We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch”
Review of Characters Pub

Characters Pub
Ranked #99 of 669 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A favorite of locals, Characters Pub is hidden gem in Lancaster City with great food in a cozy atmosphere. Tucked behind the Courthouse where Christian and Grant street meet Characters Pub is only steps away from the Lancaster Marriot and Convention Center and the Hotel Lancaster. We offer a wide selections of sandwiches, burgers, salads and seasonal entrees. Special events, parties and receptions are held in our urban chic Windows on Queen space.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Went for an early lunch on a Saturday, looking for a place with outdoor seating that would accommodate our small dog. The waitress who sat us in the enclosed outdoor patio had to check that the dog was allowed, and he was.

The restaurant is tucked away in a building off an alley. The outdoor enclosed patio is small (five tables) but has fans and is comfortable.

Service was excellent, prices good, and the food was very good and everything was fresh. The lunch menu is typical pub fare, salads, sandwiches, burgers. Salads were big, and the fish tacos were excellent.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 168jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been several in times for business lunches and every time I’ve been very pleased. Excellent service and a wide selection from their lunch menu. Everything is very fresh and delicious. I’ve had a Reuben in there that was outstanding. Plus a Caesar salad with grilled salmon that was absolutely delicious. Chef Megan does an outstanding job and you can tell she puts a lot of love in her preparation. I highly recommend this place and I’m anxious to try their dinner menu soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

OK. Dated interior, needs more social media posts, maybe more live music. There are too many other places now that are more current.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank M Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

this place has great food and service and is also clean. the taco salad and french onion soup are very good and better than i expected. the waitress was friendly and prompt with taking our order and bringing the food. the walls are decorated with large charcoal drawings of famous actors and actresses. the parking lot in front of the restaurant is not open until after 5pm and we were lucky to find meter parking across the alley. the place is very hard to find but worth it if you can find it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackriverwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

my wife and I were really taken with this quite (at the time) quaint place. The staff was very nice and helpful as we enjoyed dinner and a few beverages. The beer selection was very good as I enjoy craft beers and the bar staff understood the different types of beers.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Pub also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Characters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing