount for the stay, which would have been $20.00. If the pet fee not being charged at check in was mentioned, we would have noticed the mistake immediately and easily been able to change to an appropriate room assignment. Most guests with pets inform us upon check-in and we always will give them doggy clean up bags for their stay as well as make special arrangements for housekeeping during a stay with the pet in the room. As a 3 year old hotel, we take pride in our clean and new rooms. Please know that all our rooms were built within a month of each other and there are very small differences between a few of them. The room you were moved to was only 18 inches narrower then the previous room. We are extremely apologetic for the table issue, which we fixed immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights here 2 adults and 2 teens. First of all, all of the staff from front check-in to housekeeping to men cutting the lawn could not have been friendlier! This place still smells like new and the 1 bedroom condo we had was spotless! We played tennis, bocce ball, shot pool, air hockey, ping pong and swam in the pool. The movie theatre is great! The only thing we wished they had was a mineature golf course. Other than that I would recommend to anyone and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struble-trovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed 3 nights at The Village at Pocono. We weren't sure what to expect since we had never traveled to the area. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up the driveway and found that the entire complex is behind a security gate - our first impression was this would be an upscale property.

We checked in to a 2 bed/2 bath condo and found it to be spacious, very clean and quiet. There were 3 large screen TVs which made my husband and teens happy (each one got his own TV!). The full kitchen included a toaster and coffee maker (coffee service was provided each day), as well as all of the dishes, pots/pans, and silver. A full-sized frig was nice as well, with a full pantry. Each bedroom had one full-sized bed, although we found that the couch in the living area was a pull-out bed which my oldest teen grabbed for his own. Sheets and pillows were provided for the pullout, too. There was plenty of seating - couch + chair, dining table with 4 chairs, and then an counter/bar with 2 more chairs.

The property was very peaceful the week we were there. The lodge is open 24/7 and provides a fireplace/lounge (for reading or playing board games), billiard room, game room with a ping pong table and air hockey table, movie theatre with large screen and 8 recliners to watch either TV or a DVD (the front desk has a selection of movies you can borrow) - the movie theatre can be reserved for a private viewing of your selection, and the work-out room. The Aquatic Center has a heated pool (a warm 82 degrees) and a hot tub with plenty of lounge chairs and tables. The Aquatic Center does close at 9pm every day. There is also a very nice shower/changing room for men and women with all of the toiletries provided.

The rest of the property is very wooded and private and offers a basketball court, bocce ball court, tennis court and playground with picnic tables and gazebo. The office has plenty of sports equipment that you can borrow so no need to bring your own.

As I mentioned, the location of The Village is very private and the only walkable attraction is the Pocono Raceway across the street. I assume that during a race, the area is much more busy, but that was not the case when we were there. Driving is a necessity if you want to visit a restaurant, grocery store or shop, but this was OK with us since there were many activities available on site.

I would recommend The Village at Poconos for families with kids, as well as couples just wanting to get away for some quiet time. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2niagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We arrived at The Village at Pocono on a very quiet Sunday. Check-In is stated at 3pm and there appears to be NO exceptions. As it was quiet (no cars in check-in parking lot), we tried to see if we could check in at ~1pm or at least get information on the facilities. We were told that we could come back as check in was at 3pm and were simply told that all of the facilities were in the main building. I would have appreciated if they would have invited us to sit in the lounge to eat our lunch (packed in the car), or tour the facilities. I felt more like a bother to the 2 people at the desk.

I decided then to get a coffee - the nearest shopping area (large) to the place was 20-30 minutes away; but since we had 2 hours to wait to check-in, it at least filled the time.

When we returned at 3pm, we checked into a room that was clean and had enough room for our family of 4. We utilized the kitchen to eat dinner and breakfast, which provided some value for us. The kitchen did not have a dishwasher, but we were provided with dish soap and a dish rack to wash our dishes. (I was surprised that the place did not have a dishwasher.)

We stayed here to go to Camelbeach, but it is 30 minutes away - there are several closer hotels to stay at that we could see along the way.

The place is definitely clean and unlike some reviews - we did not hear noises from other rooms - perhaps b/c the place was not full - however, we did see another 2 cars parked at our building, so I think someone was staying close by.

B/c the place was not busy, we had the swimming pool to ourselves for a little while, which was nice as well as the playground - which was a very nice sized playground - I think kids would be happy here.

I'm not sure that we would return here - for my family, it would probably be better worth it to leave the house in the early morning for a day trip to the Poconos.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMarisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this suite for two nights, mid-week using a travelzoo discount. We had a two bed, 2 bath suite. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. A major issue for some people may be the noise from adjacent rooms. We could hear everything going on in the room next to ours--babies crying, people blowing noses, etc. Another problem is the lack of convienences near by. You have to go a distance for food, groceries. We used this visit as a visit to Camelbeach waterpark. It was still about a 20-30 min ride to the park. With the distance, I probably would have not stay here again if paying full price. Now if you plan to visit the pocono raceway, this is the place to be if you can risk the lack of sound proofing. Note that there is not a computer for guest to use if you need to print anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had our family reunion (25) at the Pocono Village this past weekend. We had an entire villa to ourselves. The rooms are brand new, spacious, beautiful, and very well laid out. A full kitchen with every possible utensil you could need was at our disposal. The grounds are absolutely private, quiet, and makes for a great getaway. The clubhouse is extremely spacious and comfortable. The ladies locker was fully equipped with toiletries for a shower after a sauna, or pool. The pool area is amazingly beautiful AND spacious -- as we had our picnic lunch there. Kudos to the person(s) who worked on the layout of the rooms and all of its amenities. The staff was extremely helpful and kind, and met our every need. We look forward to returning year after year!!! Indra M.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the villas face the wooded grounds. Rooms to the front, though also quiet, fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyM435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Perfect service ,good price ,nice place to stay.Win-win choise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Pond
9.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,475 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Best Western Inn At Blakeslee-Pocono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,542 reviews
4.9 mi away
Split Rock Resort
Split Rock Resort
#2 of 3 in Lake Harmony
1,719 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village at Pocono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Pocono

Address: 1308 Foyt Road, P.O. Box 204, Long Pond, PA 18334
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Long Pond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Pond
Price Range: $97 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village at Pocono 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Pocono is the newest resort community in the heart of the Pocono Mountains. The Village offers studios, 1 and 2 bedroom villas with flexible rental options. Our spacious villas feature: fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room with a queen sleeper sofa, and plasma televisions. The Village is the perfect combination of location and luxury for your family vacation, couples getaway, extended retreat, or corporate event needs.Many adventures await you at this all season vacation destination. The Village is adjacent to one of the country’s premier motor sports facilities, Pocono International Raceway, which owns and operates the resort. Spoil yourself with an in-room spa service, personal trainer, or local restaurant food delivery. Golf, ski slopes, horseback riding, hiking, fishing, whitewater rafting, and paintball are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The Village at Pocono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Pocono Hotel Long Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing