We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay, very different than the first time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Stafford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our second stay, very different than the first time!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I were travelling from Boston to Virginia and needed a place to spend the night. We had stayed at this inn a few years before and decided to go a little out of our way and stay here again, since our first visit was very positive. We arrived in the early evening and checked ourselves in. We knew that the self check in was the way this inn is run and that was fine. We stayed in the first floor Joshua room, which is very nice. We had a good night sleep although you do hear a lot of street noise in the front bedroom. We were the only guests at the inn that night. The first time we stayed there, there were several other guests, so there were other people around the inn. It felt a little odd to be completely alone that night. We didn't see the owner/innkeeper until the next morning at breakfast. We went into the dining room and Lyndell served us a very average breakfast. It was store bought hash browns with an egg on top and some cheese and bacon. The dessert was canned blueberry cobbler. It was a very different experience than the first time we stayed at this inn. Perhaps the breakfast is different if she has several guest? What bothered us the most about the whole stay was that Lyndell didn't even say goodbye. We took about 30 minutes to load our car and she didn't even come out and speak to us. She new that we were leaving because we settled our bill after breakfast. We have stayed at over a dozen B&B's and this is the first time we felt that we weren't really welcome. Perhaps it was an off day for her, but we will not be back!

Geoff and Kim

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim58204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Alden House B&B made our 2-night stay in Lititz an excellent experience. My wife and I stayed in the carriage house and it was perfect. We had a great breakfast in the main house each morning and Lyndell made sure, per our request, our meal was vegetarian.

We planned be tourists for the day and take in all the attractions that Lititz had to offer. Because of the great location on Main Street, we never had to use our car the entire time. The Wilbur Chocolate Company, the Sturgis factory, all the historical sites and restaurants are within very walking distance. For anyone thinking of making Lititz an overnight destination, I highly recommend the Alden House B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Park_Aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My mother and i stayed here and found it to be wonderful. The house was lovely with the most beautiful room. We stayed in the parlour suite and had an upstairs bathroom and a king bed. The breakfast was nice and they had tea, coffee, sodas and slices available all day. There was even a small dish of chocolates from the Wilbur chocolate factory down the road. A great position in a lovely town. The Inn keepers were very helpful and kind. We couldn't fault it (besides the creaking on the wooden floors). A lovely stay! We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Alden House has a great location, being within walking distance of most of the things you might want to see in Lititz. The inn itself is very charming and quiet despite being on the main street in town. We met Lyndell, and she was very friendly and accomodating, helping us plan our itinerary for our stay. She also is a great cook, and we enjoyed her breakfasts, which are served at 8 a.m. She also keeps a stock of snacks and drinks in the kitchen, which is very handy if you find yourself feeling peckish. Recommended.

Room Tip: The Scandia Room is inexpensive compared to the other rooms, but the windows open onto a balcony wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recommend Alden House as a great location to explore Amish Country. Lititz has more going on than other nearby towns and the Alden House is located on Main Street. The innkeeper prepared a great breakfast every morning and helped us make an itinerary to explore Amish Country. Downsides were the street noise we could hear in our room and the small bathroom with a not quite fully functioning toilet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Best visit yet!We went for two nights to catch" 2nd Friday" during which the shops stay open later,music,food and a good crowd.We happened on the "make up date" for Lititz being crowned "Coolest Little Town in America".They closed off Main Street and had Music,Tables of food for sale(pizza,subs,barbaque,chicken wraps,a grilled chocolate sandwich...there was more but we couldn't try all of it) AND they were trying to break the Guiness Book for most people wearing sunglasses at night...haven't checked to see if Guiness verified it yet.Great time,Champagne(found some very good brut at Mt. Hope Winery) on the porch in our rocking chairs(if we got a dollar for each time we were told we had "the best seats in the house" we could have easily paid our bill.Lynndell did her usual excellent job at breakfast and John gave me some tips on restoring a hardwood floor.We'll be back.

Room Tip: don't want to give up that info...we've stayed in most and they're all good but we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenbb, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We strive for everyone to have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Alden House Bed and Breakfast in Lititz, PA is a beautiful restored home was built in 1850. Situated in the Heart of Lititz, this B & B is perfect for you to walk the city streets and visit the many small businesses. All the rooms had there own charm, but we selected the Joshua Room which was perfect for our Anniversary getaway. The inn keepers were polite, but not on site much.
Breakfast was very relaxing and we got to interact with other guests. The baked apple pancake was the best. They have a large selection of teas, but if you can't find one you like, there is a tea shop ( A Tea Affair) about 75 feet from their front door.
Prices were resonable and if you are interested, this B & B is currently for sale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
1.2 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
4.3 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
925 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 62 E Main St, Lititz, PA 17543-1947
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alden House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Alden House Bed and Breakfast, a fine example of "In-town elegance." This 1850 brick Federal style house is located in the center of the Lititz Historical District within strolling distance of local attractions, unique shops, and fine dining. It's the perfect location to enjoy the ambience of the charming town of Lititz while being centrally located in Lancaster County, PA. The Alden House has been professionally restored with modern amenities while retaining all its original charm. The high ceilings, striking staircase, cozy dining room, and comfortable rooms and suites all remind guests of another era, a time when the pace was just a little slower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alden House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing