We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent waitstaff for a family with 3 kids”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #38 of 567 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent waitstaff for a family with 3 kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our server was WONDERFUL. We arrived tired, hungry, with 3 active toddlers. Our food was brought out almost immediately and was excellent as always - we had a variety of dishes from the menu but I also highly recommend the blackberry sangria! My 2 year old ate the entire kids pizza after a long day at the pool.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursemom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    53
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Bread & Pasta..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

great selections of pasta, sun-dried tomatoes are yummy, love the Cannoli.. nothing like Italian bread to dip in oil & bitter herbs!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 253skinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Carrabba’s has been described as “a step above Olive Garden”. I believe it is a few steps up. My husband and I went after 8pm on a Thursday so it was almost empty. This particular location is on the smaller size so at prime time on the weekends, I imagine it gets crowded quickly. The atmosphere is warm and inviting; lots of wood with a dark ceiling and flooring.

My husband ordered blackberry sangria to start. After one sip, I quickly ordered one for myself. I recommend getting the glass and a half size. For appetizers, we ordered the fried calamari and bacon & caramelized onion flatbread. The calamari was tender and the breading nicely spiced. There is a good amount of pepper in the breading, but it’s not overwhelming. It is accompanied with a lemon wedge and a yummy tomato based dipping sauce with herbs and spices. The flatbread was a delightful surprise. The caramelized onions were very sweet and pair wonderfully with the bacon. I’m not an onion lover and I would definitely order this dish again.

I had an Italian salad – nice variety of dark greens; and my husband had the Mama Mandola’s Sicilian Chicken soup. The soup had big chunks of chicken in a rich, flavorful broth along with diatolini pasta. Although my salad was good, I wished I had ordered the soup instead.

Bread was presented with a plate of olive oil and spices. This was the only weak point of the meal. The waiter delivered the bread warm and wrapped up in a basket – nice! Next, he took a plate with their herb and spice mix on it and added olive oil. Although he thoroughly explained everything, my initial reaction was this: The stuff on the plate looked like someone had emptied the vacuum cleaner! After he added the olive oil it looked better and edible. The bread itself, although warm, was too spongy and Wonderbread-ish. Overall, the entire bread experience didn’t hurt the meal, but it wasn’t worth all the trouble. Carraba’s should do bread more like The Macaroni Grill. They bring a loaf of herb-infused bread and a simple plate of olive oil and balsamic vinegar – perfect!

On our waiter’s very strong recommendation, I had the Forever Braised Beef Brasato. Slow-roasted beef in a red wine vegetable sauce over orzo pasta. Three words – GET THIS DISH! I pulled the beef apart with my fork it was so tender. The vegetable sauce is finely diced veggies that are cooked until tender and it goes perfectly with the beef and orzo. This is a seasonal dish so get it while you can.

My husband had the lasagna which we both agreed was quite good. The blend of cheeses is great with the ricotta being nice and firm. The noodles are el dente as they should be and the sauce just brings everything together. My husband would have preferred a bit more meat in this dish, but I thought it was wonderful as served. The desserts looked good, but we had no room for anything more.

Carraba’s is definitely worth the trip. Service was very good and we were happy with prices- 3 drinks, 2 appetizers, and 2 dinners for $75.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Service is Great, Food not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friends and I came here for my birthday and the wait time wasn't that long, which was nice. The menu was alright but because I have sensitive palate, there weren't many menu options I could choose from. The food got there fast though & I enjoyed my birthday dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Atmosphere & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We celebrated my son's birthday here. There was a little confusion with our call-ahead but the hostesses took care of us quickly once we noted the glitch. True to form the bread was warm and fresh. Tyler E was an excellent and attentive server. I ordered the rigatoni special and took at least half home with me. All the meals were A+ w/the cavatappi a B- (?over cooked). Carrabba's has never dissapointed us - thank you!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abt7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing