We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Two Days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Two Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I were traveling for the first time, to Pennsylvania, for a family wedding in the Philadelphia area. The dates of our stay was April 3, 2013 to April 5, 2013. Our daughter's in-laws live in Amish country and we wanted to experience the area before we moved on to the wedding site. After much research, I decided to try King's Cottage. We were not disappointed. For the first night, we were the only guests. We had decided on the Contessa room which has a separate entrance. However, upon arrival, Ann offered us an inside room, if we wished. We decided to stay in the Contessa. It was very cozy and comfortable. The bed was wonderful and we couldn't have been happier. Ann couldn't have been more helpful about the area. Since many family dinners were already planned, we did not have time to explore other restaurants suggested. The location of this B & B, is indeed in a residential area and right on the road. However, we were not disturbed by any road noise at all. It was very convenient to all locations. Our two breakfasts were outstanding and the local roasted coffee was superior. This B & B is a beautiful 1913 home that has lovingly been restored. It was immaculate and comfortable. Ann and Janis were very hospitable. We simply hated to leave and move on. It is clear there are many B & B's in this amazing area, but King's Cottage was a great choice for us and is highly recommended. We would definitely return for its location, comfort and fabulous food.
Please note: For first time visitors to this area, we were advised that the 2 hour tour provided Mennonite Information Center guides was a must do. Before I left California, I called and arranged a tour. The guide gets into your car and takes you on backroads and you can make stops to authentic Amish businesses. We learned so much from this tour and our guide, Mennonite Fay Landis, was outstanding. We highly recommend this tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for putting so much time and thought into your review. We are so happy you enjoyed our short time with us. We hope you will decide to come back for another visit sometime as there is so much to see and do in Lancaster County. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    17
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
176
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Being a "seasoned traveler", both for personal and business purposes over the course of the past several decades, I can truly say that The King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast located in Lancaster, PA was a terrific "find" and will remain on my "EXCEPTIONAL" List for annual repeat visits. The owners, Janis and Ann, are wonderful and engaging hosts who treat the guest like family and have taken hospitality to a new level. Every detail has been attended to with excellence that exceeds the expectation for a stay that will never be forgotten. The ambiance, the food, the service, the accommodations and the property, inside and out, are "World Class". The setting, Lancaster, PA offers the casual or business vistor so much to do that a night's stay does injustice to all the cuture, sights and activities that require exploration for days if not weeks.

A stay at this Bed & Breakfast, any time of the year, will be an experience that can only be characterized as a "WOW"!

John Rooney
Long Island, NY

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience during your recent business trip to Lancaster, PA with others. We look forward to seeing you for a relaxing getaway next time. I bet you would have fun taking a Scooter Covered Bridge Tour ... just something to think about. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for putting us on your "Exceptional" list. Ann & Janis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

For most of our US/Canada trip we had been staying in hotels or inns. Heading for Lancaster we decided to have a change to a B&B and booked the King Room at King's Cottage for a couple of nights.

Couldn't have asked for more. Janis and Ann are wonderful hosts, our room was lovely, and Sampson, the Bichon Frise, is pretty cute. J & A happily assisted us with tourist information and restaurant bookings and they have a wealth of knowledge about local history.

They are pretty serious cooks as well, so a warning about the breakfasts. They are delicious, but not so good for the waistline.

We had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure meeting guests from Australia. We like to give you a special treat at breakfast with something you would not normally make for yourself, however, we do ask our guests for any dietary restrictions and requests at booking time so we can plan our breakfasts to suit their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second trip to the King's Cottage and for the second time, we loved every minute of our stay! Ann and Janis are lovely hosts who were always ready to help with suggestions, directions, or whatever we needed! The house itself is beautiful, and the rooms are so comfortable! And the food is always excellent!! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Note that the Contessa room and Carriage house's doors open to the outside instead of directly i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments & room tips. We are glad you returned to the King's Cottage for a 2nd visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the time we stepped into the door, I felt like I was in paradise. Everything I expected, I got and more. My husband and I enjoyed the food which was excellent and so yummy. Our room was just as we expected. So romantic. I didn't want to leave the room although sadly we had to. The inn keepers Anne and Janis were the best, so accommodating, helpful, and always there with a smile for you. The only thing disappointing, and I guess it was our fault for getting up late, was we were the last to get showers and with a full house, it was not a surprise that we ran out of hot water while bathing. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend even though you ran out of hot water. We do apologize for that inconvenience. We are learning about our new high efficiency heating & hot water system, and if we had known we could have corrected the problem and restored hot water to you in just a few minutes. We have now reprogrammed the system so that will not happen again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Janis & Ann are the warmest hosts with great recommendations and knowledge of the area.
The Inn is lovely, warm and inviting with comfotable seating. We have always staying in The Carriage house; comfortable bed and quiet. The breakfasts are the best I have had and I always look forward to them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It was great to spend time with you and hear about your other travel experiences. We are glad you came back for another visit and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for sharing your comments with others. We hope you have a great holiday season. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is our second time going to the King's Cottage and it was another fabulous experience. Ann and Janis are truly wonderful people who make you feel at home. My wife and I enjoyed just sitting down with both of them and just talking about the area and about our families. The food was outstanding and we loved the new renovations done to the princess room. We look forward to coming back next year and plan to stay at the King's Cottage for another great weekend.

Room Tip: The princees room has its own private balcony that make the stay even more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for coming back to visit with us again. We are glad you like the changes we made to the Princess room. We look forward to seeing you next year and catching up on the families again. We hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.4 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1049 E King St, Lancaster, PA 17602-3231
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing