We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolves!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great relaxing place to stay. Close enough yet distant enough for peace and quiet. Dawn is an excellent hostess and chef!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Speedwell Forge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was one of the nicest, cleanest places we've ever stayed. The attention to detail and level of hospitality of the innkeepers was above and beyond what we've ever experienced. This was a wonderful place to stay, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Paymaster's office was private and secluded from main house, Outdoor kitchen looked nice also...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyqdadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Speedwell Forge is like home away from home and the innkeeper is so gracious. Heated floors on the first level are a special luxury in winter. The home is impeccably clean and delicious breakfasts include seasonal and healthy ingredients and fruit. We loved seeing the wolves interact with other members of their pack at the sanctuary on the grounds. If you happen to be outside at the right time, hearing them communicate by howling is an extraordinary experience that might be startling to some but was exciting yet calming to me!

Room Tip: The "Boy's Room" is perfect for traveling companions wanting separate beds.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Paymaster Cottage...the cottage is really beautiful. It's set a good distance away from the main house, so it's very private. It faces a creek, and we saw deer outside the window along the creek. It's also beautiful on the inside, with a king bed, fireplace, hot tub, and an updated bathroom, and a little kitchen with a stovetop, sink, small fridge, microwave, and table. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Dishes are included. We really enjoyed our time here and wish we could have stayed longer.
The main mansion is beautiful too, although we only saw the dining room and the entranceway. Breakfast was very very good! Dawn, the innkeeper, is very nice and a great cook. She is friendly without being intrusive. We would certainly stay here again.
The wolves are also worth seeing--the tour was great (I'm going to write a separate review of that).

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to stay in the Paymaster.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pangiebear1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Dec and had a wonderful time.
Plus points:
Lovely setting
Lovely house
Wonderful room and bathroom - with everything you need in it
Great hosts
Fantastic breakfasts - very accomodating to my special diet
Nice to have use of a few rooms to relax in, make drinks etc. She should offer evening meals, the food is so good!
Free access to look at the wolfs
Nice grounds for walks etc
Nothing seemed to much trouble
Points to consider:
It is not in Litiz, but about 15 minutes drive away in the middle of nowhere - we loved it, but it is not handy for anything
The heating was noisey and kept us awake quite a bit

Overall we loved it and are thinking already of going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ta2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wonderful weekend. Feel like you are visiting an old friend. Dawn makes a great breakfast and the building/grounds make a great getaway when you want to get away without having to go far away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I love this place! The beautiful, historical, immaculate manor home is comfortable and welcoming. Your host, Dawn, is amazing. She's a fantastic cook for all specialty diets. My husband and I are ovo-lacto vegetarians and were impressed with Dawn's breakfast. She serves a wonderful variety and there is plenty to eat. Her home has been lovingly restored and is filled with antiques ... but not cutesy stuff. Just lovely. PA Dutch handmade quilts are on the beds and most pieces of furniture have a story. Just ask Dawn. Then there are the wolves. We stayed in the main house which has thick walls and double paned windows, so we didn't hear them howling at night (we were there during the full moon), but the couple staying in the paymaster's cabin -- in the back -- heard them. Lucky. Oh well. Visiting the wolves and hearing about them is a great experience. The property is so beautiful. I want to return. The town of Lititz is known for it's pretzels and candy. Yum. The fudge at the candy factory of the best I've ever eaten! Speedwell Forge is a "must see." Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. It depends what you are looking for. We stayed in Bill's Room. It...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-NJ-Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
3.1 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
69 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
6.3 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
663 reviews
10.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Speedwell Forge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing