We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pennsylvania Arts Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pennsylvania Arts Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Recently, the Levy Fishman Watercolor Group of Washington, DC was trying to decide upon a weekend destination that would be exciting enough to suitably mark the 30th anniversary of our painting together! It had to involve art, be located within a 2- to 3-hour drive of DC, and accommodate a member who was not very mobile. An old clipping torn from The Washington Post (“More Than Landscapes,” October 18, 2009) introduced us to the 23-mile trail of artists’ studios, galleries, and museums that encompass the Pennsylvania Arts Experience, just 90 miles from Washington. Thanks to Richard Zuber, Executive Director of the Pennsylvania Arts Experience, our weekend surpassed our wildest dreams! Richard presented us with a veritable cornucopia of exciting things to do, each of which was based upon our group’s particular interests.
The Lancaster Arts Hotel (300 Harrisburg Ave. in Lancaster), built in an historic tobacco warehouse, proved to be the perfect place to base ourselves, as the lobby, corridors, and guest rooms of this fine hotel all display the paintings, drawings, and sculptures of local artists. Dinner at The John J. Jeffries organic restaurant at the Hotel was not only a gastronomic, but also a visual, treat as we were surrounded by art!
Among the highlights of our Pennsylvania Arts Experience weekend were visits to the studios of just a few of the many artists who live and work along the Arts trail, which extends from York, through Lancaster, to New Hope, along Route 30 and Route 113. Thanks to Richard’s intervention on our behalf, each of these artists opened his studio or home to us, generously sharing with us his art and his experience, and we are extremely grateful to all of them.
Nationally known sculptor George Mummert gave us a tour of the Keystone Art and Culture Center in Lancaster, of which he is Founding Director, showing us the bronze pieces that he built in his foundry and explaining the steps of the lost wax casting process that he uses. Lynda Mylin Ross warmly welcomed us into her studio in Marietta to share her dynamic charcoal drawings, paintings, and pastels. Rob Evans, whose work been shown in the Corcoran Museum, invited us not only into his studio in Wrightsville, but also to his gallery nearby where we were able to view a retrospective of his paintings which were inspired by the Susquehanna River Valley. Fiber artist, Sue Reno, shared her amazing quilts, some of which included cyanotype prints of leaves and seed pods that she had collected. Marion K. Stephenson’s vibrant pastels of autumnal ponds and trees made the walls of her York studio glow, and Glenn E. Blue’s watercolors of snow scenes transported us, making us vow to return for one of his weekend workshops.
Other treats included an opening reception at the Charles Demuth Museum, where James Warhola exhibited the original watercolors from his book, Uncle Andy’s, that illustrates his
childhood visits to his Uncle Andy Warhol’s New York City townhouse; a 60s “happening” (complete with silk-screening and a Velvet Underground cover band) at Tellus 360 Degrees, to celebrate the “Art Goes Pop: American Pop Art” exhibit at the Demuth Museum and the Lancaster Museum of Art; and, finally, an incredibly magical installation by Artist-in-Residence Wayne White at the Marketview Arts building of giant (15’ tall) figurative sculptures and puppets (some of which are moveable, all of which are made of cardboard) illustrating Civil War soldiers entering the town of York under the leadership of General Jubal Early in 1863.
If you love art and are looking for an inspiring way in which to spend a weekend, we could not recommend more highly that you explore The Pennsylvania Arts Experience (www.PaArtsExperience.org)! The Orientation Center, located in the Marketview Arts Building, at 37 West Philadelphia Street in York, would be a great place to start. Its Director, Richard L. Zuber (Director@PaArts Experience.org) could not have been more helpful in helping us to plan a trip that we will remember all our lives!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear ChuckLud,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed some of our amentities we have to offer & your overall stay with us exceeded your expectations! Your trip sounded wonderful and we are so glad you made us a part of your special arts experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    205
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
197
406
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of the most unique hotels I have stayed in , first off we love the staff they are so nice ... very friendly and helpful . This is an old warehouse that has been made into a hotel with many of the old bricks exposed beams and doors ... a very different cool industrial look !! Do not let the industrial look fool you the rooms are comfortable nicely furnished . Each room is different and features art work from local artist ( we have stayed many times and try to get different rooms) as you walk through the halls there is artwork from many different local artist hung like a Gallery along walls with a few sketches left behind by guests . there are also books with sketches left by guest in the lobby. The food and drinks were good downstairs but expensive depending on your budget but there are options within walking distance. they serve a nice complimentary breakfast in the morning so no need to rush . it is a great weekend get away for us . go into town walk gallery row go to central market visit the shops eat lunch in the parks go for a nice dinner before you know it the weekend will be gone. one tip many things are closed sundays and mondays so as you make your to do list check what is open ... the hotel can also give you a list of things open sundays. Take the weekend and just explore we were surprised all that was there. check out first fridays if you have a long weekend things are open late but it does get crowded, great unique hotel for couples weddings but the kids may not get it
do this for yourself <3

Room Tip: look through the pictures but the rooms 100 200 300 ect have the best exposed brick also are a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaware_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Delaware_Lisa,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! I am very pleased to hear that the aesthetics of our converted 1881 tobacco warehouse building, along with our customer service and amentities have exceeded your expectations. We are the "Arts Hotel" because we do indeed feature local artwork throughout the entire building - both in guest rooms and common areas -- and we even have a small art gallery on site. Did you know that most of the featured work is for sale? Guest rooms are equipped with sketch pads, and we encourage you to leave your artwork behind! Thank you for uncluding our wonderful on-site, chef-owned restaurant, John J Jeffries, and the fact that you found our location to be sufficient for your needs. We are a short walk to many of downtown Lancaster's prime boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants, and bars -- or you can hop in the car for a short drive to the Amish countryside, or many of the surrounding historical sites. Thank you again for taking time to review, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Lancaster Arts on our way to Virginia for a couple of nights. I like quirky, out of the ordinary places, but design is not everything when basic standards are missing.

On the plus side:

Loft style appearance, great turn down service, wonderful breakfast, windows you can actually open and wine glasses and a wine fridge in the room.

On the down side:

loud air-condition unit that can not be switched off (the reception provided ear plugs on request), very slow elevator, no help with heavy luggage and reception staff which seemed overwhelmed in dealing with non-standard questions (Q: When does the train to Philly depart? A: Check on Amtrack.com)

I do not mention the free WiFi as I believe this should be standard these days and the mattress which I found too soft for my liking.

The area around the hotel seems industrial and getting developed but it is easy walking distance to downtown Lancaster, although I found the area enroute a bit shady. Good brewery place up on Harrisburg Ave.

So, if they would work on the basics this will easy get full marks - but for now, there is just too much lacking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cityeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Cityeast,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the aesthetics of the building, and complimentary nightly turndown service with rose and chocolate, I do want to apologize if the rest of your stay did not exceed your expectations. We want all of our guests to have a more than enjoyable stay with us. Our air conditioning units do not shut off completely. They do turn down, but not off. This is to ensure that a constant flow of air is consistent in the rooms. Second, because we are a small boutique hotel, we do not have bellmen. That being said, our front desk will always help with luggage assistance if needed. In regards to questions such as train times, we do often refer to resources such as the internet, to ensure we are getting our information correctly, and cannot become liable for any misinformation. Unfortununately, complimentary WiFi is not standard in every hotel, so we do advertise that as one of our amentities that we are proud to offer. I apologize if the surrounding area was not sufficient to your liking, however, we are in a very short walking distance to many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, and boutique shopping. Thank you again for taking time to review, and if you are ever in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The title says it all about this place. This is a wonderful hotel where you get what you pay for, but I'm giving 4 of 5 for its high price. Restaurant is AWESOME. Service is wonderful. Do not hesitate to spend your money at this unique hotel in the burgeoning Lancaster City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieWriter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear FoodieWriter13,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us. Our prices are comparable to the upscale hotels in the area, and we do pride ourselves on offering something a little different from chain hotels. We offer amentities such as nightly turndown service with rose & chocolates, flat screen TVs, turkish bathrobes, 24 hour fitness facility, complimentary YMCA passes, complimentary breakfast, complimentary garaged parking, on-site chef-owned John J Jeffries restaurant, complimentary wireless internet, as well as prime location to many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, and boutique shopping. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here just one night while in town for business. It did not feel like a hotel, it felt like a cool, hip loft apartment. The hotel room had brick walls. I did not get a chance to try the restaurant, but I heard the food was fantastic. The air conditioner did not seem to work, but I opened the window and got a nice comfortable breeze. I look forward to coming back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karebear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Karebear123,

Thank you for taking time to review the Lancaster Arts Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to apologize if there was an issue with your air conditioner. Although pleased that you were able to remedy the situation, I do hope the front desk was notified as well. I again thank you for your lovely review, and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Two nights at the Lancaster Arts this past week, and I actually felt sad to leave. Everything about it is wonderful. Clean, comfortable, safe - all the basics. And then there are the extras you hope for, in abundance: the free bottles of Saratoga water left by your bedside each day; the red rose left for you each evening; the high quality toiletries that are so nice you will want to buy some to take home (and yes, they are available for sale); the wonderfully strong water pressure in the shower that so expertly soothes your tension; the truly fine dining in the building (JJ Jeffries) and nearby (Fenz) and the boutique coffee shop (Mean Cup) all of which contribute to making your stay extra special. There is also a beauty salon and more casual dining just a stone's throw away. And I am still thrilled by the sight of an Amish horse and carriage on the street - if you're from a big city as I am, this really is unique! Put simply, I cannot wait to get back to the Lancaster Arts Hotel and plan to bring my family next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear RiTips,

Thank you so much for your review of the Lancaster Arts Hotel! As a repeat guest, I am happy to hear that you had another great stay at our hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed some of the amentities we have to offer -- such as our complimentary Saratoga waters, nightly turndown service with rose and chocolate for every guest, and our chef-owned John J Jeffries restaurant on site. We appreciate that you find our location sufficient for your needs, and hope to see you again in the future! Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

It's a nice place but has issues. Nobody there to greet me and take my luggage. Faulty jacuzzi in suite - crazy noise emanating. Lastly the flat screen tv in my bedroom has no picture. Poor maintenance in a room is inexcusable.

Room Tip: Tell the management to have a simple punch list so the room is in tip top shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidibNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspiration_Manager, Front Office Manager at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear HeidibNyc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Lancaster Arts Hotel. I do want to apologize if your experience was below satisfactory, because we want each and every one of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. Being that we are a small, boutique hotel, you are correct in that the hotel does not have bellmen. However, our front desk staff greets every guest, and is always willing to help with luggage if assistance is needed. There are also luggage carts in our front double doors of our lobby for our guests to use as well. As far as the negative issues you had experienced, to my knowledge, the front desk was not aware of TV issues in your room. If this was not brought to the attention of the front desk, there would be no way of us being able to resolve any issue. Please contact me directly to further discuss, if this was not the case. It was brought to my attention that there was an abnormal noise from the draining of the jacuzzi tub, which maintenance has been notified about, and I do want to thank you for letting us know. Unfortunately, maintenance issues can occur. We do our best to resolve any issues as soon as possible when able, and if for some reason we cannot, compensation is granted where appropriate, which was extended to you. If you decide to visit Lancaster again in the future, and would like to give the Lancaster Arts a second try, please contact me directly. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely,
Erin Aguirre
EAguirre@LancasterArtsHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing