We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved O'Flaherty's Dingeldein HOuse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2008

After reviewing the suggestions on Tripadvisror a friend and I decided upon O'Flahertys Dingeldein House Bed and Breakfast, and we were extremely happy we did. David and Jerry made our stay like going to an old friends lovely and perfectly well appointed home. All throughout the house were little treats like candy, cookies, chips, fruit, brandy, and tea and coffee. Our room was charming as were the others I could see. We did have a room that was along the busy main street and even though it was a bit noisy oddly enough it didn't effect out sleep. Our private bathroom was also charming and well appointed. The breakfast was really delicious and generous. We were treated like we were the only guests there although on one day there was 13 guest. Our hosts were always relaxed, friendly, helpful and truly seemed to enjoy the guests, not always the case with burnt out bed and breakfast owners. We were told of great places to eat nearby, shopping at the charming Lancaster market place with the amish and locals, and we were loaned a great CD for the car that took us on a days outing into the beautiful countryside with the lovely amish farms. The CD told us of points of interest along the way and facts about the amish customs and beliefs.
The bottom line is this Bed and Breakfast was in a perfect area to explore the beautiful countryside and charming new england towns. Yes, the main drag (highway) has become very touristy but just get off the main road a few blocks and you are back in time and in one the most beautiful areas of our wonderful United States.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DogandParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 423 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2007

Very lovely innkeepers who's hospitality made us feel like we were part of the family. Got great directions to Amish areas and especially loved the farm that makes their own ice cream!
The only thing I would say is not to stay in the room that has the tub under the slanted ceiling. It was quite challenging bathing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Beautiful property and exceptionally comfortable rooms and shared areas with an abundance of special touches (snacks, coffee & tea, and port wine, etc) placed throughout the house for guests. The innkeepers, Dave & Gerry, bent over backwards to make our stay a great one in every way; they are very knowledgeable about the Amish and about good places to eat/visit in the area, although we didn't find any food as good as what we had in the B&B itself. Gerry is a superb chef (breakfasts are designed for hungry gourmets). We visited without a car (we're from NYC and accustomed to a life of public transportation) which was a mistake, since we missed the backroads which are, according to other guests who were there, spectacularly beautiful and a great way to talk one-on-one with Amish farmers. All-in-all, this is a perfect NYC getaway (you can get there by Amtrak, but then, rent a car!) for a very peaceful break from the rhythm of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dmcwga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed only one night at the lovely Dingeldein Inn, but it was not for lack of hospitality nor lack of accomodations. On the contrary, the Dingeldein welcomed me, my wife, and our three-year old son with open arms. Dave, the Innkeeper, showed us around the Inn at our designated arrival time of 4PM. The old 1920's style of the home has been kept up, and our stay in the Garden suite allowed me and my wife to stay in one room, and our son Alex to stay in another. As a matter of fact, there are two beds in the adjoining room, so if you have two children, they can stay with you. Your own personal bathroom is an extremely pleasant touch, sometimes uncommon at other Inns. Our reason for staying was the "meal with an Amish family" less than 15 minutes away. I must say, I haven't tasted food so delicious in a long, long time. After our return, I made conversation with an Irish literature professor and a naval architect for 2-3 hours over coffee and fresh-baked cookies. The next morning's meal was served family style, french toast (the real kind with the egg baked in) with blueberries and a warm grapefruit dish that was simply delicious. If you want to stay at a B+B with your little ones, I wholeheartedly recommend the Dingeldein. Dave and Gerry are both wonderful hosts.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank bangalore19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Fabulous lodging. Beautiful, charming house, nicely furnished rooms, comfortable beds. Living room very nice, and snacks scattered throughout! Delicious hot breakfast. Owner very willing to help with tourist information, including setting up dinner with Amish family. They had a DVD and videotape on the Amish, which were very informative (and saved us from having to pay for the info), and had a CD audio tour which we played in the car as we drove around. If you have kids, they have 2 adjoining rooms, one with twin beds, all sharing a nice, roomy bathroom. It was an excellent value. Also, good location, convenient to things to do. I highly recommend it, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ajb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I've been staying at B&Bs all over the world. I never felt so comfortable as I did @ the Flaherty's. I was welcomed, given a tour: invited to use the TV, the CD player, the porch, the refrigerator, the laptop! , the kitchen.... I was given total freedom. There were fresh baked goodies, chocolates (on pillows!) and in nooks & cranies. There was a porch--with plenty of magazines. The breakfasts were works of art! The hosts were extremely helpful with directions & activities. This was a very unexpected gem.... Way above and beyond the call of (B&B) duty.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank doctorkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We've been there a few times, always in relation to our kids' college visits/events (Franklin & Marshall is in Lancaster), and this is the finest QPR (quality-price-ratio, according to the wine fans' world) of the local B&Bs (don't know about those outside Lanc). Often there are international visitors who are having their kids look at the F&M or being dropped off...Japan, Zimbabwe, Bulgaria during the times we have visited...so the discussions during the top drawer breakfast has been wonderful (did I say top drawer?).

The 8 rooms and suites are well-attended by Gerry - she's really the boss - and Dave - he feels like he might be the boss :) - who have run the place for the past year. It's been a B&B for mucho decades, so the place is well-outfitted. The neighborhood is quite fine, 2 miles outside the technical city limits but close to Rte. 30, the artery that connects the area.

This past Thanksgiving, we visited our kids there in Lanc and "ordered in." We had the run of the kitchen in the main building regarding warming the turkey, sides, desserts. The 4 of us then crashed in the living room for the evening and felt right at home. Hey...weren't we??? It certainly seemed that way.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 39 in Lancaster
954 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3233 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: $115 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication. Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing