We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!!!!!!”

The Kitchen on Main
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open floor plan including kitchen - watch as chefs prepare your meal.Some booths for a more private experience as well as outside dining. BYOB
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A friend of mine treated me to lunch here for my Birthday. After just coming back from vacation I have eaten out ALOT but Kitchen on Main one of the BEST meals I have ever had!! Salad was absolutely divine! The combination of the arugula and beets with the goat cheese made my mouth water with every bite! Great ambiance and super service to boot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    39
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Favorite breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding and unique breakfast and brunch items. Top notch cup of coffee!! Great place for kids, staff is always very accommodating. If you're going to Idlewild with the family this is a great place to start your day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Kitchen on Main is truly a gourmet experience. I went on a Sunday for the brunch menu, which did not disappoint. They offer three options of eggs Benedict-- traditional, crab and the farmer (vegetarian). I had the farmer's option, and it was excellent. The home fries are not what you would expect but a much more delicious gourmet interpretation. And the atmosphere (refreshingly modern against the traditional backdrop of Ligonier) and service were excellent. The only problem is they have some strange rules, such as not serving pancakes after 11am on Sundays. How can a restaurant serve a brunch menu but make the pancakes off limits? My suggestion if the issue is with limited griddle space is to serve only brunch on Sundays to make room for the pancakes. Otherwise, a good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiBound1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown,Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum-tastic”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Kitchen on Main is a diner's delight. While not large in size it is a huge hit with folks who want a tasty meal prepared with flare. Friends of mine have enjoyed breakfast there a number of times. My experiences have been at dinner and I have not been disappointed yet. The menu is short with one or two unique soup/salad options and several light items. There are under a dozen full-on entrees;seafood/lamb/steak/pork were all on the menu recently. Starch and vegetable choices are original and fresh. Desserts are to die for. It's BYOB for beverages. Pricing is moderate to a bit higher by local standards but not outragious considering the quality of the meals. Atmosphere is pleasant and waitstaff professional. The restaurant is located within walking distance of shops great for browsing and historic Fort Ligonier. The Kitchen is a great spot to start off the day or end it with a feast. Check their website for menu updates. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkville, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food ok”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent the weekend at the in laws. Thought we would try this place again for lunch. Food was just ok. Its plated nice. Service was slow. They have adjusted prices and menu since first opening. Of the four meals two were good and two were ok. Its just not my kind of place...feels a little pretentious. It fits well in Ligonier and many local like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen on Main also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing