We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a wedding reception!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although, we did not stay over night, we did attend grandson's wedding reception here in October. We thought it was absolutely great! The reception hall was beautifully decorated; the staff was very pleasant and courteous; the dinner was great; being smokers we did not have to walk far too the outdoor smoking area/patio on the west side of the building. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A beautiful place to celebrate such a special occasion!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent event held at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. We are pleased you enjoyed the wedding reception and we are grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel. We are pleased that you recognized the efforts of our staff to deliver a positive experience for you, our guests, no matter what the event may be.

Look forward to assisting you with your next special event.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    136
    157
    178
    236
See reviews for
294
137
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The staff was absolutely wonderful at this hotel! They have a lot of great things to do like, stiches comedy club, golf, pool, even miniture golf for the kids. The rooms themselves aren't in very good shape though. The shower heads are all caked up and have barely any water flow coming out of them. The bathrooms just seemed dirty from all the caked up mildew in the cracks and around the handles. They beds seemed small for doubles and they weren't very comfortable at all. The blankets were very itchy as well. I was also disappointed when I learned there was no hot tub at the hotel. They have an indoor and outdoor pool but have no hot tub. We would never pay to stay there again unless they do some renovations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Did you receive the email I sent to you through TripAdvisor? I wanted to gain additional information relative to the validity of certain issues you cited in your review. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com so I may learn more of the details as reported in your review.

Please accept my sincere apology that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

As many other reviews indicate the Lancaster Host is great place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area.Hopefully you can visit again sometime in the future and see the results of our continuous improvement plans.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was there for a conference with my husband. The worst place ever. Our room and the entire wing we where on smelled like pee. No heat the first night and it didn't get any warmer the other two nights we where there. The bathroom needs redoing. Our room was across from the maids head quarters. They where very noisy. The best part was the walking trail around the golf course. Also they made the conference end early on the last day so they could clean the rooms and we where told 10 minutes before we had to check out. The hotel has a lot of potential very sad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced, we have investigated and resolved them accordingly.

As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.

As the majority of our reviews indicate, the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area due to its central location among many local attractions and its unique family amenities.

As for the ten minute notice to vacate the property, please contact the group leader/coordinator for a complete explanation as the statement written in your review is not accurate. Check out time is 11:00am unless special arrangements are made in advance.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week during an event at the hotel and expo center. We were very disappointed in the lack of quality and poor accommodations. Our room had old and dirty carpet, the sink and tub were cracked in many places, the a/c vent was full of dust, tv is a tube not flat screen with very limited channels. The toilet overflowed(it was fixed promptly) then there was no hot water then our toilet started leaking at the base and we had to use towels to keep the floor dry for 2 days. There also was a major water leak on 2 floors that required relocation of guests to another hotel.
There is a major lack of handicap accessibility to rooms,etc. there is a dumb waiter for wheelchairs but it was too small for our average sized scooter. The elevator barely accommodated the scooter as well. The front lobby handicap ramp is diffuse to navigate with a scooter.
The adjacent expo center is within walking distance but not completely covered should there be inclement weather.
The front desk staff and gentleman that fixed the toilet were very courteous and friendly.
Will not stay here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gabygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.
The hotel did experience a water main break on the 500’s level hallway; we relocated affected guests to other rooms within the hotel and compensated them for any inconvenience. The water leak was repaired on same day and hotel removed/replaced any affected drywall or carpet.
Results from our guest survey, conducted by an independent third party indicate that over 82% of our guests enjoyed their stay at the Lancaster Host. In conjunction with our positive reviews on this website indicates the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area.
Thank you for your patronage and your feedback.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a quick trip to Lancaster and decided to give the Host a try despite the poor reviews.

On the good side: the room was low priced, the location was close to shopping, there is a game room in the hotel, our room had a balcony to get fresh air and the room was clean.

On the bad side: Our hotel room fixtures have passed their time and need lots of TLC. Our bathroom sink had white paint applied around its rim and it looked ridiculous with the chipping and shabby look. The room had an over-all look of wear-and-tear and I really was sorry I stayed despite the low price.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davidaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback. We agree with many of your statements relative to the need for additional renovations. The corporate team and hotel management is committed to making the necessary improvements. We are completing renovations to areas of the hotel as time and funding allow, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like.

Thank you for choosing the Host, we appreciate your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a group of 12 people traveling. The staff was great and very friendly and professional. This was also true of the people working with me in the office (before we arrived) as well - Kathy D. was awesome working through the various questions and planning. They had the rooms ready when we got there and they handled a minor glitch very quickly. I was afraid the rooms would look much different than the pictures on the website - so I was pleasantly surprised when the rooms were exactly as presented and were clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a good location and we were able to manuver around very well for our planned activities.

After a good night's sleep - we had a good breakfast the next morning. We plan to stay here next year as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your group enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was very disappointed with this hotel. Have always heard such great things about them. It was rundown, dirty and outdated. We had received a special rate for the room through Groupon. I am almost convinced that they have certain areas of the hotel for people who are not paying full price. Otherwise I can't imagine the good reviews. The room itself was quite large. The sofa was old and broken. The room temp was 78 degrees and the air conditioner did not work (per the front desk, the ac's had not yet been turned on to function...it was only March). Carpets were stained. The bed was fairly comfortable but the sheets were not good quality. Restaurant was ok, except my husband had to reorder his meal as they were out of soy sauce for what he had ordered. Would not recommend this hotel. We laugh about it now.. "remember that hotel we stayed at for our anniversary..." But was not funny at the time...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments.
We do not place Groupon patrons in less desirable areas of the hotel. Did you contact the Manager on Duty and request a change in room? He or she would have been pleased to accommodate you.
I did speak to you after the fact and sent you a complimentary gift certificate to stay at the hotel sometime in the future free of charge, you neglected to include that in your review.
As always, thank you for your patronage, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
1.1 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#23 of 39 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 39 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Property: Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2300 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing