We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overrated”
Review of Swiss Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Woods
Ranked #2 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First of all, I am not one to write a poor review, but we really did not enjoy our stay at Swiss Woods. My husband and I stayed here for one night in July, and found that the website makes the inn appear to be much nicer than what it is...which is why I am very confused about the high ratings. We received no baked goods or meat and the breakfast seemed like a casserole made of leftovers from the fridge. Breakfast was a meat free casserole. We were told that a server would be out to take our drink orders and no one ever showed up. Someone at our table mentioned this to the owner and she said she would send someone out. No one ever came. Not only was the inn unkept and cluttered, the service was nonexistent. We have stayed in fabulous and not so fabulous inns across America. Here, there is clutter everywhere; you have a direct view into the kitchen which is also unkept. In the area where drinks are kept there is no spoon, no napkins. It is a bit unsanitary to not offer stirrers and napkins in a communal food/drink area.
The owner seems tired and worn out. When we checked out, we went down a long hall to a VERY cluttered office where we were charged $225 for a suite. It was awkward and unprofessional. The room we stayed in had a bed a small balcony and a bath tub. No shower! Sorry, that is not a suite. Overall, the Inn needs a facelift, modernized amenities and de-cluttered. A class in customer service and warm greetings may be in order as well.

Room Tip: Find another inn.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teachfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all feedback seriously and learn from it. We would have loved to address your concerns while you were here and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide wonderful hospitality, setting and food to all of our guests. We wish you the best in your future travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Woods
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

this was my second stay at swiss woods. it was just as wonderful as the first stay. deb is a great innkeeper and Werner her husband is a delight to talk to. We had a beautiful comfortable room and the best breakfast ever! Debs baked goods are better than any other we have ever had. loved it will be going back many times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWinnkeeper, Owner at Swiss Woods, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. We bake everything from scratch, many with original recipes that I share on our blog. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great stay at the Swiss Woods B & B. Their breakfasts featured homemade coblers, muffins, and casseroles as well as fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, and breakfast potatoes. The cookies when we checked it were yummy too! The room was not large but adequate and very clean. The outdoor spaces were wonderful. Each evening when we arrived home there was a fire in the firepit on the patio and the gardens with two waterfalls were absolutely beautiful. We hiked several of the many trails on the property and also enjoyed the company of their outdoor cat. We were in Lititz for their Independence Day celebration and would recommend it to anyone who likes fireworks, concerts, baseball and the like. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuZi520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a wonderful place -- welcoming, warm innkeepers; lovely room (we saw most of the downstairs rooms and they were all lovely); beautiful gardens; yummy cookies (especially the biscotti dipped in white chocolate); and the best food (every morsel) I've had in Lancaster County. My husband and I spent three nights there, and we couldn't have asked for more. Go -- and enjoy!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SJerseyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

What a spectacular breathe of fresh air. From the moment Debbie greeted us, we felt at home. In less than 24 hours we walked the beautiful trails, watched and listened to the birds and the bees, ate a scrumptious breakfast, enjoyed a fire under the stars and rejuvenated our spirits. What more can you ask for.
The room was cozy and the patio with its swinging bench outside our door was welcoming. The bed was very comfortable and the coffee and treats delicious and plentiful.
We will most certainly return. Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I loved every minute of my stay here. The staff was very informative about the area including dining and places we would find interesting. they also were concerned about their guests when it unexpectedly snowed one of the nights we stayed there. The breakfast that was served was great. My favorites was the quiche and homemade oatmeal. The snacks were delicious! I will most definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemanueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a welcomed refuge to find so close to home! The Innkeepers, Debbie and Werner take great pride in the service and atmosphere found at Swiss Woods.
Upon arriving at the inn, we were greeted by our new friends, couples whom we've never met yet seemed like we knew all our lives. This place just breaks down your inhibitions.
We rented the Matterhorn suite and found it impeccably clean, well apointed and charmingly decorated.
There are so many positive things to say about this place that ultimately it is something that one must experience themselves. You will not be disappointed. If you ever dreamed of visiting a quaint Swiss cottage or mountain villa, this is the ticket! We stayed in February and I can't wait to visit when Werner's beautiful horticultural prowess really shines. I found this gentleman to be a very humble and engaging person with the greenest thumb in PA. Debbie was a very calming and friendly woman. Her attention to the quality and comfort of your stay is evidently paramount in her eyes.
The surrounding area has more things to do than you can fit into a weekend (we tried). The included breakfasts are something to be experienced for yourself, incredibly delicious and beautifully presented. Trust me folks, this one is a keeper.
Did I mention the chocolate biscotti? Super yummy!
H. Deal

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad view to be found.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lititz
2.7 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
69 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites/Lititz
9.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
170 reviews
3.8 mi away
Alden House Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Woods

Address: 500 Blantz Rd, Lititz, PA 17543-9464
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range: $181 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the woods overlooking Speedwell Forge Lake, Swiss Woods is a quiet retreat in northern Lancaster County on the edge of the quaint town of Lititz. Featuring incredible gardens, comfortable rooms with queen or king (suite) beds, fantastic food, and a focus on genuine hospitality, Swiss Woods mission is to create a memorable guest experience. Convenient to PA Dutch Country as well as Hershey the inn is central to farmers markets, the Amish community, PA Renaissance Faire, Middle Creek Wildlife Preserve and the PA Wolf Sanctuary. Afternoon pastries, a well stocked guest refrigerator and the inns well known biscotti are there for our guests. Foodies enjoy the exceptional breakfasts using local foods often grown on the grounds or close by. 10 hives of bees add to our well rounded property which has been designated a Certified Wildlife Habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Woods Hotel Lititz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing