We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst Value Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Value Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This motel was WAY overpriced and offered nothing in services. If there was another room avaiable in any other hotel in the area, I would have found another place to stay for the last 2 days of the conference we were attending. Not enough outlets to plug in frig and microwave at same time! Frig froze our milk. Obvious smoke smell in non-smoking room, which employee argued with me about. Ran out of toilet paper, did not get enough towels (2 for 3 people), neighborhood is sketchy, trains come thru across the street during the night. This is the first negative review I have ever written in my life.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms are any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We thought we were being fair when we did not charge you for the extra third person in your room. We also thought you'd be more comfortable in a room with two queens versus two doubles. When you said that you smelled smoke, after reassuring you this was a non-smoking room, I still moved you to another room. You stayed three nights. If you were really not content with the room, we would have moved you until you found one you liked. We are sorry that this is the first we heard about your complaints. We take our hospitality very seriously and are present on the property for any services you may need. We are sorry that the housekeepers did not leave a sufficient amount of towels for you, but we would have come to your room immediately upon request! We have spent alot of time and energy renovating our property and take pride in making your stay an enjoyable one. Please come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    6
    11
    25
See reviews for
18
13
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Without authorization, this motel charged my credit card in error (likely on purpose). For over a week now I've been getting a runaround from the manager and clerks. Now I'm being told the manager is away on a family emergency and no one else can help me. This motel staff is not very professional. Besides working with Americas Best Value Inn's main customer service which isn't helping me much, I had to dispute the charge with my credit card company and file a complaint with the local Sheriffs Department.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RailfanMotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience of the mistaken credit card authorization. The General Manager had taken the reservation and then was called out due to an illness in the family. Apparently there was a lack of communication here in our office. Normally, we would have issued your refund had the other clerks known about it. Otherwise, it is common to go to the credit card company and dispute the charge. We are truly sorry for this mishap. We do hope you will give us another try since we have put so much energy into providing a comfortable, clean and quality property. We have been receiving alot of nice comments on our renovated rooms and hope you will be able to enjoy one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was the last one left in town. My friends and I decided to visit Lancaster for the first time but we waited for the last minute and we got what we paid for. The bed was horrible and had bed bugs. never again. Horrible horrible and did I say horrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We take bed bugs and any other pests VERY seriously and are proactive in preventing this exact issue. When you checked in and took your shower, you came to the front desk to say there were bugs. We immediately acted and wanted to come to see what it was you saw, so we knew what we were dealing with. You dropped the key on the counter and left. We were taken aback, because we have never had a pest problem and have taken great strides to keeping our property in good standing with both the public and our brand. We have put alot of time and money into updating and upgrading our property to make it a pleasurable experience for our guests while enjoying Lancaster and the surrounding area. We went to the room immediately and went through it thoroughly and no sign of bugs...anywhere. It's too bad you just left without us being able to go to the room and check it with you or, at the very least, offer you another room. Hotels are bring regulated more now than ever on the bed bug issue and strict controls are put into place to prevent any situations like this....ours included. We stand by our quality and standards and sorry that you were not satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights and it truly is the last resort in the area. Don't like posting bad reviews but this one deserved it. Desk manager was pleasant but otherwise take a pass. Better off calling hotels in the area directly to find a room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emantk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are sorry that you thought we were the "last resort", but actually we have lots of compliments paid to our property since all of the improvements we have made. Comfortable beds with nice bedding, freshly painted rooms, granite topped furniture and granite vanities. Our housekeeping is impeccable and accomodations flawless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breesport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We could not understand the motel worker when he spoke to us. There was an alive cockroach running around the fridge. Burn marks everywhere and black mold in the bathroom. Only one bulb was working in the bathroom. The "make-up" that they speak of is a dollar store mirror hanging in the dim-lighted sleeping area. Mattress was horrifying and the lack of pillows were a joke. When I sat at the desk in the morning by the fridge, I let out a huge scream because of the many cockroaches I saw crawling up the side of the fridge. I honestly do NOT set my standards that high but I would rather sleep on dirt in a field than stay in this place again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RalphyBreesport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiral p, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are not supposed to address complaints with a negative attitude, but I am greatly offended. Our hotel has NEVER seen a cockroach much less, many of them running around. If you claim you saw one in the fridge when you checked in, why didn't you call the desk? If there was mold, why didn't you call the desk? If there were burn marks everywhere, why didn't you call the desk? Instead, you stayed the night. Funny, we have never had anyone be so unkind in their remarks regarding our property. We have done an incredible job here and forgive me for wanting to defend our property. It is top quality, attractive and comfortable and our guests have been very happy here...we are sorry you were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ok place to stay. In expensive. Very clean. Area is not great but ok. Decent room! The direct tv is a plus! Would stay again if I were in town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StacyG0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had to find a room at the last minute, these folks had a room. I would have gladly have stayed here my entire stay. Comfortable accommodations. Friendly staff. But most of all a clean and well decorated room. I will always stay at America's Best Value Inns when they are available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
9.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ronks
6.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#25 of 37 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#17 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#26 of 37 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
#11 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1320 Harrisburg Pike, Lancaster, PA 17603
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn of Lancaster Pennsylvania, the oldest inland city in the United States. Located only one mile from the historic downtown area and one quarter mile from Franklin and Marshall College, we are conveniently near Lancaster's museums, restaurants and the Fulton Opera House. Our Inn is surrounded by Dutch Country and charming Amish Farms. After a day of business or leisure, relax in our well appointed guestrooms. We proudly feature high speed Internet and refrigerators in all of our rooms. Make your next stay your " Best" at the Americas Best Value Inn of Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing