We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast and Lunch can't be beat”

The Kitchen on Main
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open floor plan including kitchen - watch as chefs prepare your meal.Some booths for a more private experience as well as outside dining. BYOB
Donegal;PA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Lunch can't be beat”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A spinoff restaurant from Out of the Fire Cafe in Donegal. Wonderful breakfasts and lunches. The omelets and eggs benedict (many varieties) are suberb. The salads, wraps,a dn sandwiches are all delicious and served so creatively. Heard a rumor they will be opening for dinner soon. Can't wait!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    39
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is new to the area. It has nice decor. Its clean and has an artsy feel. The breakfasts and lunch I had were adverage to good. The prices are extreme for the area. More " big city prices". I could have 2.5 full brakfasts at other places in town for the price of one here. The hamburgers are over 10 dollars unless you want "American Kobe" then they are over 16. The service is hit or miss. Cash only! For me this is a once a month kind of place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ligonier”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in Ligonier for a week and wish I had heard about this excellent little place in the beginning. My last morning there I was very glad to find it. Good restaurant choices in Ligonier are limited, and I very much hope The Kitchen makes it. The inside is inviting, bright, and clean. Great variety of menu choices - I included a photo of the breakfast menu. I had the "Farmer's" Eggs Benedict - delicious (see photo)! And the breakfast potatoes were some of the best I have EVER eaten anywhere. Actually having something with avocado and asparagus and potatoes made me feel healthy. Service was good/friendly. Be warned that they only take cash - that would be my only complaint - they should take cards. Yes, there is an ATM right across the street, but you have to pay a fee to get your own money out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Flavorful food, good service. Great breakfast! You can even watch them cook! The atmosphere is nice but it can get crowded for lunch. The menu is a little limited but you really can't make a wrong choice. Delicious all around!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taylor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Simply fabulous!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I travel frequently for work and, as a result, end up eating in a LOT of restaurants throughout the country; I must say that The Kitchen on Main is one of the finest eateries I've ever encountered! Great care has been taken to ensure that every patron is treated to a dining experience he or she will not soon forget. The decor is simultaneously sleek and inviting--contemporary and cozy. The food is thoughtfully prepared, utterly delicious and plentiful in nature. The servers are attentive and superbly trained.If you're someone who is interested in the origin of the food you consume, you'll appreciate the "farm-to-table" mentality of this restaurant--even the jams are locally made. (The orange carrot cake variety is heavenly). Many smaller, newly established restaurants operate on a cash-only basis at the outset of their venture; this is not an unusual situation, and, as another reviewer noted, diners are forewarned at every possible turn. With the prices being utterly reasonable, I don't view the cash-only requirement as a problem. I envision a VERY bright future for this wonderful eatery, and I encourage everyone to visit--frequently!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OpheliaLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen on Main also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing