We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've stayed at a few B&Bs through the years and none surpasses this one in terms of service and decor. After making our reservation, I received an e-mail from Brad and Keith asking if we had any dietary restrictions. They graciously accommodated my vegetarian diet and served an AMAZING breakfast. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and began talking to each other as if we were longtime friends. The house itself is beautiful, clean, and, unlike many B&Bs, was decorated very tastefully -- no garish, flowery, headache-inducing, floral wallpaper or busy carpets. I wish that we'd had more time there; my son and I were there on a college hunting trip and regrettably stayed only one night. I plan on returning with my husband for a romantic weekend at this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Please forgive this time lapses in responding to your kind praise. Thank YOU we love what we do and yes we feel when guests like you leave longtime friends have gone. We would love to see you soon
Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 423 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Need a place to stay this is it. Keith & Brad are wonderful Hosts and OH my can they cook. They were so welcoming & had lots of helpful tips about the area and We hope to go back next year.We want to thank Keith and Brad for everything and let them know that breakfast was superb and your cookies YUMMY. The house is so comfy and the garden is beautiful and so relaxing. Thank you both. Barbara Peters and Lorita Foster, Doreen Viglioti and Marci Bensing. July/2013

Room Tip: The rooms are so roomy and comfy and the beds are wonderful. Slept like a log. You will most certain...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Ladies, I sadly let your review go un-responded to please forgive me. We loved your visit and would love you to all come back soon. Thank You
Yours, Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a life in the hospitality business, the hospitality at the Lancaster B&B was superb. It is the finest that I have ever seen. I felt that I was being invited into a close friend's home and by the time I left, I felt that Brad and Keith had become friends. The decor was very pleasant and the room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were magnificent. We appreciated the advice and help on restaurants and things to do. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recmanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Please forgive the 2 years to reply to your kind review. We do love what we do and do often feel that friends are leaving when they go. We hope that we will see you again soon. Thank You
Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We (4 adults) planned to stay overnight on a road trip from Washington DC to Montreal, but Keith and Brad made us feel so welcome that we decided to stay an extra night.
The property is immaculate, beautifully set out and a peaceful retreat from the day on the road.
Brad and Keith went all out to ensure a wonderful stay, they made recommendations for restaurants, local attractions and even provided us with some local history.
One of our party is gluten intolerant and they provided us with a delicious breakfast that suited her dietary needs.
I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMD3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Well it has taken me two years to reply to your generous review forgive. We loved your visit and mention it often to guests, your sense of humor really made your visit memorable we mention you to all of our Australian guests and there have been many since your time here. We hope you are well and happy,
Yours, Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

**Highly recommended!!**

Basically, if perfection could be defined by a B&B, this is it. This place truly is a find to enhance anyone's trip.

- The grounds are beautifully manicured
- The decor inside is tasteful and charming
- The rooms are cozy and comfortable (with AC--a major plus during the summer!). Modern, yet include some vintage trinkets and artwork, including some authentic Amish quilts.
- The food is heavenly and prepared with such care and thoughtfulness. They also have cookies in the main room - soft, moist, delicious and the perfect late-night treat.
- The inn-keepers, Brad and Keith, are definitely the highlight of this place. They take great pride in what they do, and are extremely friendly, accommodating, and warm. They are the perfect pair to run a B&B and have a wonderful way of making you feel at home as soon as you arrive.

I will definitely plan a return stay here and am so happy to have had such a terrific experience!

Room Tip: Was here with a group of girlfriends. We split the Chamomile and Juniper Suite. They are 2 rooms con...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Lauren and the girls,
Forgive my letting this slip with a response. We loved your being here and would love your return. With reviews as yours we have remained Number 1 for all three years is business. Thank You for all your praise
Yours, Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the most amazing bed and breakfast. Not one doily in the whole place yet full of country charm. It is impeccably designed and cared for. Little treats are stashed all over the common rooms for snacking and the friendly inn keepers happen to be 5 stars chefs!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPNWCPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

I have late but responded to my missed reviews but still humbled by the praise given, Thank You so much
Yours, Brad & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Lancaster B & B is a beautiful, historic home just outside of downtown Lancaster. Brad and Keith made us truly feel welcome in their home. The rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated. The property is spotlessly clean with terrific landscaping and a koi pond. We stayed in the Foxglove, it was spacious and quiet. Breakfast was terrific, they really go out of their way to prepare interesting and delicious breakfasts, certainly not your typical B & B fare. Both Brad and Keith are gracious hosts and really fun to talk to, they enjoy spoiling their guests. We wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

What kind words, my friend! When we reply to reviews, it never fails to humble us that people have stopped to write a review at all. Phones and tablets and computers are always in hand, but to use them so altruistically, sending such positive words back out to whomever catches them, enriches us - and hopefully, future guests - tenfold. Thank you!
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We want nothing more than to connect with people, provide a lovely experience, and send them back home with a rejuvenated spirit and a full belly. So all the best to you, and we hope we see you again. Very best to you, Keith and Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 39 in Lancaster
954 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3233 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: $115 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication. Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing