We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continental Inn review, Aug. 2014”
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Continental Inn
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Continental Inn review, Aug. 2014”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Continental Inn is a great place to stay in Lancaster PA. Rates are good for all the ammenities there. Free breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi and both an indoor & outdoor pool and spa. There is a small refrigerator in the room and a flat screen cable TV as well. The staff are friendly and our room was very clean. You are right in the heart of Lancaster, on RT. 30, next to the amusement park Dutch Wonderland. All the attractions & shopping are very close by. They have coupons & flyers for every attraction in the area and know the better places to visit, especailly the restaurants.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similiar, other than bed choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spammy0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    71
    52
    25
    46
See reviews for
120
33
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

As someone else stated you are paying for location. It is directly adjacent to Dutch Wonderland. You cannot possible stay any closer than if you pitched a tent in their parking lot. It is also smack in the middle of Rockvale and Tanger Outlets, and you will be amongst all the restaurants on E Lincoln Highway.

The grounds in the back(countryside) are kept immaculately. The playground and pools will keep your kids' attention for hours. There are a few patio tables with chairs and umbrellas scattered around. There is also a gazebo with a grill which they use certain days of the week for a pay BBQ for the guests. Outside the rooms is a bench. Right smack in front of this property is a Golden Corral which looks to be completed within a few months. If you stay street side this is what you will be looking at.

The rooms are OLD and need a desperate renovation. I stayed here with my family 30 years ago when I was a kid, and I swear 30 years later bringing my own child here it is the same furniture, drapes, bathtub, and tiles. The mattresses were decent, but the pillows a travesty. Bring your own! The rooms are kept as clean as possible I think when this is what they are working with. I'm not sure where 4 adults would keep all their clothes because there is only 1 dresser and 2 drawers under the flat screen tv. There is a small area next to the sink to hang belongings. Heat lamp in the bathroom. NO WHERE TO HANG WET BATHING SUITS. I saw 2 other rooms besides my own. They all look the same, and happy to say no odd smells. Clean carpets. Definite mold spots on the bathroom tiles and curtain.

The walls are thin and you can hear whatever people are doing or saying in the room behind yours, especially if you and they are near the sink. I would imagine during the busy season there would be a lot of noise by the playground. Staying up a level would not help. Also, no elevator for your bags.

The days I was here the breakfast was buffet with made to order omelet station. They changed the foods daily as you would expect between pancakes, French toast, bacon, sausage. I heard however that in the past they offered full wait service. Two adults get free breakfast included in the rate. It is $5 for kids. My son ate Cheerios everyday and that's what I paid, plus tip. Parties of 6 or more get gratuity included in bill at their designated percentage. The waitresses do come over with tea and coffee and whatever else you need. The lady that checks you in to breakfast is like the gestapo. Not getting passed her. In all you can't really complain about the breakfast.

The game rooms are a joke.

I have been to 2 other hotels directly in this vicinity that are more updated and clean. They both offer free breakfast. However, if you are traveling with kids, the playground is really why I'm giving the hotel 3 stars. I would possibly consider staying again, but if one of the other places added a playground like this one, I would go there first. If you are a person who "skeeves" how things become when they are old and not updated, I would not recommend staying here. If you can let certain things roll off your back, so to speak, then you're good to go. This is not a resort, so if you are not traveling with young kids, see my other hotel reviews for this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'm giving for this hotel bc thats what it deserves.

I have a 5yr old and a 17month old and they absolutely loved it!! The playground, pool and indoor game room located by front desk.

This is not a resort. So I don't know y other reviewers are acting like it should be...go stay at Eden resort if you want to pay top dollar and have that kind of service

The buffet was fine. Different things each of the 3 mornings I was there

This hotel is not fancy. The most modern thing in your room will be the flat screen tv. It's outdated but totally doable. There are no bedbugs. Your paying for location. You are directly in between tanger outlets and Rockvalle outlets. Next door to Dutch. If your not high maintenance it's worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melimess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I stay here every year only because its cheap and its located across the street from a convention I go to. The check in staff is not very helpful, can never change your room location, the place is very outdated even though it seems the rooms have been redone. The free breakfast buffet might be the only good thing they have. The air-conditioning in my room was not very accurate with the Temp it showed on the unit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank doug6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We found this gem after arriving and finding that Red Roof had cancelled our reservations for 2 rooms for 2 days. They gave us adjoining rooms for a reasonable rate. It is an older hotel but both rooms were clean including under the beds. We had a fridge but no microwave. They serve a full cooked breakfast for 2 and $5 plus the table tip for the children. There are table games off the lobby and the large grassy court yard has a new in ground pool with a children's pool with water features,playground, tether ball, shuffleboard, tennis and basketball courts. Another building houses the large indoor and hot tub and additional ping pong tables. All the staff has English as a 1st language and were very friendly Another plus is it shares a parking lot with Dutch Wonderland so easy entrance..

Room Tip: For a small additional amount you can face the courtyard where the pools plus are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I and our Two children stayed at this hotel and we will never stay there again it was horrible.It is very outdated and dirty and there were bugs in our room. We complained 2 times and nothing was done about it. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place would not be my choice again. Musty smell in the entire place. They do have indoor and outdoor pools for all ages. I had a few bugs in my room. Don't try have breakfast in bed !!!!...breakfast must be eaten in the dining hall only...( stupidity ).....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownSugar11572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#25 of 39 in Lancaster
648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#23 of 39 in Lancaster
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#26 of 39 in Lancaster
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 2285 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1189
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Lancaster
Continental Inn Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing