We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooms dated, dirty and bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms dated, dirty and bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

While the hotel staff sought to accommodate and address the issues above it was certainly an uncomfortable experience. We were upgraded to an executive suite after our initial room was found in disrepair -soiled carpets, phone not working , refrigerator 25$ for stay was filthy and toilet was unclean, space heater in room. In the suite we found 3 live stink bugs ( identified as such by hotel staff) and about 10 dead ones along the drapery line ( there is no excuse for shoddy housecleaning especially when the staff is aware of this bug issue). There was a huge volleyball invitational and no vacancy anywhere or we would have relocated. The lobby while nice smelled of cigarette smoke upon entering. I don't recommend this hotel. Staff members, Yvette, Parish and Jessie did their best to assist but I do NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced. We have investigated and resolved them accordingly as best we can as submissions are anonymous in nature.

Although TripAdvisor is a wonderful tool, the scores and the hotel’s subsequent ranking are calculated based on reviews from only 390 guests over the past few years. The submitted reviews are not verified by TripAdvisor as the website is unregulated.

Last year over 70,000 guests stayed here with us at the Lancaster Host. Only 111 guests submitted reviews to TripAdvisor. Of these 111 reviews forty two (or 37%) were classified as “negative” leaving 63% of the reviews classified as either positive or neutral. Even though the majority of our reviews are positive, we continue to make strides on a daily basis to improve the guest experience here at the Lancaster Host.

To this end, last fall the hotel enlisted the services of an independent third party vendor who sends a questionnaire style survey to each guest, post check out, guest participation is optional.

To date with five times the number of total responses versus TripAdvisor, 81% of our guests reported an overall positive guest experience which is significantly higher than what is reflected on the TripAdvisor site. Furthermore each and every one of our guest responses have been verified and they were indeed a guest of the hotel.

As you can read, we value each and every one of our guests; if and when we make a mistake, we admit to it and if possible, take immediate corrective action to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Our goal is for our guests to have a positive experience, enjoy their stay here, and return again to the Host.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. If I may be of additional service, or if you have a question please feel free to contact me at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    135
    153
    176
    231
See reviews for
288
137
24
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orleans
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Every January we stay at the Host in Lancaster. The front desk is wonderful. They are so polite and sincere. The reception is always warm and refreshing. They truly care about their guests. My elderly friend appreciated the effort to offer a room near the elevator. It was so convenient and thoughtful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We brought our children and grandchildren to the hotel for a three day family reunion. Although the rooms, themselves, were just OK, the staff and overall facilities were great. There was a nice variety of food, and a lot of it, at breakfast. Due to dietary restrictions, we brought along our own food for dnner, which the staff willingly refrigerated and heated for us. We had dinners outside on the patio near the pool. We were able to use part of the conference center because it wasn't in use. There's a separate play room with slides and climbing equipment that our granchildren (age 4 and under) loved. The indoor pool was also a big hit. Being across the highway from Dutch Wonderland and a short drive to Cherry Crest Farms was really convenient. Our children and grandchildren would like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I just returned from a stay at this place...the last time was 35 years ago. It looks like nothing has changed. The white towels and sheets were worn, dingy and grey with age....and I refused to use the bedspread. The sink had rust and shower trickled out. The heater unit ran all night, loud and smelled.
I stayed on the ground level...it felt like and smelled like a basement. Damp, mildew, dank and dark.
I met a number of people who were from the local area attending a bridge tournament and they said "don't eat at the hotel".

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesM8057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

As many have said, this place is not a resort. I too, had to have a room changed because of dead flies and bugs everywhere! From the bed to the floor and even the tables were covered with them. The heat did not work at all and dust covered everything. I was moved to another room that was a bit better but staff seemed not surprised of my disgust of their room. I was here for a conference and was able to experience the food as well. The lack of clean items was apparent from the dirty dishes they were serving the breakfast buffet on to the unwashed coffee cups (4) at my table. The food was dry and looked gross.. I went home tired and hungry. The only good thing about this place was the location of the outlets, however, there are tons of hotels in the area. Do yourself a favor and pic a different place to stay even if your conference is here. I will NEVER stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlarkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the unique scenarios you experienced as described in your review.
As the majority of our reviews indicate, the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area; I am disappointed that our facility did not meet your expectations.
The management team has reviewed your comments and launched an investigation and will take appropriate actions as warranted. Did you receive the email I sent to you through TripAdvisor? I wanted to gain additional information relative to certain issues you cited in your review. If not, please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very clean! But old and needs some repairs in guest rooms. Peeling ceiling over shower. Noisy heater all night long. Needs more plugs for electronics.
Buffet breakfast is delicious and has a wonderful array of choices. Something for everyone.
The main lobby is beautifully decorated for Christmas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

i recently had the pleasure of attending a conference there with approximately 700 colleagues.the staff was very friendly,accomodating,patient,helpful and courteous. The place could use some updating but after all i wasn't staying at the trump tower.there was more than enough room for everything my group had going on.we were provided with a breakfast buffet on both days which was ABUNDANT.also there was a dinner buffety the first night with more than an ample amount of choices.the food was good, the service was pleasant,my room was clean and i didn't go broke going there.i will be looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 38 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
#24 of 38 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Property: Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2300 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing