We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waiting to be noticed”
Review of General Sutter Inn

General Sutter Inn
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Lititz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“waiting to be noticed”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

service lacking at lunch. food is nothing special. Soups have always been
very good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    86
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still waiting...”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Not busy. But waiting long painful time for wine & lunch. Service is bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fountainblu_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic Place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very old & charming place. Food was very good. everyone pleasant. It is at the square in a small & beautiful little town with great little shops,a park with a natural spring running through it & a chocalate factory nearby.

Helpful?
Thank dshotzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Bridal Shower”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

General Sutter Inn exceeded our expectations in creating a lovely memory for our bride and her guests. The food was fantastic and service was exceptional. Jeff Merk, Banquet manager, worked with me from my initial phone call until the last guest left to ensure that every detail would be covered. He accommodated every request including our choice of the ballroom. The room looked beautiful, Jeff and his staff attended to every guest personally and they were committed to making sure that the event was exactly what we wanted. The cost was reasonable and the charming setting helped create a great backdrop to the event. Thanks, Jeff.
I hope to return again for lunch and dinner.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in an historic and romantic setting”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We selected this restaurant because there are very few options for upscale dining in Lititz and we wanted more that pub fare. Previous reviews left us wary of what to expect. I'm happy to report that our experience blew away our expectations and we had a wonderful dinner.

We went on a Saturday night when nothing was scheduled in town but outstanding weather brought out lots of locals and tourists. The entire inn was jumping with a wedding underway, the outdoor terrace full of people and the adjoining pub extremely busy. We opted for the indoor dining room overlooking the terrace and fountain. The room was attractive and looked out to an historic part of town. Our server was attentive knew the menu well.

I had the roast duck and my wife had the beef filet medallions. Both were excellent with generous portions and sauces that really made the dishes. The accompaniments were also tasty and well prepared. The prices for these entrees were a little high for the area but reasonable by Philadelphia standards with quality to match. We did not have dessert.

I do think the kitchen has a capacity problem when the terrace, dining room and pub are all busy at the same time. We waited just a little longer than would have liked for our main courses (appetizers came up quickly). Other reviews have indicated similar experiences but overall, our dinner was one of the best we've had in a while. Reservations are recommended. Give "the general" a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SearchLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sutter Inn also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing