We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Needs Improvement”
Review of Tomato Pie Cafe

Tomato Pie Cafe
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Lititz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An urban style eatery with a unique, simple, flavorful menu.Quality Espresso & Brew Coffee.A cozy, intimate atmosphere.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Customer Service Needs Improvement”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The service was slow and not very friendly. We waited and waited for some ketchup, and I finally had to get up and walk to the bar to look for some. The waitress seemed annoyed rather than apologetic. By then, our food was cold. Customer service could use improvement. The dining area was cramped. The tomato pie is just OK. It's different from what you might expect. It's like stewed tomatoes inside a pie crust.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    187
    37
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Two friends and I visited recently and were a bit disappointed in the quiche that was served. It seemed too much like warm well set custard. It was nothing like I have ever had before. There was very little taste . It was a broccoli cheddar quiche but you really couldn't taste the cheddar at all. One of my friends had eaten the quiche at the Tomato Pie three or four times before and said it was not up to their usual high standards. She was especially disappointed because she had chosen this spot for lunch.
We arrived around 11:30 and were seated immediately in the front section. Service was spotty. Our waitress, who was super pleasant, forgot to bring things we asked her for and never asked if we wanted dessert. I think our waitress was a bit overwhelmed with the constant flow of new customers. Perhaps she was new on the job. It is a pleasant little spot and the last time I was there, I was pleased with my tomato pie selection. Some of the other meals I saw looked delicious so if I go back, I will definitely order something other than the quiche.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PAtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch in Lititz, PA”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The food and service is excellent at the Tomato Pie Cafe in downtown Lititz. The ambience leaves a little to be desired - the chairs are a bit uncomfortable, the tables are small and crowded together, and I was seated right next to a refrigerated case - but the delicious food made up for the seating. The tomato pie is wonderful, and I also enjoyed a fresh beet salad over spinach. Overall, a great place to eat when you are in Lititz.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tyenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch with innovated cuisine”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent lunch. Breakfast, brunch type items served late. Had a wonderful egg, beet and goat chesse scramble with tasty sourdough bread. Fun milkshake flavors like blueberry green tea which was very good. Atmosphere and service top notch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Don't miss this charming restaurant if you find yourself in Lititz, PA. Good food, delightful server, great prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomato Pie Cafe also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Tomato Pie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing