We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOST A GOOD CUSTOMER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lehighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My daughter and I checked in on August 26th and were to check out on the 28th until we received an email from the City Manager of the town we live in that due to HURRICANE IRENE HE CALLED FOR MANDATORY EVACUATION therefore we needed to go home to pack up our belongings and prepare our house and get out of harms way a day earlier than our check out date. The cold hearted manager would not refund me my money because we booked as a special. I have stayed here since they opened and will never return again nor will any friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Cindyg432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

We are sorry you feel that way, unfortunately the summer promotion does not enable the hotel to refund any money since it is a prepaid rate...after looking into your comment further we did see where your case was specifically addressed and our hotel did offer a gift certificate for return stay since you are a repeat customer, we apologize that you declined this offer and we wish you only the best of luck in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 521 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I went on an impromptu drive in the poconos and found this Country Inn on our way. From the outside it looked very nice and for the outrageiously high price we thought we had found the perfect place expecially since we didnt have a reservation and we had taken the last room. The clerks were very knowledgeable/helpful about the area. Once we were in the hallway we were staying in we began being VERY disappointed. The hallway smelled like urine TERRIBLY. The clerk at the desk said we were purchasing a queen suite when actually we were staying in a 2 double. The bathroom had hair in the tub and on the floor. We had a long day so we decided to go to the pool. The chlorine fumes were so strong my husband had an asthma attack and my eyes started to water and turn red and we had to leave the pool area before we had even gottn wet. They only have one ice machine which is on the lobby floor and we had to wait in line to fill our bucket. The breakfast they offered was the same old same old but the area was clean....some of the dishes and coffee cups were dirty/stained but the area was clean and the front porch is very cute.
All and all we dont feel we got our monies worth and we feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyQ823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

I am so sorry for your disappointment with your stay. I have looked at all past records and not one of the comments that you mentioned were alerted to any one of the front desk staff or a member of management so if you would please call us we would love to try to correct these errors but again I am not sure why you didn't mention not one of these issues to anyone one on-site so that we could have tried to satisfy you and make your stay more enjoyable. I am once regret that your stay with us was not up to your standards, something we strive very hard to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I am fast becoming a fan of the Country Inn and Suites brand by Carlson. I have stayed in several in all parts of the East and have never had a bad experience. This stay was no exception. After checking several types of accommodations in the Pocono Mountain region from lodges to hotels to vacation rentals, I found this hotel to be the perfect choice. It was reasonably priced (for the area during peak season) with all the amenities we needed (indoor swimming pool, complimentary full breakfast). We spent several very pleasant nights here. It is very convenient to the Pennsylvania Turnpike and the quaint little town of Jim Thorpe.
There were only a few cons about this stay. Getting in and out of the motel by car is pretty awkward. (The hotel staff told us a more "convenient"
way, but it is by a gravel road under a bridge right by a river. It would be really easy to wind up in the river--especially in the dark!) I would much rather take the long way, by turning around and coming in the regular way.
The other thing I'm not sure about is why some Country Inn and Suites (including this one) have gone to regular china and silverware for breakfast. Some of it is the "go green" thing, but I'm not sure that the water used in washing all this stuff is that much of a savings and I wonder how much breakage is going to occur. (There was one bratty child at breakfast one morning and I feared for the china. Then again, I'm an adult and not good in the mornings, so I'm just as likely to do the damage.) One can always ask for paper plates and plastic silverware, but I didn't want to take the time to do that. All in all, however, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words we pride ourselves in being part of such a wonderful brand whom is getting more and more exposure! We are aware of our awkward entrance if you are coming from 209 South; we have been struggling with the borough since we have been open in 2004 to complete this project. But you are absolutely correct Country Inn & Suites has been trying very hard to help the environment and worldly causes through our WE CARE corporate-ran campaigns. I do realize your concern about breakage but I guarantee you our chinaware is very sturdy…at a recent trade-show a woman took a nail and started hammering a piece of our level of china and it didn’t even chip! Again thank you for your comments and we hope you continue to use the Carlson brand hotel chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel has a lot going for it: Our rooms were large, clean and well maintained with comfortable beds and clean, functional bathrooms. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Check-in went smoothly, our room requests were honored, our tourism questions answered. The breakfast room has seating for everyone, the food is generous and perfectly edible, though as is always the case with breakfast-included hotels there were way too many packaged pastries and very little fruit or greens. Good coffee. There is a cosy lobby, some outside seating, a small indoor pool and a very basic workout rooom. There are free videos to borrow for the kids. The clientele is largely families with children.
The only downside, and this is a big one for light sleepers like me: Noise all night long. For starters the hotel is located literally within a highway cloverleaf. The highway is no more than a hundred feet away from any side of the hotel and trucks roar by unendingly. Then, the building is poorly insulated against noise; we could hear the family above us (who seemed to be practicing on the pogo stick till midnight) and even the one below us (TV turned to 11). Not to mention the door slammers and hall racers. If you are a sound sleeper, none of this will matter to you and the hotel is a great bargain. If you're a light sleeper, keep looking.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank barbwire1112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for all your kind words, we are grateful to have guests like you whom write honest reviews. We do apologize that your sleep was interupted at our location, we never can tell which guests will be noisy to other guests during nighttime hours and we try our best to address these louder guests and keep the noise to a minimum. As well as our location, some guests appreciate that we are conveniently located on PA 476/turnpike, we really do not get too many complaints about the noise, as the owner is a construction company owner whom built the hotel with his own hands taking in consideration of the loud toll booths, but we understand a light sleeper may find these noises irritable and we whole-hardheartedly apologize for your disturbance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

From the moment we arrived we found the service to be excellent. We had booked online and there were only smoking rooms available. Upon arrival we asked if there were by chance any non-smoking rooms and were accommodated with a smile. Later we were advised that there had been an error and that they had overbooked the non-smoking room for the following night. Although we had to change room they upgraded us to a non-smoking suite instead!
Both rooms were very clean. The breakfast area was wonderful. A great selection and the attendants were very helpful and again kept everything clean.
We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or gym but saw others indulging and having a wonderful time. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perrotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words, booking online is always something we do not recommend, but if we can fix their mistakes or make you stay better we will absolutely try our best to accommodate what your party is really looking for in our hotel. I am glad to hear of your plans to return, we will be delighted to have you stay with us!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Lesher
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We booked here because of it's proximity to Penn's Peak. The front desk staff were so nice. They upgraded us to a whirlpool suite without asking! I'm sure if we needed anything we could have asked and it would have been granted!
By the way, it was our first time at Penn's Peak, concert venue, and wow what a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the concert. Penn's Peak is a great place! It was absolutely our pleasure to upgrade you, free of charge, to our romantic whirlpool suite...we like to do those type of things for our guests as often as we can. Hope your travels returns you back to Lehighton PA and Country Inn & Suites

Best Wishes,
Jennifer Lesher
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our teenagers and another family, also with teenagers. Our visit was to the Blue Mountain Ski area and this seemed like the closest nice hotel. The hotel has a small fitness center and an indoor pool (which was great for the teenagers).

The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our rooms were nice size and very clean. The hotel is right off the highway, but we were not bothered by any road noise. Overall, the hotel is nice and in a good location.

The distance from the ski area was a little longer than we expected, but in traveling back and forth, I only saw one other hotel (a Hampton Inn), and it was not any closer. This hotel does offer the ability to purchase Blue Mountain passes, so that was nice.

Upon returning in the evening, the front desk clerk was able to provide menu's for local food delivery places.

The continental breakfast the following morning was delicious and much better than most hotels offer. The lady who keeps the breakfast foods flowing did a fantastic job.

Overall, this hotel was a really nice experience and we will stay here again during our ski trips to Blue Mountain.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank TCBfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilovecountry, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and for staying with us. We pride ourselves with friendly front desk staff and breakfast attendants and it is always nice to know we are taking care of our friends. We hope you can come back soon, even if not to ski we are very close to whitewater rafting for summer trips. Enjoy the rest of your snowy season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lehighton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
24.3 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,488 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
64 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
180 reviews
21.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe

Address: 1619 Interchange Rd, Lehighton, PA 18235-9407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lehighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lehighton
Price Range: $98 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Lehighton
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton Hotel Lehighton
Country Inn Lehighton
Lehighton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing