We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip.”
Review of Fort Ligonier

Fort Ligonier
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice day trip.”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

If you're into history you'll enjoy this. Even nice for kids bc they have teepees and cottages set up just like back in the day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amberwestonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    51
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
greensburg, pa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed when visiting Fort Ligonier”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I last visited the Fort Ligonier in the late 1990's and it was a nice little regional museum and it was enjoyable then. They did major renovations to the museum and it is FANTASTIC!! The way they present the history of the French and Indian War is superb!! And the artifacts in the displays are amazing.
Like a previous reviewer mentioned be prepared to spend well over two hours touring the facility. The fort buildings has not changed their life-size figurines depicting life during the time the British occupied the fort since I was a child, but that is fine with me...I loved it just the same and it brought back wonderful memories!!
The fort is also open during Fort Ligonier Days, when they have re-enactments of the Battle of Fort Ligonier as well as artlilary demonstration. If you want to take your time and see everything this wonderful museum has to offer, then avoid visiting the Fort during this weekend, unless you wish to take in the re-enactment and artiliary demonstrations.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Things aren't always as they seem”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the road as you drive past Fort Ligonier, it looks like a very small fort, not much to it one thinks. You go into the museum and pay $8.00 which is very reasonable, especially when you realize it is filled with so much interesting history. I'm a history buff and I learned so much! The AAA tour book says to allow one hour minimum. If you are interested in history, I would say allow at least 2 1/2 hours overall. When you leave the museum and go out into the fort area, what a surprise! It is quite large, you just can't see it from the road at all! It was a VERY hot day, there are restrooms, a water fountain and a soda machine at the top of the hill. It is a lot of walking, anyone with heart problems, bad knees, etc. will want to take it slow, but it is WELL worth the effort to view all the buildings. . A very nice educational experience, which again, I highly recommend. Also, the ride to Ligonier is a very beautiful drive. And Fort Ligonier has so much more to it than Fort Necessity. There is no Fort at Fort Necessity, just a museum and some monuments.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank momincentralPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring the French & Indian War to life with a visit to Fort Ligonier!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family visited Fort Ligonier on a hot summer Saturday. They were having special events, including a French and Indian War battle reenactment and encampment, which added to the experience for us. However, even without the reenactors (who were very interactive), the fort and museum were awesome. The fort complex includes barracks, armory, "hospitals", blacksmith shop, officers' quarters, commissary, and more. My sons were really interested in the military history and cannons and retrenchments. I was fascinated by the museum's extensive exhibit on the "big picture" of the Seven Year's War, of which the French and Indian War was only the North American piece. I had never connected Prussia, India, and Poland to Ligonier before! The whole experience really brought this part of history alive for all of us. I'd highly recommend it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissvaleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Nice museum. My husband is British and really enjoyed it so he was able to fill in a lot of details about Sir John (Jean) Ligonier that the museum didn't provide.

The reconstructed buildings were amazing. The carts and wagons, canons were very well constructed. I would imagine the Fort Ligonier Days would be a real treat.

Walking distance to Main Street, Ligonier, so leave the car at the Fort (free parking) and walk into town for lunch.

The drive from Pittsburgh is very scenic especially at this time of year.

Helpful?
Thank DualCitizenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ligonier also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ligonier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing