We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in a cute town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in a cute town”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a B&B or hotel anywhere!! Lovely place, right in the centre of town. Great hosts, delicious multi-course breakfast. Highly recommended for a weekend away!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank green_h0rnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenbb, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is easy to provide great service to great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stay at B&Bs because they offer variety, a good breakfast, interesting guests, and interesting hosts. The Alden House, located on Lititz's main street met all of these qualifications. They also have their own parking and this is always a plus in our book. Lititz itself is a little off the beaten track (being not quite in Pennsylvania Dutch country) but just far enough away that one is not surrounded by the tourists that one would probably find in nearby Lancaster.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

so we had to come home.Carrol and I stayed at the Alden House 4/26 and 4/27.We shopped until we couldn't fit anymore into the car trunk and so we had to come home...well that and the fact that they were full and couldn't book us another day.Lynndell fixed virginia skillet apples,tomato frittata,bacon,gingerbread muffins with pecan peach crisp for dessert.It was a great breakfast and as we had to start the 7 hour drive back early she fixed us a brown bag traveling breakfast.It was cool both days but we pulled our rockers together put our car blanket on our laps and enjoyed our champagne as we watched the world go by(a plus was not having to add any ice to the bucket on the second bottle).Sorry we had to leave because they had a Pretzel Festival today and a two day bike race next.

Room Tip: sorry,that would only make it harder to get the room we want.(Actually they're all good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at Alden House for about a week in February 2012. Perfect location right on Main Street, many shops and small restaurants within walking distance. Hosts Lynndell and John are very pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. Lynndell's breakfasts are great! I must eat gluten-free and she went over and above in accommodating my dietary requirements.

I stayed in the Scandia Room. Comfy and cozy. I did find the room to be very warm/stuffy when the door was kept closed, had to run the small table fan I found in the room. If you are one of those people who is always cold, this is the perfect room for you!

Also just a warning for those who find it a struggle to climb stairs, the stairs to the rooms on the second floor are rather steep, so you may want to consider one of the suites on the first floor.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PastorLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenbb, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words of encouragment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at the Alden in late December. Place is immaculate, well situated, and the owners are very congenial. Food is top notch. I love Lititz, so I could sleep in a car and be happy, but this is a very nice B&B and I would tell anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: The heater fireplaces have TWO switches in back, one provides heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Alden House B&B is excellently located on East Main Street in the center of Lititz, PA. My wife and I stayed here because of its being in the Amish country, which we loved exploring. The Amish people are very industrious and friendly.

The B&B is excellently run by Lynndell and John Eccleston, with seven lovely rooms and fine breakfasts, plus lots of good advice upon request.

We stayed in the Carriage House Suite -- extremely comfortable and convenient to both the main house and the parking lot. The free WiFi worked well from our enclosed vestibule, but not from the rest of the Carriage House.

Overall, the Alden House deserves major praise.

Room Tip: The carriage House Suite is excellent in comfort and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Alden House is a great B&B. It is well located on the main drag in Lititz PA, which is a spectacularly beautiful old time main street with many cute shops and interesting period architecture. The Innkeepers John & Lyndell are very friendly and quick to offer information on or directions to local attractions. The establishment is very very very very very clean. I kind of wish my own home were that clean.

Expect your breakfast to be EXCELLENT. Not because it is giant helpings of decadent artery clogging/diabetes inducing "country breakfast" food that leaves you needing a nap. It's wonderful because it is a balanced meal served in several small courses that will leave you feeling satiated and ready to take on the day and yet ,somehow, it manages to still be completely delicious. If you are late risers like my wife and I, you'll be happy to know that even though breakfast is typically served around 8am or so, we were graciously served ours considerably later than the rest of the guests (around 9:15 or so I think, but I don't really remember)

We stayed in the Alethea Suite on the 1st floor. The sitting room was comfortable, spacious and well decorated. I loved those high ceilings (over 8 feet, maybe 10 feet?) The bathroom just of the sitting room also serves as access to the bedroom. We actually really liked that layout, as it provided an extra rooms buffer from the dining room and made the bedroom feel very private. The bedroom was also very comfortable, spacious, and well decorated. The bed was wonderful to sleep in, however if your intentions are more sinister plan on waking every person in the house with the super loud squeaking.

THE EXTRAS: Convenient Private Parking. Cable TV (bedroom and sitting room). Microwave and mini fridge stocked with sodas and bottled water are available 24hrs a day in the kitchen. 3 large glass snack containers filled with home made baked goods and a Keurig machine in the dining room, also available 24hrs a day. And our favorite, a keypad on the door and an envelope with your name on it containing room keys allows for anytime late check-in!!!

A NOTE ON THE REVIEWERS: My wife and I are in our mid 20s. We love to stay at B&Bs because of the personal service, the yummy breakfasts, and well, because once you have... hotels seem cold, disgusting, and awful. We both love to meet new people and have fun conversations, however, we do NOT like to do that first thing in the morning. This can be the awkward part of a B&B stay for us, as many B&B guests enjoy this travelers' camaraderie and may have even chosen a B&B for exactly that reason. If you are like us, know that Alden house will not force you to sit next to strangers or otherwise force that social element upon you in any way.(A lot of places will, either by actively seating you closely amidst the other guests, or passively with smallish poor dining room layouts) On the other hand, if you DO enjoy that element in a B&B, know that the dining room is rich with other breakfast revelers just like you waiting to talk all about the local goings-on.

OVERALL: This place rules. They are doing B&B 100% right from top to bottom. If you are planning a stay in Lancaster County I would strongly recommend Alden House. We loved it!

P.S. Don't think just because you are in Amish country that you will be without all of your staple modern chain businesses. You are a very short ride (10 mins-ish) from MANY new (as of 10/2011) stores and conveniences. TARGET!

Room Tip: If you are a younger couple like my wife and I, and you plan on slipping in and out without stopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
1.2 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
4.3 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
926 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swiss Woods
Swiss Woods
#2 of 10 in Lititz
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 62 E Main St, Lititz, PA 17543-1947
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alden House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Alden House Bed and Breakfast, a fine example of "In-town elegance." This 1850 brick Federal style house is located in the center of the Lititz Historical District within strolling distance of local attractions, unique shops, and fine dining. It's the perfect location to enjoy the ambience of the charming town of Lititz while being centrally located in Lancaster County, PA. The Alden House has been professionally restored with modern amenities while retaining all its original charm. The high ceilings, striking staircase, cozy dining room, and comfortable rooms and suites all remind guests of another era, a time when the pace was just a little slower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alden House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing