We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families headed to Idlewild - don't expect frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Ligonier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Ligonier
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ligonier
Red Bank, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for families headed to Idlewild - don't expect frills”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The hotel is situated right in the lovely town of Ligonier, and is less than 5 minutes from Idlewild & Soakzone. They have free Wi-Fi and a decent little restaurant and a bar with very limited beer selections. Our room was pretty clean but very worn. The furniture and such showed its age. If you are there for Idlewild, you can overlook this sort of thing. TV channels are limited. Overall, this is an average hotel in a quaint town. They have an above average staff and they are a few minutes from one of the best family amusement parks in the world. I recommend the Ramada as a very good choice for families headed to the park, but go in with expectations set properly.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coalporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    220
    133
    54
    25
See reviews for
274
149
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Idlewild Park with our 2 young boys and the grandparents. Location is very convenient -- 5 minute drive to Idlewild and walking distance to the town square which was very cute (nice shops!). The outside and lobby areas of the hotel are dated and a bit dark but clean. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. We had 2 adjoining rooms close to the pool which was great for the kids. Service throughout the hotel was very accommodating, although the restaurant breakfast was a bit slow. We didn't buy the "park package" because we had discount coupons for the park. Overall, a good value, great location and a fun experience! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamasBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Best thing about the Ramada Ligonier is the very friendly staff. Hotel is a basic place, is one other hotel in Ligonier (ABC Motel on Rt 30) that I don't know anything about, plus at least one B&B. I had a real small room that was clean, decent flat screen tv, good bed, bathroom was fine. Had an iron & board. Worst aspect was the room doors slam loudly, so when someone comes in after you've gone to sleep, they wake you up. I could also hear my neighbor talking and his tv through an inter-room door, so soundproofing wasn't at all good. I literally wore ear plugs to sleep each night. Oh, and though the restaurant was ok when I first arrived on the weekend, it was closed the whole week I was there, maybe because it was before Memorial Day. Decent restaurants in the area are Gino's Pizza across the street from Giant Eagle, the Darlington Inn near Idlewild, and Casa Chapala just north of the town center traffic circle. Is also a Subway there. Diamond Cafe on the traffic circle next to the church was great for breakfasts. Ramada's continental breakfast I didn't use - took one look and found the much better Diamond Cafe. So if you're going to Ligonier, bring your ear plugs and you'll be fine! :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Have frequently visited this hotel and their staff always goes the extra mile to accommodate our needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable, front desk staff is friendly, and the food is great! Last fall, when we needed several rooms at the last minute for family and friends, the Ligonier Ramada staff took special effort to take care of us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbantraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I visited this hotel when skiing at Seven Springs with my family. I was just a little bit further from the interstate, but well worth the extra 10 minutes. We loved the town, very charming with great shops. Our room was very nice and extremely clean. We splurged on the larger room and it was well worth it. It was nice to have the extra space with kids. The staff was was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent! There are several other restaurants in town but we were very glad we ate at the hotel. Our server was very good and our dinner was outstanding. We will definately be back this summer to visit Idlewild Park

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel before and it was average, this time we splurged on a suite 505.. Overall, its a great suite, minus some poor housekeeping (profolatic wrapper on bathroom floor) not well stocked with towels. Closet was messy with dirty towels. Heating vent pulled smoke from outside smokers into our room.disgusting! However, food was excellent, bartender/waitress was outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whenn617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My son and I made a ski trip to Seven Springs, we wanted a clean quiet hotel. We've tried some of the motels closer to the slopes in the past quiet and clean were not to be found. Ligonier is away from the turnpike but close enough to the slopes. Pay the extra ten bucks for the larger room you won't regret it. There are good reasonable restaurants nearby. I saved over a hundred and forty a night by staying here rather than at the Seven Springs lodge (including lift tickets).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Trooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligonier
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
386 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#5 of 7 in Johnstown
113 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 7 in Johnstown
99 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
20.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ligonier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ligonier

Property: Ramada Ligonier
Address: 216 West Loyalhanna St., Ligonier, PA 15658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Ligonier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ligonier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ligonier 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Ligonier is a full service hotel located in the heart of historic Ligonier in the Laurel Highlands of southwestern PA. The Ramada offers a complete smoke free hotel, beautiful guest rooms and suites, free hot breakfast daily, the Bistro restaurant and bar, fitness room, outdoor pool, guest laundry, and meeting and banquet facilities.The Ramada is walking distance to over 60 specialty shops in town and close to many of the area's best attractions including Idlewild & SoakZone, Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, Fort Ligonier, Seven Springs Mountain Resort, & Flight 93 National Memorial. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Ligonier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn At Historic Ligonier Hotel Ligonier
Ramada Inn Ligonier
Ligonier Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing