We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Food”

Bulls Head Public House
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Lititz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Established in March 2010, The Bulls Head is modeled after a traditional British pub. This means great food, friendly conversation, and of course, quality beers. Keeping to the traditional practices of a British pub you will be greeted with a smile from the barman, seat yourself, decide what food and drink you'd like, then place your order at the bar. British pubs are extremely conducive to meeting new people and promoting conversation.
Branchburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub Food”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The fish and chips were as great as what we had in London. Will visit again and loved the atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Constance Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    139
    28
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great blend of atmosphere, quality beer, and good food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Bull's Head Pub has always stood out for having a top notch, ever changing, beer selection. The food, from pub grub to other entrees, has never disappointed. Now that the pub has expanded, Bull's Head is even better than before. The original pub area resonates well as a comfortable English pub. The addition feels a bit more posh but is nonetheless comfortable and welcoming. Now that the outdoor seating area extends around the corner to an adjoining alley, you can definitely sit outside and get a nice dose of European cafe life. My wife and I always enjoy the the experience at Bull's Head.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad for a British pub in America”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I was afraid this was going to be like most 'authentic British pubs' you find in America - that is to say some kind of inauthentic Disneyfied disaster, but I thought this was pretty spot on. (I'm British myself.) I liked the pub interiors, thought the service and atmosphere was fine and I had a very good meal here last Saturday evening, sitting outside on a warm evening.

I liked the items on the pub fare menu (especially the Scotch Egg) and though the prices were fair enough. I do think it's a shame there isn't a bigger selection of traditional pub cuisine and fewer wasabi-chipotle-nacho America items and Italian-styled dishes. That's not pub food - but I guess they have to cater to US tastes, too.

I'm used to ordering at the bar -get a number/find a seat thing- that's how pubs work! I like it and it means no waiting for a bill at the end, no tipping a waitress, etc. Much easier and quicker. You want something else, you go order and pay for it. Simple. I also noticed that people at different tables were talking to one another, which rarely happens in a restaurant.

The people whinging about the lack of waitress service should just go elsewhere. You can get the same food with table service right next door at the General Sutter Inn - although you have to suffer listening to the bad music if you sit on the patio there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hampsteader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer, Food, and Service!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Excellent beer selection, drink mixologists, food, and service! This is truly the best Lititz has to offer, and thanks to their recent expansion, it can accommodate more persons. Love dining here - traditional pub style ordering at the bar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadeeinLititz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic pub experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Being an Antipodean, married to an Englishman (Liverpudlian), this pub fulfills many of the criteria of a good British pub, except that it is not in Britain. The only thing it lacks is the lingering small of cigarettes and beer soaked carpet, but that has got to be an advantage. The owner is from the Liverpool area, and has an eye for detail, right down to the decor, food, beer and condiments. So, if you are a native Brit, this makes for a great place to go if you feel homesick for your local pub. The great thing is that it is not part of a chain, like so many other British style pubs in the UK. The food is very good, the pub is clean, smart and roomy, with the inclusion of the tavern next door. This pub is a great place to visit for lunch or dinner if you are spending time in the lovely town of Lititz.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teatime-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulls Head Public House also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Bulls Head Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing