We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must see" BnB ... It is immaculate, delicious, historical, and has wolves!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speedwell Forge B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I love this place! The beautiful, historical, immaculate manor home is comfortable and welcoming. Your host, Dawn, is amazing. She's a fantastic cook for all specialty diets. My husband and I are ovo-lacto vegetarians and were impressed with Dawn's breakfast. She serves a wonderful variety and there is plenty to eat. Her home has been lovingly restored and is filled with antiques ... but not cutesy stuff. Just lovely. PA Dutch handmade quilts are on the beds and most pieces of furniture have a story. Just ask Dawn. Then there are the wolves. We stayed in the main house which has thick walls and double paned windows, so we didn't hear them howling at night (we were there during the full moon), but the couple staying in the paymaster's cabin -- in the back -- heard them. Lucky. Oh well. Visiting the wolves and hearing about them is a great experience. The property is so beautiful. I want to return. The town of Lititz is known for it's pretzels and candy. Yum. The fudge at the candy factory of the best I've ever eaten! Speedwell Forge is a "must see." Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. It depends what you are looking for. We stayed in Bill's Room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-NJ-Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for two nights. The property is an amazing stone building from the 1700s faithfully restored and beautifully furnished. There is a wolf sanctuary on the property and the tour was quite informative while the wolves were impressive and gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious--everything was homemade. The evening snacks were especially yummy. I would highly recommend the wolf tour if you do stay in this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: The "boys" room has two three quarter beds--perfect for non-couple traveling companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhiker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very clean (no shoes in the house), Excellent breakfast, Beautiful grounds with wolves, Charming innkeeper

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jdaviqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The mansion is beautifullly restored, and exceeded my expectations in hospitality, cleanliness and decor. It's the kind of place that feels welcoming from the start, without being invasive. Dawn seems to have a good gauge into understanding just how much attention each guest wants, and each room is already prepared to meet most needs, from chocolate treats to warm robes and fresh water.

The highlights:
--The wolves, of course. The sanctuary is fascinating, and the volunteers there are dedicated. They seem to have good relationships with the animals, and are respectful and kind to them, and are eager to share each ones stories. Definitely take the tour. Bonus: guests of the b&b can walk the perimeter of the sanctuary at any time.
--The breakfast. Dawn is an excellent cook, and provided a very comfortable and tasty meal. The guest books raved about her breakfast, and it lived up to the hype. In fact, it may have been the best food we had in the area.
--The cleanliness. If you're a stickler for details, this place is for you. There's no question that each room is cleaned and prepped for guests each day. I felt just as comfortable there as I would in my own home.
--The decor. Nothing frou-frou or cloyingly precious. The house was modernized, yet faithful to the period. Be sure to take a look at the photos of the renovation -- you will be amazed at the transformation and the preservation.
--The quietness. The property is a very calming place to stay. We enjoyed sitting outside and hearing the birds and the river, as well as the wolves. We also enjoyed not hearing the other guests -- the house is solid!
--Dawn's helpfulness. She was quick with suggestions of activities in the area, and understood exactly what we wanted. She didn't steer us wrong, and she took into consideration our tastes.

The cons:
None. Loved it all!

Room Tip: Paymaster's Office is best 4 romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycjaunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is our second visit to this extraordinary B&B. Dawn is such a spectacular cook, concierge and anything one would wish for at a place to lay one's head, relax and enjoy the scenery. And to add to this are the wonderful wolves. The mansion is adjacent to a wolf sanctuary. There are about 40 wovles residing there, in separated packs. Tours are given, mostly during the day and once a month near the full moon on a Saturday night. Dawn knows how to treat her guests, serving a three-course breakfast and providing soft, silky sheets and big fluffy pillows on the bed, plush towels and wonderful scented bath wash, shampoo and conditioner in the bath and a little sweet treat (local chocolate kisses) at the bedside. There is a parlor for relaxing and a sitting room with books and movies to view. Breakfast is even tailored to the guest if he/she is vegan or lactose intolerant, etc. Bill's room is cozy while Kathryn's room has a claw-foot whirlpool tub and a canopy bed. We really didn't want to leave and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Just pick a room on the date/dates you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlutterbyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Dawn and Darrin are terrific hosts. She never asked me 4 money and i paid in full upon leaving.She gave us a tour of the guest house and a brief history dating back to the 1700,s. We arrived after dark and GPS took us right to it.The gate opened easily with a little common sense!! She also arranged for our massages which i highly recommend Great B&B all around!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rickjr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Enjoyed this place. The room was quiet and the owners left guests to their own peace and quiet. Not a lot of interaction with the owners but this was nice. The breakfast was really well done and tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia_AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
3.1 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
73 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
11.2 mi away
The Inn at Leola Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hammer Creek Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
159 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alden House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers a peaceful retreat in natural elegance. Three lovely guest rooms and three private cottages, all with private bath, on a relaxing 120-acre farm boarding a nature park and rolling Pennsylvania Hills. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Ephrata, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Speedwell Forge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing