We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosalie Little italy jioios

Rosalie Little italy jioios
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We wandered into Jioios a couple of years ago and ordered the pizza special of the day, and we liked it so much that it's become a yearly stop on our annual trip to the Ligonier Valley. The crust is very unusual--almost sweet--unlike any we've had. Incorporating the daily special into our meal keeps it reasonable, and we've enjoyed it the 4 or 5 times we've been there. We haven't tried the pastas, but after seeing the other reviews, I'll be sure to sample some next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HedwardsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
338 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We tried the pizza based on the great reviews and it was pretty good - especially for a small town. Not the best pizza I have ever had by far but a good meal. Family size salads were helpful for our large group. Everyone was happy with the meal. The inside consists of 2 small rooms but there is also a small outside eating area out front that seemed pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casual Italian fare - interesting pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a small, family run, casual Italian restaurant that serves huge portions of pasta (spaghetti with red sauce, stuffed shells, gnocchi, lasagne,etc.) and classics like Chicken Parmesan, which I ordered on my first visit. It was very tasty, and the portion size was so copious, I shared it with my fellow diner. On my most recent visit, I tried the pizza. It had been described in other reviews as thin crust, which is true, but not at all the typical thin crust I was expecting. It is more of a flaky, rich crust, almost like a puff pastry crust, and is actually made in a square pan. The red sauce was sweet. My dining companion LOVED it. I found the combination of sweet red sauce with the crust to be a bit too rich for me. I might try the white pizza next time to see if I like this better with the unique crust. They also offer a pierogi pizza, which sounds like something I'd want to try a taste of, but I don't think I could commit to a whole pie of it! The atmosphere is very casual and homey and the service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saavychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal;PA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Girls Birthday get Together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very small little Italian restaurant with awesome food. You can BYOB and there is no charge for corking or wine glasses. If you order a sampler platter be prepared to have enough to take home for another meal. Prices are ridiculously low for the qulaity and quantity of food

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Darcher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

the best pizza in the state. the food is delicious the atmosphere is wonderful in a colonial neighborhood the restaurant has home feeling . If you want to experience eating an Italian village this is the place

Helpful?
Thank Darcher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie Little italy jioios also viewed

 

Been to Rosalie Little italy jioios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing