We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing New Year's Eve”
Review of John J. Jeffries

John J. Jeffries
Ranked #6 of 563 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mullberry St.
Description: During renovations, workers found in the floor beams a signed inspection stamp--November 5, 1890--with the name of tobacco inspector John J. Jeffries. We named the restaurant after him. We’ve designed our menu based on local, seasonal, sustainable and organic agriculture and delicious recipes. Please join us and taste the difference of local farm-to-table sustainable cuisine in one of Lancaster's best fine dining restaurants. As the Chefs and Owners of John J Jeffries, we believe you will find our passion for supporting local businesses and preserving the land we live on, to be contagiously obvious in how we run our restaurant. All of our meats are raised locally, confinement-free on fresh green grass pastures. No hormones, antibiotics, steroids or forced-fertilization occurs. Our produce is local organic or chemical free. We use local grass fed cream, butter and eggs. We also provide sustainable seafood and support sustainable fisheries.
Reviewed January 7, 2016

We went for their fixed price New Year's Eve dinner and were disappointed overall - portions small, a lamb chop completely uncooked on one side, and serving the wrong wine in the wine flight. There were positives - nice venue, the food was tasty and service generally good. However, the total experience was well below what it should be on an expensive, special occasion night.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 752 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2015

Hidden in the Lancaster Arts hotel, we found this little diamond. Terrific bar keeper Frank. See photo attached. Our fam of four loved the ambiance, the humor of Frank, the drinks, the food diversity and quality. All four entrees were served simultaneously. Four very happy diners.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank robinbayvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

We visit family every year at Christmas and this is always a stop. Consistently great food even though they never have the pheasant! Servers are knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of visit: December 2015
2  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

We ate at the bar on a recent trip to Lancaster. The menu selection was varied and interesting -- from Jeffries' version of Bibimbop to braised beef tacos. The Bibimbop was the best dish; the others -- tacos, sauteed liver -- were not very flavorful. Still, the place is friendly and lively -- we'd try it again on another visit.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Gypsygirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

We have eaten John Jeffries numerous times over the past 5 years. The food is exceptional with all of the ingredients coming fresh from the local area. The menu changes with the season and there is always a good variety. The atmosphere is comfortable and classy, the wait staff knowledgeable and attentive. Their are separate bar and dining areas. This is a high end restaurant but not stuffy. You can sit for hours.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John J. Jeffries also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to John J. Jeffries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.