We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancaster Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lancaster Charm”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Truly outstanding gourmet breakfasts! Cozy, inviting, comfortable rooms! Helpful hosts! Attention to detail! Convenient location! The Lancaster B&B will definitely be our go-back-to place in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairportTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Lucy, Thank you and forgive my taking so long to respond. It is our wonderful guests that make our jobs truly enjoyable. Thank you for the generous words and come back to Lancaster. Thank You! Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
247
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There are a lot of places you can choose to stay during your trip to Lancaster, but if you don't pick The Lancaster B & B you will be missing the best experience!

The Inn Keepers, Brad and Keith, are wonderful, kind, helpful, welcoming and seem like old friends.

The Inn was stocked with every amenity you can think of, so you will want for nothing.

The room, we were staying in, The Clove, was clean, well prepared, cozy, and inviting.

The breakfasts were unparalleled to anything we have ever had. I would have posted pictures but we gobbled up every delicious morsel so quickly pictures were nothing but an after thought.

I would go back to The Lancaster B & B a million times over, and I will recommend the inn to anyone interested in staying in Lancaster.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamperlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Lori, Thank You, your kindness is humbling. I am sorry it has taken so long to respond but wanted to catch up with words and memories by responding although late with kind. We have been so blessed with wonderful generous guests. It is our guests that drive us to be our best thank you for saying so. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Lancaster with my girlfriend to celebrate the last days of her 20's! (she doesn't like the word 30 just yet :) It was our first time visiting, and definitely will not be our last. Keith and Brad are incredibly nice, and will go out of their way to help you with anything they can. They will give you tips on the best places to go for food and entertainment while in Lancaster. We stayed in the Hawthorne Suite. It was a great room, with plenty of space and a very comforting feel. The food is out of this world! Everything is so fresh and Brad makes it all himself, even grinds the meat for the homemade sausage, which is amazing! We cannot say enough about this place. We stayed for a weekend, and left with 2 new friends. I read lots of good reviews on this place, which helped me chose to stay here, so my expectations were pretty high coming in. Brad and Keith didn't just meet these high expectations, but far exceeded them! They played a huge part in giving us a wonderful weekend that we won't soon forget!! I cannot imagine visiting Lancaster PA and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Jamie, Forgive my responding so late, but I decided I would respond to everyone we had missed and Thank each one for their kind words. You know me well enough to know what I would say about being 30... I hope all is well we are busy but well. We want to see you both again sometime but until them know we two felt two friends had left and gone home. Yours, Brad & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lancaster for two nights. We stayed in the Fennel room in the Cottage. The room was lovely, cozy, and comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding!! Details, such as a Keurig machine and mini-fridge just outside of our room were great and unexpected. Keith and Brad are wonderful hosts. We appreciated their suggestions for local restaurants and activities, as well as their knowledge of local history. We would love to return!

Room Tip: We liked staying in the Cottage, which is just a few steps away from the main house where breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank You for your generous words and forgive my lateness to respond. We loved your time here with us it is you that make doing this great. Thank you Smiths for sharing your time by staying with us. Love to see you again soon, Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here recently and was very impressed with the ambiance created by Brad and Keith. Their attention to detail was absolutely amazing. No effort was too minor to ensure their guests a comfortable and relaxing stay, wanting for nothing. The local knowledge of the owners was exceptional and could be relied upon to plan activities for the day or for an afternoon. Their restaurant recommendations did not miss the mark, whether you wanted a casual inexpensive meal or something a little more upscale. If you're a breakfast person come here - the gourmet breakfasts were to die for. My wife's a vegetarian and Brad cooked up some amazing vegetarian substitutes that were on par with the best we ever tasted. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words. We really love our guests. Thank You for saying we are one of the best it is also our guests that make it the best. We feel that our convenient location is worth the more traveled street that a rural stay in Amish countryside. Please forgive my taking so long to respond. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This B&B is a gem. Brad and Keith are exceptional hosts. The house and grounds have been lovingly restored. The inside is especially charming. The gourmet breakfasts in themselves would be a reason to stay here and Brad and Keith's recommendations plus their knowledge of the Amish area was really helpful. We will fly 2,500 miles to stay here again. If we could give more than five stars we would. A delightful experience.

Room Tip: If you are over 6' tall you should probably not reserve the Clove Room. We are shorter and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Judy and John,
We loved having you stay with us and would love to see you again anytime. It was and is always a joy creating special food when it is so much appreciated. Please forgive it taking so long to respond to your kind words. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hosts Brad and Keith made our stay exceptional! Keith's breakfast preparation was sensational and his knowledge of the local Amish culture was fascinating. Brad was extremely effective as a host and provided helpful information about restaurants and local attractions. The overall experience reinforced in our minds the best qualities of a B&B from the attentiveness of the innkeepers, to the fabulous breakfast, and to the comfortable and attractive furnishings. Most memorable from our stay was the gourmet breakfast served in an elegant dining room setting with just enough elbow room from fellow travelers to make for interesting conversations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Saffron room--one of two in the cottage. Beautiful accommodation with a small bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful praise and flattery, Brad is the chef and Keith is the knowledgable one about the area but I will still serve you the best food I can cook…Thank you for saying not to miss us. PS Keith does prepare the fruit…Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
915 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 39 in Lancaster
321 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1105 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3233 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication.  Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing