We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Can't say enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speedwell Forge B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can't say enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had one of the best weekends ever! I have never met such a wonderful innkeepers. We felt so welcomed. You can tell what a wonderful heart Dawn has as soon as you meet her. We felt so peaceful and relaxed. The property is beautiful. Breakfast was so yummy. The wolf sanctuary is a really amazing place. I cannot wait until we can return. If we lived closer they may not be able to get rid of us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

M y husband and I stayed in Bill's room. The B&B was perfect. The food was great and our hostess was a lovely person to talk to. We loved our stay and would like to stay again. Learning about the wolves was educational and adventurous. A perfect getaway. Patty

Room Tip: Bill's room was cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

my wife and I had planned to visit the Wolf Sanctuary, and decided to also stay over a night at the Inn. What a great experience all around. Fascinating back story from the owner Dawn Darlington regarding the genisis of the house and how the Wolf Sanctuary came about. Arrived late afternoon and had time to view the wolves on our own prior to our next day tour. How great was that! Room and Inn were really comfortable and homey. Dawn and Darren work very hard at this life they've chosen and it shows. Oh, and the Breakfast part of the B&B was awesome. Thanks again Dawn for everything.

Room Tip: If you book a tour of the Sanctuary do yourself a favor and book a room here for the night before or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks county pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I received a gift certificate for the Speedwell and we finally had the opportunity to redeem it. We booked the Paymasters Office/suite. We took advantage of the tour at the wolf sanctuary (which was great) before we checked in. We actually got there early and Dawn, the innkeeper, was kind enough to let us get in our room before check in time! The room was amazing....it is beautiful, cozy, inviting and honestly was the cleanest room I have ever had in a B&B or hotel. It was spotless! We ordered a basket of goodies which had warm fresh baked bread and brownies along with other tasty items. The bread was soooo good! We highly recommend this property. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms and the mansion are lovely and the breakfast prepared by Dawn was incredible. Dawn and her husband Darin are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Paymasters Office
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tastingsandtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I found this place back in August. No as no idea that it would be such a fabulous get away. Tucked back in the woods, on gorgeous land, you find a beautiful home nestled in among the wolves. Yes! Wolves! The Wolf Sanctuary of PA is on sight. It's a beautiful monument to preservation of beautiful wildlife. Rescued wolves and hybrids live here and entertain all. We stayed in the paymaster's suite and loved swimming in the oversized in room jet tub (right by the fire place). The owners are gracious and loving and we will return. Thank you for such a blessing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Speedwell Forge B&B is just sublime: Beautiful, clean (no, immaculate), cozy, inviting, charming. Food was terrific and the hostess is amazing. We had a fabulous stay the day after Christmas. Visiting the Wolf Sanctuary next door is a MUST--one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheresaLovesYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The house is gorgeously redone with cute little amenities like the awesome lavender soap/shampoo etc, Wilbur chocolates in the room, tea service anytime etc. I had an incredibly relaxing stay over Christmas while visiting family. Everyone was very nice and I definitely plan to book here again next year. Food was delicious too! Speedwell Forge was the best part of my visit home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank upittkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
3.2 mi away
Warwick Inn & Suites
Warwick Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
9.1 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Inn at Leola Village, Lancaster
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
11.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Property: Speedwell Forge B&B
Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Speedwell Forge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing