We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Dinner for Two”
Review of General Sutter Inn

General Sutter Inn
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Lititz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner for Two”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The General Sutter Inn has an amazing quiet restaurant that is the perfect place to celebrate an Anniversary or a Special Date! Dinner specials are always amazin as well as their entire menu! The staff is friendly and prompt!!! There Valentine's Dinner was amazing and we can't wait to go back next year!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank autumn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    81
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Over the Rainbow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The only reason I'm giving this review an 'average' instead of a 'poor' was because the food was very good.
The service, on the other hand??? To say it was poor is an understatement. When our party of 4 arrived, we were told 30-minute wait because there were 9 groups ahead of us. We looked around, saw only one other group waiting and 4 empty tables around the patio.
When we were seated, after getting some drinks at the bar, the waiter said that he could not bring us more drinks at the table until the bartender transferred our bar tab to a food order (whatever). We waited another 20 minutes or so for the waiter to come back and take our order. Then another 30 minutes went by before the food showed up. We ordered burgers and sandwiches. Both of the burgers were way overcooked, as we had asked for them 'medium' and 'medium rare'.
Another 30 minutes passed and the server never showed up again to take more drink orders or see how our food was. He then showed up with a completely messed bill. Everything was incorrect. They finally took the overcooked burgers off of the tab and we just ended up splitting the one bill with the other couple we were with, even though we had asked for (and told 'no problem') two separate bills.
Overall, I believe this place is very poorly managed. There's no other explanation for having only one server for the entire patio, two hostesses and one manager yakking away with patrons and not helping out whatsoever, especially on a '2nd Friday' when they know that downtown Lititz is going to be filled with hungry people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
332 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Six of us had lunch there on a Monday. Everyone liked their meals. Choices that we had were Chicken Noodle Soup, Pulled Pork Cuban Sandwich, BLT Salad, Caesar Salad and Fish and Chips. No complaints here. We also had their Bloody Mary's which were very good but very pricy - $9.50 and you only got 1/2 stick of celery after we asked for it. They only had 1 waiter working. The service was good when it was only our table but when others arrived, we had to wait quite a while for our change and a box.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An unexpected and delicious find!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

While we did not stay at the Inn, we had a great lunch there on Saturday afternoon. The dining room was spacious with a menu of Maryland favorites - think crab - and other intriguing salads and sandwiches. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and were very patient as we asked for their suggestions for 'must sees' which included the pretzel and chocolate factories, museums and civil war memorials. If you go, please make a trip to the men's room...yes the men's room. Too funny!


Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eshattuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rebuttal to poor reviews”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This restaurant is reliable-servicie is probably its greatest weakness.
The place is old but this adds to the charm.
Food is very good,
Pub is excellent.

Check the men's room for fun surprise!

Love the outside dining option!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasherwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sutter Inn also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing