We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner food at it's best”
Review of Ruthies Diner

Ruthies Diner
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
252 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Diner food at it's best”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Homecooked fare at 1970's prices. Soups, especially the bean and chicken.. are as good as my mom's. The desserts are to die for. Fish sandwich really tasty and the best breakfast for the $$.

Service terrific ...

Atmosphere a bit dated but that's what makes it a 'must stop' when passing thru Ligonier.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    46
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Diner/ Comfort food”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Frank Lloyd Wight's Falling Water home. There were 4 of us 2 adults & 2 boys. It was 10:30 in the morning I had had small breakfast at hotel so I ordered the Clam chowder was good, my son ordered the new York steak breakfast 8oz steak 3 scrambled eggs 2 pieces of toast, and 2 big squares of hash browns cost 7.95. Mt friends son did cup of chowder, and my friend ordered the roast beef dinner huge portion came with salad, bread, mashed potatoes, vegetable, and home made bread. The 4 of us got out of there for $30. Not a fancy place the food was good and staff very pleasant. But it is CASH only.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the local favorites”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place has been around for a long time. It is good for a cheap breakfast. The lunches and dinners are ok. Prices are more than fair. This seems to be a place the older generation likes the most. This place is also cash only. I eat here a few time a month...breakfsat only.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Ruthies is a great little diner type restaurant with yummy comfort food. With very cheap prices and good service, this little place is a nice spot to stop for brunch or for a meal after a fun day of swimming at Ligonier Beach. One thing you do need to be aware of is that Ruthies is CASH ONLY!!!! So take a twenty or two when you go with the family or some fives if you're alone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bana-phrionnsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Local Diner”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The food, portions, and prices are great. The waitress was more than helpful and fast. I will definately go back. The restaurant itself is "just" a diner but a great place to stop while visiting the Laurel Highlands..

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank game227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruthies Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing