We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Loudonville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Prior reviews were bad, and expected the worst. But the Hotel and our room was clean and neat, service was good, and the amenities were perfect for October. Nice running course around the golf course was very relaxing. Close to everything Amish, with a little Outlet shopping thrown in. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    137
    159
    181
    237
See reviews for
300
137
25
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had our reception at the Lancaster Host (about 85 people). My husband and I were thrilled with everything. The food was great, our reception room was set up perfectly and looked beatiful. The wedding coordinator Raquel Sanchez, went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and that every detail was taken care of. I can't express how wonderful it was to be able to sit back and just enjoy the reception, instead of worrying about how everything was going. We found the staff to be professional, kind and very willing to go above and beyond their usual duties. They were even very gracious about letting our reception run longer than orginally planned, as everyone was dancing and having a blast, thus causing the staff to have to say longer. They coudnt' have been nicer about it :) We would highly recommend The Host and Raquel if you are planning a reception. Plus out of town family could stay right at the hotel so no worries about drinking and driving. My new husband and I got a free room for the night too !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 because our convention was being held here. Our first inkling that the hotel wasn't doing maintenance was when we came in the back entrance (entrance G) was trying to climb the concrete steps--the edges where you step were worn away and had rebar showing through. I suppose the collection of orange and red safety cones on the steps may appease a safety inspector. I kept taking pictures of the new designs of the cones. The room was slightly better-the bathroom sink faucet wasn't fastened down and the shower head worked everywhere but where you expected it (yes, did report the bathroom items to the front desk who mentioned in passing that they thought that the faucet problem sounded familiar). They also appeared to have minimal staff working the breakfast buffet-I bussed my own table and got my own silverware setup on more than one of the three days we were there. We tried to catch a quick lunch during the convention but gave up when we couldn't get even our drink order before it was time to go back due to minimal staffing (there were a lot of empty tables so crowding wasn't the problem). Also saw holes in the ceiling of one of our convention meeting rooms. Other than the lack of facility maintenance and understaffing the convention space and rooms were OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is my experience that most venues do not want the business of Class Reunions-- they can't make the money on them like a wedding reception. Or they have outrageous room rentals, cash bar minimum sales requirements, and dinners start at very high prices. But, Raquel Sanchez and the Host were really good to work with. She accommodated my requests and helped me minimize the price as much as possible, without being "cheap". Raquel was good to work with, and the person name Karl, who was in charge of the Paradise Room the night of the reunion was very friendly, willing and helpful, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Attended a week long meeting in Lancaster PA at the Lancaster Resort. The conference facilities we good but the meals and room were certainly only adequate and over priced. If you have the opportunity attend the meeting but stay some place else

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently spent two evenings at this hotel to meet friends with a 2 year old for the Thomas the Tank Engine train ride in Strasburg. Thomas and the Strasburg adventure were wonderful; but the hotel is in really poor shape. Room was not clean; toilet "gurgled" and made other weird noises; we had to "body slam" the door to get it to shut, TV had horizional lines running through it constantly; bathroom faucet just spun around - - couldn't get it to stay on either hot or cold; computer systems were "down" when we checked in 9/20/12 - - am still waiting for my emailed invoice; I could go on and on, but I think you'll get the message. Please don't stay here! It's always a safety issue trying to pull out of this hotel onto busy route 30 - - very difficult to see traffic because of bushes and bend in the road.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyWilmington_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced. We have investigated and resolved them accordingly as best we can as submissions are anonymous in nature.

Although TripAdvisor is a wonderful tool, the scores and the hotel’s subsequent ranking are calculated based on reviews from only 390 guests over the past few years. The submitted reviews are not verified by TripAdvisor as the website is unregulated.

Last year over 70,000 guests stayed here with us at the Lancaster Host. Only 111 guests submitted reviews to TripAdvisor. Of these 111 reviews forty two (or 37%) were classified as “negative” leaving 63% of the reviews classified as either positive or neutral. Even though the majority of our reviews are positive, we continue to make strides on a daily basis to improve the guest experience here at the Lancaster Host.

To this end, last fall the hotel enlisted the services of an independent third party vendor who sends a questionnaire style survey to each guest, post check out, guest participation is optional. To date with five times the number of total responses versus TripAdvisor, 81% of our guests reported an overall positive guest experience which is significantly higher than what is reflected on the TripAdvisor site. Furthermore each and every one of our guest responses have been verified and they were indeed a guest of the hotel.

As you can read, we value each and every one of our guests; if and when we make a mistake, we admit to it and if possible, take immediate corrective action to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Our goal is for our guests to have a positive experience, enjoy their stay here, and return again to the Host.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. If I may be of additional service, or if you have a question please feel free to contact me at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We hold business meetings here every once in a while, and it is a crummy place. you walk in, the carpet is peeling, the lighting is poor...the conference rooms have stains on the floor and on the CHAIRS...not professional! they really need an update!
The sign is also hard to notice...i drove past twice! (this may be because of my blondeness, though! but i haven't done that EVER!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank thanniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced. We have investigated and resolved them accordingly as best we can as submissions are anonymous in nature.
Although TripAdvisor is a wonderful tool, the scores and the hotel’s subsequent ranking are calculated based on reviews from only 390 guests over the past few years. The submitted reviews are not verified by TripAdvisor as the website is unregulated.
Last year over 70,000 guests stayed here with us at the Lancaster Host. Only 111 guests submitted reviews to TripAdvisor. Of these 111 reviews forty two (or 37%) were classified as “negative” leaving 63% of the reviews classified as either positive or neutral. Even though the majority of our reviews are positive, we continue to make strides on a daily basis to improve the guest experience here at the Lancaster Host.
To this end, last fall the hotel enlisted the services of an independent third party vendor who sends a questionnaire style survey to each guest, post check out, guest participation is optional. To date with five times the number of total responses versus TripAdvisor, 81% of our guests reported an overall positive guest experience which is significantly higher than what is reflected on the TripAdvisor site. Furthermore each and every one of our guest responses have been verified and they were indeed a guest of the hotel.
As you can read, we value each and every one of our guests; if and when we make a mistake, we admit to it and if possible, take immediate corrective action to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Our goal is for our guests to have a positive experience, enjoy their stay here, and return again to the Host.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. If I may be of additional service, or if you have a question please feel free to contact me at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#26 of 39 in Lancaster
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Property: Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2300 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing