We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your $$$$$$$$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I will say that my kids, 9 and 11, loved the water park. Sadly, that's the only nice thing I can say... This place is a dump! The rooms are tired and ratty looking. The bathroom had the thinnest towels I had ever seen and cracked tiles everywhere. They obviously have decided to not put anything into this property. I called to the desk to ask about wireless, and I was told "I don't know." The pillow were thin and mushy. The heat/ac didn't work very well. All in all this place is a disaster...and an expensive one!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Omalley1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

The water park is really nice kids loved it as for the hotel it is a dump. It's an abandoned Howard Johnson's and I am not sure it's been updated since they owned it. Employees are dumpy looking with tattoo's at least hey are nice. Room really stinks and I have seen one cock roach so far. Won't return here

Room Tip: None stay some where else and just come here for the water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nck55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here two weeks ago for the waterpark. It was everything I expected. Our room was updated and the beds were comfy. Im funny about cleanliness of a place and this hotel was very very good about it. My son loved the waterpark. The dumping bucket was his favorite. The staff were very nice. They helped us find a restaurant. For us we didn't eat breakfast there. We went next door to dunkin donuts, which we knew we were gonna go there anyway when the girl told us they serve a small breakfast. I already knew when I booked this reservation it wasn't for a 5 star hotel. We went just for the waterpark and a bed to sleep in for 6 hours. All and all I had no complaints. The waterpark was clean. I didn't see any algae in there or I wouldn't have let my son play. Room was clean. There was no bugs or any sign of bugs. Staff was very nice and helpful both at the waterpark and the front desk. The hotel is dated on the outside and in the lobby but the waterpark and the room made up for everything.

Room Tip: Our room was near door c on the first floor and it was nice and quiet but yet close to the waterpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I'm also happy to hear that you and your family had a good time in the Caribbean Indoor Water Park. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property. We still have more planned for the future and some items that you mentioned will be addressed. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We paid $125 a night for filthy floors, moldy looking ceiling, sink counter falling apart, shower didn't work and my room smelt of cigarette smoke after spraying it with lysol twice. We were in the non smoking section of the hotel. If we ran the heater the smell was worse. We wanted to see what the water park had to offer, it's ok for younger kids. You could use the hot tub if you paid $12 more a day per person, and the pool had green slime on the bottom and it was in an open area that was cold. We were with friends and thier room was no better. I WOULD NOT ADVISE EVEN MY WORSE ENEMY TO STAY THERE...

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE!!!!! NO room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Where do I start there's the algae ridden pool the smelly rooms light switches that turn on and off on their own. Or do I start with the continental breakfast with 4ounce coffee cup the bagged danish that was so scarce you had to hope one would be there the second or third time you went back. That's if you'd be really interested. Please listen to the ratings others give its not worth the time . I thought it couldn't be that bad WOW WAS I WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The carribean water park isn't worth the price of admission or time either save your money for a real trip. One last thing there was no place to sit in our to play cards with friends and we asked to borrow 2 chairs from pool area and was told very angerly No absolutely stay away from this place

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have never stayed in a lower class hotel in all my life. My friends and I live nearby Lancaster so for my birthday we thought we would try a hotel nearby. Well of coarse we chose the one that had an "Indoor water park." First off we couldn't even find the place even though it is located right off of Route 30. The building does not even look like a hotel. It looks more like an outdated warehouse. When we got to our room it smelled awfully terrible. We tried the TV (Which is a 50 year old huge piece of junk). The screen was all salt and pepper and you could barely see anything. So we went to the front desk to get our room changed (the man at the front desk can barely speak English). The second room smelled a little better but overall it is a very low class room to begin with. The bathroom is so tiny you can only fit one person in at a time. There was only 2 flat pillows on each bed. They were so flat it was like having no pillow at all. So when we called the front desk and asked for additional pillows, they said that we would need to come all the way to the front desk to get them ourselves. This was extremely frustrating considering the fact that neither the hall ways nor the elevators have heat. So far our trip was not how we expected it and we were not impressed. So we didn't even try their breakfast. Overall I have never witnessed such a poor hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLM278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for the water park. Be prepared the hotel is an older hotel. The hotel rooms are outdated but I must say the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The water park was nice we came with 3 kids ages 5,6 and 8. We did't book enough in advance so they didn't have any suites available but the 2 queen bed room was large enough and they brought in a roll away bed for us. The kids had a good time in the water park though by mid afternoon it became very crowded and we decided to leave. I would recommend this hotel for a winter weekend getaway for the kids. It was nice to swim and play in the middle of winter.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I am also happy to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park. As you mentioned, the water park is a great winter get-a-way, but also remember, the water park is open year round. Our suites are very popular, so the next time you visit, be sure to book in advance. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#28 of 40 in Lancaster
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#24 of 40 in Lancaster
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#31 of 40 in Lancaster
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $203 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Lancaster
Howard Johnson Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lancaster Pa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing