We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
51
76
52
27
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
76
52
27
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstether balldutch wonderlandoutdoor poolseparate buildingtennis courtsplayground for kidscustom omeletsan older hotelhot tubbreakfast was includedtanger outletsearly checkplay areagreat for familieslincoln highwaypoolssauna
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 253 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The rooms are larger than many and pleasantly decorated, but rather dark. Big eaters love the copious breakfasts, but the dining room manager is over-schoolmarmish. The hotel is convenient to the outlet malls and other shopping; it's a bit sparse on non-chain dining opportunities, which cluster downtown. Bed linens are not changed daily.

Room Tip: Rooms facing parking lot on ground floor are rather noisy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for the first time over Labor Day weekend while we visited Dutch Wonderland. We were very pleased for the price we paid. The room was clean and came with two double beds. It had a small refrigerator, flat screen tv, and plenty of room to store our clothes. In the courtyard, there is a huge pool and a smaller pool for small children. It also had an indoor pool and sauna. There is also a clean playground area and tables are set up outside if you would like to sit outside. With our room came 2 free breakfasts served buffet style. It was very good. I highly recommend the Contienetal Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmozza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have stayed here for the past six years and look forward to going back every year!

The rooms are a decent size and have a refrigerator, flat screen TV, and DVD player. They open out onto an open courtyard so if you are averse to an occasional fly or moth sneaking in keep your doors closed tightly! There is farmland directly behind the hotel so flying bugs are to be expected.

The courtyard is like a giant living room. There are tables with umbrellas, a playset (that my 8 and 10 year olds still have fun on), a tetherball court, shuffleboard court, badminton net, and volleyball net set up. Even with all of this equipment there was still enough room for my kids to play lacrosse. After dinner, when most families have returned to the hotel, it's like a giant block party. My kids make new friends every year.

The buffet breakfast is wonderful. The food is good and since each room comes with two breakfasts you can't beat the value. In the afternoons, the snack bar by the pool is open so you can buy a burger there if you don't feel like going out. There is a microwave oven in the lobby so you can reheat dinner leftovers if you want.

The hotel owner gives wonderful recommendations on what to do. She asks guests how they liked activities and/or attractions and passes that information along to others.

If you plan to go to Dutch Wonderland, you can't beat the location since they share a parking lot. You can walk to the park, then walk back to put the little ones down for a nap, then walk back after nap is done without losing much time.

The game room in the lobby has a pinball machine, car-racing game, shooting game, two skill games (the rip-off kind), a ping-pong table and a pool table. There is also a ping-pong table in the indoor pool area. You can buy a ping-pong ball from a vending machine or bring your own.

There's a coin-operated washer and dryer available for everyone's use.

Some reviewers have complained about the decor: Is the hotel dated? Yes, it is. They still have a cloak room, a card room, a bank of pay phones, a lounge in the ladies room, and you can see the original message board and phone call tally board behind the front desk. Kind of kitschy but personally, I like it because it shows that you're not staying at a generic cookie-cutter hotel.

Room Tip: Countryside faces the courtyard Streetside faces the parking lot Rooms in Building 1 are closest to the playground and pool. Very convenient if you have little ones but can be noisy at night when the older kids are playing.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed here for the past 5 years and always return. It is convenient to our activities. We always meet nice families
and the kids always have someone to play with. The breakfasts are great and we are set for the day. A mid-day snack & early dinner makes our plans easy to follow. Yes, it is past its prime and could use a major overhaul but why - it aint broke, don't fix it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedubu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our Senior Bus Group from Huntington, Long Island recently stayed at the Continental Inn overnight on June 27, 2012.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly welcome.

Our rooms were clean and adequate. I checked the bed sheets with my flashlight and found no bugs or signs of stains. There were plenty of towels, soap and shampoo in the bathroom.

Included in our stay was a Family style breakfast freshly prepared with local ingredients. The breakfast included sausage, eggs, pancakes and potatoes.

The wait staff was very courteous and efficient and quickly refilled our coffee pots
and food platters when asked.

The clear blue pool looked very inviting however we had so many events planned we were unable take a dip.

Our group from Long Island would not hesitate to stay at the Continental Inn on our next trip.

"Good for the Price"

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEC220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews