We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The rooms are nicely appointed and preserve the old warehouse look. Charming! The beds were very comfortable. There were some maintenance issues though. The grout in the shower was not done well. The vacuuming between the rustic old floorboards was not thorough. The internet had some problems when I was there and the television was very difficult to use because changing channels was so slow (I am therefore not impressed with Direct TV.)The noise was something to account for as the walls seem thin. Clientele made the noise less of a problem the second night. All in all a pleasant if not perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina98004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    205
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
196
406
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PITTSBURGH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is clean, attractive, well situated for a Lancaster trip but noisy! Staff are very pleasant. Parking is do it yourself in a garage attached to the hotel. My room was attractive with a comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom, but an annoying mechanical noise kept me awake, and no, it wasn't the heat/cooling unit cycling on and off. The ear plugs provided by the hotel made little difference. Traffic noises from the road were loud during the morning as well. The food in the John J. Jeffries restaurant is very good, but the restaurant has a loud weekend bar scene. Eat in your room. The free breakfast buffet is tasteless-- generic bread, pastries, fruit with no flavor, but good coffee. Get your breakfast at the Mean Bean coffee shop next door instead.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel far from elevator, mechanical room and garage, and bring a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our trip from NY to PA included beautiful fall foliage and perfect weather.

Upon arriving at the Lancaster Arts hotel, they have on-site parking (always a plus), several small eateries next to the parking lot, and a great restaurant on site, John J. Jeffries. We dined at the restaurant for dinner, the staff was great and the food excellent.

Our room was very nice, not too big not too small, nice brick wall, great storage, coffee machine, fridge, wine chiller, wine glasses ice bucket etc. Only complaint is about the bathroom. nice size, well stocked, great products. french doors. that dont quite lock.
so. if you are inside the bathroom with the fan on you cant hear anything outside. if you are inside the bathroom without the fan on, you cant hear anything. either way, whoever is in the rest of the room can hear EVERYTHING thats going on while you are in there.Fair warning.

The room took a while to warm up, but it may have been me bc i didnt make it too high, just wanted to take the edge off.

overall, i would return on my next visit to Lancaster, absolutely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNMARIE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The owners renovated this place with attention to detail. The entry way, halls, rooms and lighting are all full of creativity. Their restaurant is A+ (John J. Jeffries). They need to use more of this creativity on their breakfasts, which are average. This would be an easy fix. We'd recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great service, beautiful hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and comfortable. Turn down service left a rose and chocolates - really nice touch! I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had great expectations after reading previous reviews,Its location is OK, 10 minute walk to town.
Building is an old warehouse that has been renovated to a good standard with original artwork everywhere, nice touch. The reception staff were friendly, however I would not put them as over helpful, just doing a job. Our room was next to the elevator and other than hearing a few people come in, it was quiet. We found the room temperature to be a little warm and dry, we probably could have set that better ourselves, the shower water pressure was weak and difficult to get the correct temperature, hot or cold were the choices.
The hotel has an onsite restaurant and bar. We did not eat here, were nearly tempted, but had reservations elsewhere. however did try to get a drink on our return at 10-30pm, the bar was busy and noisy, we could not get anywhere near it to order, so we went to bed.
Breakfast was "poor" it is described as a continental, however very little choice, some of the major chains Hampton and HI Express do a much better job and coffee was lousy.
Overall experience was average, It could be a big hit as it has all the parts to be Excellent, however it currently misses and is not worth the rates they currently charge, such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

A beautiful small hotel with private indoor parking a few blocks from the center of the city and a few blocks from Franklin and Marshall. An ideal location.
The staff is competent and friendly. The front desk functions quite well and a request for foam pillows brought a response within minutes. Our large suite had a couch/TV area near the door and then an angular flow into a very large king bedroom. A well appointed two sink bathroom completed this very gracious room. The exposed brick, heavy wooden blinds, track lighting and vintage wood floors complete this upscale suite. Treat yourself to room 219.
And now the problem - in the middle of an area known for its jams, pastries and breads - the LAH serves a breakfast that is much less interesting than Hampton Inns. Yes, they have china and silverware, but they use little high fructose jelly packages found in diners, commercial breads and bagels, microwave oatmeal and Drake's pastries. Not an ounce of anything interesting except for the local very good apple butter. Even their honey, I love honey, had a local label but was a mix of "American Canadian and Argentinian honeys". They need to dramatically rethink this part of their role as your "innkeeper".
Go out the front door of the hotel, turn the corner, walk four or five block and turn right. Then walk about a mile to Wheatland, the James Bucanan homestead. The farther u walk the more affluent and different the homes become. A great lesson on 1900 neighborhoods and architecture...Federalist, Italianate, Beaux Art, Queen Anne, Second Empire.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing