We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Dave and Gerry were most accommodating and very helpful with regard to our travels in that area. The rooms were spotless, peaceful and spacious, the whole house had a true warmth.
We had little knowledge with regard the Amish and Gerry was able to provide us with an hour long video giving us a much greater understanding of this religon and its followers.
He also directed us on were to travel in the Amish farmlands.
My wife and I would not hesitate to stay at their home again if we are lucky enough to be in that area again.

Room Tip: Just phone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_dodd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 428 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

My sister and I were in Philadelphia to attend a niece's wedding and we decided to take a side trip to Lancaster County. We decided to stay at O'Flaherty's Deingeldein house in Lancaster. Dave and Gerry were wonderful hosts. The food was delightful and they gave us excellent tips on how to get around Amish country. We would definitely recommend this B&B to family and friends!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa012303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

From the moment I made the reservation, to the moment we parted ways, Dave & Gerry were an absolute delight. They welcomed us like old friends, and treated us to hospitality like we were in the presidential suite of the Waldorf-Astoria. Their love of people is reflected in the attention they give to every nook and cranny of the premises, and the rooms are quaint, charming and comfortable. This bed and breakfast is what a bed & breakfast should be, and more! The bed and room was so delightful I almost wanted to stay in for the day and just relax and enjoy. And the breakfast! Oh the breakfast -- what an amazing way to start the day, with delicious, unique and compelling cuisine, with delicious coffee and a limitless selection of teas I wish I had the pleasure of exploring and sampling all of them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attguy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Thank you Dave & Gerry. You were wonderful "Inn Keepers" and awesome hosts. Very attentive to our needs and comfort. The small touches were much appreciated. Excellent breakfasts!!! It was truly a pleasure staying at your B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back cottage and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdavis357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had a great room, comfortable bed, and lots of space, both private and public. We came "home" at night to freshly-baked cookies and plenty of water, soda, coffe or tea. The location was very convenient. The innkeepers were friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the area and things to see and do. Breakfast was served at 8:30 each morning and was delicious. We will definitely be back to this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineppetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My wife and I had a great stay in Lancaster and would return to this B&B if we visit again. The B&B is very close to downtown Lancaster which was worth spending time in - did the walking tour from the visitor's center, visited the market. The B&B is also close to Amish country - 1o minutes away. While in Lancaster, we attended a "Dinner with the Amish" at the Hershey Restaurant and this was the best thing we did. Learned alot and enjoyed a great dinner. As for the B&B, our room was small but very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the owners were very helpful. I would recommned visiting during off season since the B&B can accomodate around 16 people and if filled, it would be alittle crowded. May was a good time to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryweaver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Dave and Gerry really make you feel at home, their place is beautiful and the outside garden is just the best! The breakfasts are yummy and they really are helpful with the surrounding areas. Looking forward to return in the fall!

Room Tip: Master suite is romantic and tastefully done
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napagirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
965 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
4.9 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#20 of 40 in Lancaster
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3233 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: $115 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication. Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing