We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The comfortable bed & cleanliness of the room was great, but better yet was the fact it was a quiet area & we were able to have a solid nights sleep. The one draw back was the fact that although the rooms have a sign on the doors saying 100% smoke free - people still smoked & the smell came into the hall. With the Inn having a water park - it is more suited to a family but the wing where we were, was perfect. Continental breakfast was small muffins & tea/coffee - fortunately, Dunkin Donuts is on the same lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 362 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was, by far, the worst hotel I've ever visited. From the time we arrived, till the day we left, this was a highly negative experience. The office staff was rude. They gave us misinformation. The hallways were hot and stuffy. The carpet was filthy. There were signs pointing to a free breakfast bar that were covered with masking tape. Our door lock broke so we had to change rooms. The only saving grace was the water park, which surprisingly was nice. It still wasn't worth it to stay here overnight.

Room Tip: Don't stay here overnight. Just visit the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Since we did not take a vacation this summer due to me working 3 different jobs, we decided to do a holiday getaway and visit Lancaster. We booked at the Budget Host Inn & Suites because we wanted the kids to go to the Caribbean Indoor Waterpark. We booked their Suite rooms which was beautiful ! The two room suite had two flat screen tvs, business desk, sofa bed, two queen beds, two separate bathrooms and sleeping spaces. It was just perfect for us. It also included passes to the waterpark, which was nice. Our stay was excellent and definately plan to go back over the Christmas break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm sorry, but there was NO way I was staying there just from the looks on the outside. To give them the benefit of the doubt I asked to see a room before booking. The smell was awful so I kindly walked across the parking lot to The Windgate which is a 10 compared to Budget Host. Spend the extra money for a peace of mind. All negative reviews are DEAD on!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifesabeachBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We go away to celebrate our kids' bdays every year, and because another hotel "lost" our reservation, I had to scramble to find another. We wound up getting a double room at the Budget Host inn. The "entrance", (I cannot consciously call it a lobby), is pretty simple as well as check-in. The little "breakfast stand" holds some tiny little muffins and you can have a cup of joe- that is the extent of the free breakfast. The room was a nice sized 2 queen bedroom, (we were 5 in total), and we were able to make a nice, comfy bed on the floor for my 13 yr old without worrying about stepping on him if someone woke up. The hotel DEFINITELY needs an updating and general overall maintenance, but it is "decently habitable". What made our stay quite enjoyable was the very nice-sized pool and the Carribean Waterpark that was right in the building. At 12 bucks a person, it was an all-day get-away for my kids. Goes without saying, they had a wonderful time! Actually planning to go back for winter break because of the indoor waterpark!Hope they freshen up a bit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hijomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a shame that owners won't update this hotel and make sure that it's clean to bring back previous customers. The location is great and the water park with pool was great. However, the hotel was smelly and outdated. The room was big but in a bad shape and looked pretty dirty. The fridge door was broken and it wouldn't stay on. We didn't have enough towels, no shampoo and the soap was smaller than a sugar pocket and didn't even lather. I got complimentary coffee in the am which was horrible, cold and I don't think the thermoses that it was stored in were washed good in awhile. The stuff at the front desk wasn't friendly either. Next time we'll stay at the Wyndham which wasn't much more and even includes continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaga E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our 2 time to Lancaster and our stay at the Budget Host Inn was wonderful. The hotel was clean and the front desk staff very friendly. Our room was very close to the exit door and the parking lot. The indoor pool was clean and very large. We noticed that since our last visit they have new furniture in the room. The big writting desk with a nice business chair was great for using our lap top. Also we noticed that the internet was much faster now than last time. This was truly our best stay !!!!!! Oh for got tha the Caribbean Indoor Waterpark was open on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. We did not use the waterpark since this was just my husband & I came for the Jonah sight and sound show. Frantastic show !!!!

Room Tip: Book the suite rooms on the 1st floor. Two separate rooms with two separate bathrooms and living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#25 of 40 in Lancaster
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#31 of 40 in Lancaster
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#27 of 40 in Lancaster
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#28 of 40 in Lancaster
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#17 of 40 in Lancaster
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $68 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Lancaster
Howard Johnson Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lancaster Pa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing