We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Lancaster stay at the Arts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in Lancaster stay at the Arts”
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Wow what a beautiful Hotel!! I have never stayed at such a unique hotel. There is an Art Gallery in the main lobby and Art hanging in all the halls and rooms which really make this hotel stand out. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. The bed had very fine linens and the towels are egyptian cotton which made the stay very comfortable. There is also an excellent free breakfast with a nice selection of food...you gotta try the waffles!!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snarf420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    215
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
214
428
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Nice boutique style hotel in Lancaster, PA. The only one of this type in an upcoming area. The rooms are fashionable with the old brick and support beams exposed (this hotel is a converted tobacco warehouse). Style in the rooms is a little mismatched, a shame that they choose real ugly "Sheraton type" headboards... Otherwise the rooms are functional, even have a little winecooler (which we used to store milk for our small kids). The beds are a little too soft for my taste however comfortable with lots of pillows.
The bathrooms have a shower, however no handheld shower. I feel that you can expect a handheld shower in an upscale, 4 Star hotel. .In our room (# 406), the AC was not working too well. These are the only negative comments I have about the room. Nice bathroom amenities with an orange fragrance.
Nice bar with not so friendly bartenders. Nice lobby.
Front Desk very nice however did not correct billing error which I detected after the first night (you receive an information folio every night under your door). I booked through AMEX paying with miles i.e. prepaid, and somehow the booking was processed through Travelocity. Hotel gave me the "confidential" folio with the Travelocity net rate twice. This is a little embarrarssing. I am in the hotel business myself and that is probably why i can not understand that the same mistake was done twice.
We did not try the hotel restaurant but wish we should have. Decided instead to go to an italian place in walking distance. Worst italian food I ever had.

  • Liked — Boutique Style character
  • Disliked — no handheld showers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nico107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My boyfriend and I were shocked to find this modern hotel in bucolic, bland Lancaster County. Once an industrial building, the hotel has been gutted and renovated, but the few warehouse-ish structures that remain (wooden beams, large metal doors, partial brick walls) create a unique look.

Check in was a breeze, but it wouldn't hurt if the front desk staff knew a little more about the hotel. The decor in the lobby is very interesting, and I (along with many of guests as well, I'm sure) fell in love with a cute chair. When I asked two gentlemen at the front desk where it could be purchased they were clueless. Fortunately a manager overheard and passed along a brochure. When you've got such an unusual lobby, it's just commonsense that people will be inquisitive.

I highly recommend the independently-owned restaurant inside the hotel. Similar to the hotel, the restaurant had an organic/eco-friendly theme going as well. The menu was a little on the pricey side, but that's understandable considering the fact that it's fresh and locally grown. Just one piece of advice...get some Diet Coke please! Sugar-free Organic Raspberry soda just does not cut it.

The room was charming! Double doors leading to the bathroom and original paintings on the walls were great touches. Additionally, upon returning to the room from dinner and drinks at the bar (I recommend the "Huck Fizz") we found a red rose and two pieces of chocolate awaiting us...well done Lancaster Arts :)

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — No diet soda in the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KChaplinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We wanted a getaway from NYC and didn't want to travel too long by car. Lancaster was a good choice and the hotel even better. Based on reviews we thought it would be a good choice. The web does not do it justice. It was comfortable, charming and beautiful. Exposed brick, hardwood floors and very modern chic. Make sure you reserve a room in the historic section. You will be glad that you did.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chickboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I just stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel this past weekend (July 12). My new wife and I stayed there on our wedding night, and the room was fantastic. I had stopped in a month or so prior to our stay just to look at some of the rooms. My wife and I are both artists and are a little picky about the decor. So I wanted to pick a room that wouldn't offend our snobby tastes. After seeing a couple of rooms I picked one that was in our price range and had some simple non-obtrusive art hanging in it. We would have liked one of the suites, but we are saving our money for our honeymoon. So we were very pleasantly surprised to see that we had been upgraded to one of the larger rooms with hot tubs in them when we checked in. Of course the art in this room wasn't to our tastes, but we had no problem looking past that with the big beautiful room we were given. The furnishings in the rooms are all beautiful. The bathrooms are nice and big and the large flatscreens are a nice addition. We were treated to a complementary bottle of wine since they knew we had just been married. We even found a single rose outside of our door later that night. In the morning as we left we found a copy of usa today waiting for us as well. The coffees, teas, bath salts, and toiletries were a nice little treat in an already posh room. There was a mini wine fridge in the room as well as an ipod dock and a keyboard to use the internet on the tv. Our keyboard's batteries were dead, but we popped some in from a digital camera and it worked fine. The staff was very pleasant and were good about giving us our privacy. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Liked — The rooms are spacious and clean, good service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Recently spent two nights at this property.

It has all the trappings of a sophisticated property, more at home in a big city than Lancaster. It is very smartly furnished and equipped and in good condition.

Our room was very comfortable indeed with good beds and linens, flat screen TV, radio alarm clock with ipod docking station and all other manner of nice touches. The bathroom was large with only a shower, no bath and had good toilteries and towels.

Included in our room rate was an adequate cold buffet breakfast but it took several requests to get items restocked and running out of orange juice before 9am was disappointing. There was complimentary internet access, nice to have and which seems to be a very important feature to many people in America.

The location is a little remote to the downtown area but there are several very good restaurants within walking distance which we tried, The Ironhill Brewery and the more up market seafood restaurant, Gibralter, both worth a visit. We found downtown Lancaster quiet and a little rundown apart from a few very pretty historic residential streets that are worth a stroll. There seemed no restaurants of note around but with current construction of a new Marriot and convention centre right in the middle of town, things may well improve dramatically.

What let the hotel down a little were the staff. They were friendly and polite but rather amaturish. The doorman watched us struggle with several suit cases on arrival without offering a hand or even opening the entrance doors for us. The reception was totally misinfomed about the independently run restaurant and bar in the hotel, saying they would be both open the evening we arrived when they turned out not to be and we were billed, ready for check out after only one night when we were booked in for two, with house keeping hovering in the back ground ready to strip the room. We had to reign them back! We encountered four different rececptionists over two days and it seemed none knew what the other had been doing.

Tighten up the staff and there is a gem of a hotel there. But despite the inconveniences we enjoyed our stay. I left my reading glasses there and after a quick phone call the hotel kindly posted them to our Philadelphia hotel which I am grateful for.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel the night of our wedding and couldn't have had a more enjoyable evening. The rooms were extremely clean and everything was brand new. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were wonderful. I would definitely stay there again for a night or two, but for something more extended, I would choose something a little more budget friendly.

  • Liked — Room Decor, Amenities and Location
  • Disliked — Price - if I had to choose
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kek1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
562 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing