We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dinner”
Review of Blue Bird Inn

Blue Bird Inn
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Harrisburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I reviewed this restaurant back in May after having a wonderful lunch. I decided to review it again after having a very different experience for dinner a month later. We arrived at about 8:30 on a Saturday evening. We waited for about 20 minutes for a table which wasn't a big deal for a Saturday night. We got to the table and that's where the problems started. We were out on the deck. The bar is very well lit - the tables are not. We were a party of 4 and all 4 of us had to get our cell phones out to be able to read the menus. There should have been a candle on the table or something. It was ridiculous. I even asked the waitress for a candle for the table so that when our food came we could see what we were eating, but she said that was not possible. The food was good. Just like our previous experience. But unlike our first experience the service was extremely slow. There was at least one time during the evening that we were sitting there with empty drinks and it took a while for our server to check on us with refills. I was very disappointed in the evening, especially since it was our friends' first visit there. Needless to say, they will probably not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrowDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    127
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A must stop and eat restuarant while on your trip”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am here at least once a month for the bangers and mash. There is nowhere around here that compares to what this place serves. There is a huge bar and along with flat screen TV's for you sport lovers like me. The restaurant is very family friendly and the patio is perfect for the warmer seasons.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirby327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed at one of our favorite places”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The property is beautiful. We have gone here for years. On this Sunday the restaurant was understaffed and very busy. Order for burgers took over an hour to receive, food was dry. Our server was tending to tables in the bar, the main dining room and the outside patio. Though pleasant, she had no chance of covering this large of an area. Hoping that this poor scheduling of servers was an anomoly and not a change in management.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mother's Day”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I usually like the Blue Bird Inn; however, on Mother's Day we were told we would have a 20 minute wait. After an hour I asked how long until we were seated and the rude hostess informed me it would be another 10 minutes or so, which was the original wait time. We left and I don't know when we will return. Moral of this story, either don't go on special days or have reservations early in the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liket0eat0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pleased with the specials”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place has some really nice specials. Wednesday is steak night, where most steaks are reduced. It was so good we went back on Thursday and I had the wings and ribs. They were excellent and priced so low I was tempted to order 2 so I could take one back for lunch on Friday. I will definitely go back the next time I find myself in Lebanon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bird Inn also viewed

 
Mount Gretna, Lancaster County
 

Been to Blue Bird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing