We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!”
Review of John J. Jeffries

John J. Jeffries
Reserve with OpenTable
John J. Jeffries is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 575 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mullberry St.
Description: During renovations, workers found in the floor beams a signed inspection stamp--November 5, 1890--with the name of tobacco inspector John J. Jeffries. We named the restaurant after him. We’ve designed our menu based on local, seasonal, sustainable and organic agriculture and delicious recipes. Please join us and taste the difference of local farm-to-table sustainable cuisine in one of Lancaster's best fine dining restaurants. As the Chefs and Owners of John J Jeffries, we believe you will find our passion for supporting local businesses and preserving the land we live on, to be contagiously obvious in how we run our restaurant. All of our meats are raised locally, confinement-free on fresh green grass pastures. No hormones, antibiotics, steroids or forced-fertilization occurs. Our produce is local organic or chemical free. We use local grass fed cream, butter and eggs. We also provide sustainable seafood and support sustainable fisheries.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Incredible food and beverages. This was our second time eating here while visiting from out of state and would highly recommend this restaurant. Our waitress was Olivia and she did a great job.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDiverMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    119
    52
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Farm-to-Table Sophistication”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We found John J. Jeffries four years ago while in town attending Lancaster's annual MLK Volleyball Classic. We so enjoyed our first dinner here that we've made a point to come back every year since. 2014 was no exception and as usual our meal was exceptional. I started with the Holiday Salad in a citrus vinaigrette and followed up with a salmon special. My husband started with the steak tartare and followed with the a pork bim bop (yes that is spelled correctly). My husband travels extensively both nationally and internationally for business has stated that the steak tartare here is by far the best he's ever had. I'm have ordered something different at each visit and have never been disappointed at any time. The key here are the ingredients. The locally grown greens, vegetable and organically fed meats make a significant difference that you will taste. This year we finished off our experience with the Lemon Curd... fabulous! It is tart, but that's the way I like it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and relaxing dinner!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice quiet hot spot in the Lancaster Arts Hotel. My daughters and I enjoyed our dinner. Definitely atypical menu items that caught our eye. Highly recommend! Great wine list too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent farm-to-table meal”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Love the menu offering items available from local, organic farms. Makes for some unique options great for foodies. Dining areas are small and noisy, but service is excellent and food as well. Reservations are strongly recommended on the weekend. You can eat at the bar (which is very nice) but that area fills up fast.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ILv2trvl_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every course was fabulous.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

There were so many great-sounding starters that we decided to share three and then share one main course, the salmon. Service was perfect, nice small bar scene, and the food was excellent...can't ask for more!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank phlashphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John J. Jeffries also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to John J. Jeffries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing